We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must go!”
Review of Amano

Amano
Reserve a table
2
Fri, 18/06
20:00
OR
Get food delivered
Ranked #5 of 96 Restaurants in Caldwell
Price range: US$7 - US$22
Description: Amano is a craft Mexican kitchen that delivers tradition in a vibrant and modern setting. We source carefully and prepare honestly to deliver the smell and taste of Mexico. From tortillas hechas a mano using heirloom corn from Oaxaca, to Mexican specialties, cocktails, beer and wine that highlight the local harvest of Idaho, we deliver a hand-crafted experience hecho Amano.
Restaurant details
Description: Amano is a craft Mexican kitchen that delivers tradition in a vibrant and modern setting. We source carefully and prepare honestly to deliver the smell and taste of Mexico. From tortillas hechas a mano using heirloom corn from Oaxaca, to Mexican specialties, cocktails, beer and wine that highlight the local harvest of Idaho, we deliver a hand-crafted experience hecho Amano.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went to Amano for dinner. Made reservations, We got seated right away. Great little downtown area. Cocktails were creative imaginative tasted really good! Food was hip, fresh, upscale Mexican. We wish we had something like this in California next to us. Service was fantastic highly recommended. We would definitely go here again!

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank 332tiffanyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2021 via mobile

Holy amazingness!!! We had dinner here on Wednesday. No special holiday, just decided to have a date night. The food was really outstanding! The service was great. Everyone knew a lot about the restaurant, the history of the space, the sourcing of the food including the recipes. We had the guacamole and ceviche to start. Both were plated excellently, bright flavors and crisp fresh ingredients. Then we had the Carne Asada and pork Michoacán entrees. Good portions, balanced flavors and textures and just a wonderful meal! We highly recommend this place. It has a “downtown” vibe and would fit in well in any urban atmosphere and may be a bit more trendy than the Sysco Mexican food that’s usual here (I’m from here, so no shade intended), but it feels like a great respectful homage to family food, soul food.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank Seaside29538138720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2021

I have friends who LOVE this restaurant - and they probably have more refined palates than mine. Had lunch there a few days ago and maybe I just expected too much from their rave reviews. Ordered the $4 chips and salsa to start. The salsa was not to my personal liking, and the "homemade, it takes 24 hours to make them" chips were disappointing. As an entree I ordered the enchiladas. They were nicely presented, the avacado was very fresh, and I did like the green sauce. Generally, however, it seemed to be overpriced for only slightly above average food.

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Grayson321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2021

Paid $5 for 3 extra tortillas. Complete rip off. The mole chicken is $15 and you get is a small chicken thigh and drumstick, with maybe a cup of rice. Also this food made me stomach all night.

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kaeg2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2021 via mobile

Expensive but high quality food. Small portions which is not the norm when you have dinner at a Mexican restaurant. Cocktails are expensive and small. It should be a profitable business.

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank Ed U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Amano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.