We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$209
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/01/22
Hotels.com
Booking.com
ExpediaUS$209
Agoda.com
eDreamsUS$209
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,979)
Filter reviews
1,979 results
Traveller rating
1,326
378
134
90
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,326
378
134
90
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the grand dining room crane cottage sans souci historic hotel step back in time main building san souci jekyll island club croquet lawn the cottages front lawn federal reserve wharf restaurant southern charm no elevator spanish moss beautiful grounds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 1,979 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2021 via mobile

Wish we could have stayed for a week. So lovely, and given its historical significance, was a true bucket list item. We were greeted by Celeste at the front desk. Studying Hospitality Mgmt., her wit will place her at the top of her industry!!❤️

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Voyage67092674923
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas Rucker, General Manager at Jekyll Island Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2021

Thank you Voyage67092674923! We appreciate your review. We are glad you enjoyed your interactions with our team members. So happy we could help you check off an item from your bucket list! Visiting Jekyll Island is always a memorable vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2021

The hotel is in a magical place and the prices reflect that. The hotel itself is tired and undermanaged, but I'm really writing this to send one specific alert and request: FIX THE WIFI! Throughout the property, repeated tests with a professional network tool over three days showed maximum speeds of download just belof 5 mbps and went that high only about half the time. The rest of the time, there wasn't enough bandwidth to register on the testing software at all. Tasks that should have taken five minutes took half an hour. This is the worst I've seen in a hotel since the introduction of wifi as a standard service and well below what any property should be offering. Mr./Ms. GM reading this -- please stop right now and call your IT provider and tell them to give you more bandwidth!

Date of stay: October 2021
Thank 977tedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas Rucker, General Manager at Jekyll Island Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2021

Thank you 977tedo! We appreciate your feedback. Your notes on the WiFi have been noted. We are actively trying to improve our Wifi. It is a process we are working through with specialists. Would you be willing to reach out to our Rooms Manager to discuss the projects you were working on? Judging from your review, it sounds like you were working on a major project while here and we would like to address the situation. If you are willing to discuss further, please reach out to kbigelow@jekyllclub.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2021 via mobile

We had a great time both times we went with our daughters, high school age. Renting bikes and biking around the island is the primary reason for the 5 stars. And the turtle hospital. The museum is well done too.
Everything else was okay; not a lot of food choices; and we did not swim at the beach. The water is polluted.
If the rest of the time there was nothing t so fun, it would get 3 stars for the cost of staying in Annex and the cleanliness of the bathrooms, specifically the showers. They need to scrub them down a lot.

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Irene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas Rucker, General Manager at Jekyll Island Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2021

Thank you Irene! We are glad you and your daughters enjoyed your time on Jekyll Island. We have made note of your comments about the rate and have made housekeeping aware of your review. The water is safe to swim in during the summer. It is a darker color due to the rivers in our area. The water is actually very nutrient rich. We are glad you enjoyed the island and its activities. Bike riding is amazing here! There is always something new to see.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2021

When paying Island Club prices, is it too much to ask for the basics, like a clean room? Better still, how about the room that you actually booked? If you do get booted from a Queen suite in the main historic hotel (overbook, oops!)to the Sans Souci building like we did (no worries, we were assured this was an ‘upgrade’) is it too much to ask that the staff inform you, as they ply you with a free drink ticket, that you’re in a “dog-friendly” building and after the air kicks off for a minute, you should expect to smell that heavenly wet dog smell? Or that you’re guaranteed to hear a dog, who arrived the next day in the next room, bark incessantly while the owners are off on a bike ride or out late to dinner and leave the poor anxiety ridden animal to its own devices? When paying these rates to celebrate a 4th wedding anniversary is it too much to ask for clean floors, doors to the bathroom and closet that aren’t sticky fingerprinted like a kindergarten room, or clean and dusted lampshades, or fans that don’t spray dust everywhere when you turn them on? And seriously, is to too much to ask for more than one single half used roll of toilet paper in the bathroom? How about housekeeping, who actually sends a TEXT to ask if you would like your room serviced, and if so, what time, and your heart leaps with joy looking forward to that full roll of toilet paper, and you tell them absolutely, any time after 10am is great, and they show up at 930 and you tell them we agreed to be out at 10 - and you are - and then they don’t show up until 3pm that afternoon? Then, when they do service your room, they don’t address ANY of those issues and instead remake the bed (no new sheets mind you) but thankfully leave the blessed toilet paper? Is it too much to ask that the Wharf chef is expected to know how to cook a simple burger or a NY strip properly when you order it medium and it comes to you barely warm and mostly rare? Yes, we got comp’d a drink, but the point is - eating dinner! I could go on but, well, you get the idea. That’s why this was so disappointing, this place is supposed to be WAY above and beyond. On check out, you encounter a frazzled staff member stating into the phone, “I’ll have to let you speak to my supervisor”, tells you all you need to know. Management, this hotel clearly needs leadership. For everyone’s sake, invest in your staff and give them the proper training, pay and recognition required to support a truly beautiful historic landmark hotel and quit leaving them to take the brunt of the responsibility for super sub-par service and accommodations. The ONLY reason this isn’t a one star rating is the outside property. The grounds are beautiful and you can hear the hush of the old days where pride in this landmark was at its best.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank WorldTraveler1157
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas Rucker, General Manager at Jekyll Island Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2021

Thank you for your feedback WorldTraveler1157. We have made note of your comments and recommendations for improvements. We are glad you enjoyed our beautiful grounds and the historic presence. We are working to improve our training and appreciate your review greatly. We are currently in transition to new management. If you would be willing to reach out and discuss your experience further, then you may email our Rooms Manager at kbigelow@jekyllclub.com. Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2021 via mobile

We started planning for our anniversary a year and a half ago. We made plans to travel to Quebec City, but a week before the big trip, we decided that leaving the States was a big risk due to Covid. We planned our trip to Jekyll Island with some disappointment, BUT we now consider it a blessing. We absolutely love the resort! We stayed in the annex building for two nights and moved to the Crane Cottage for our last night. Absolutely love the feeling of stepping back in time; the relaxed, quiet atmosphere was so refreshing. The staff is wonderful too. The front desk staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome. All of them were extremely nice. We mentioned that we were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary, and while we were unpacking, a special gift arrived at our door. Thank you, Mike! ❤️ We truly felt special. I do not think we could have had a better experience anywhere else. Thank you to all who served us on this special occasion.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank tinacJ1564XN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas Rucker, General Manager at Jekyll Island Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2021

Hi tinacJ1564XN, thank you for your review! We are glad you had a wonderful 25th anniversary. While your original trip sounded amazing, we are thankful you chose to celebrate this important milestone with us! It was our pleasure to help make this a memorable trip. The history of the property is second to none. The grounds and architecture never fail to impress. We hope to welcome you back next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews