We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Agoda.com
US$260
View deal
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
43
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
43
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews an oasis chef raj group of friends our honeymoon food cooked driver moment kerala itinerary treat ambience
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2020

We chose to stay at The Indian Summer House as part of our honeymoon trip to Kerala in January 2020. From the moment we were in contact with Don we knew we were in for a treat. He had lots of advice on Kerala and helped us finalise our itinerary and arrange a driver (Biju ) for part of our stay.

The Indian Summer house is an oasis in the middle of Kerala and is everything we could have dreamed for as part of our honeymoon. All of the staff were super friendly, the accomodation is beautiful and the food cooked by chef Raj is to die for. We stayed at a 5 star resort in the maldives at the end of the trip and we both said how the ISH offered better service and exclusivity. It is a must if you are visiting Kerala!

We would love to return one day and think it would be a great place to stay with family or a group of friends.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank HeidiLS92
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don Vandepol, Owner at Indian Summer House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2020

So nice to hear from you Heidi and I am glad we were able to be part of your honeymoon experience. We have recently started hosting small weddings and zoom cooking classes to keep us busy. Kerala has handled Covid remarkably well and we look forward to welcoming guests back when it's safe to travel again. Wishing you both a lovely future together and thankyou so much for the review it is much appreciated. Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2020

The property is absolutely divine; luxurious large villas with private outside showers, such craftsmanship, glorious gardens and a beautiful large pool. But even more so, the service from Raj, Albin and the team on the ground was exceptional, so accessible and accomodating and nothing was too much trouble. It was so special and Don and the team were fantastic helping us navigate through this difficult time as we were in Kerala in the lead up to mid March 2020. Raj is an exceptional talented chef - the food was amazing. It was a tranquil haven at a very difficult time and we were sorry we had to leave after only two nights. We will certainly be back.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmdaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don49778, Owner at Indian Summer House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2020

Thankyou so much for the review. COVID-19 certainly created some challenges however through early planning, staff training and awareness we are glad we were able to provide you with a great experience even though sadly cut short. We look forward to welcoming you back and showing you more of the Kerala we love so much.

Kind regards
Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2020 via mobile

We arrived at Indian Summer House late at night night and our host Don was there to welcome us with a jasmine flower lay and a welcome drink. As soon as we entered we knew that we were going to have a lovely relaxing stay. It felt so tranquil, from the tropical gardens being softy lit, to the ornate architecture. Our very spacious room had everything we needed including an indoor and outdoor shower.
We started each morning with Yoga and as Yoga is new to us we found our instructor Riju to be the perfect teacher.
Our week at Indian Summer House was a great mix of relaxation and adventures. A couple of our adventures included a trip to the Tea Plantations (Munnar) and Fort Kochi. Both trips were so beautiful and amazing. Our driver Bju who quickly became our friend was so knowledgeable and nothing was too much trouble for him. One day after a local tour to taste some Toddy and to see how it is tapped from the palm trees, Biju even took us for a visit to his home.
Another highlight for us was a trip across the river in a canoe and then walking through different tapioca, rubber and banana plantations. We finished this off with afternoon tea with Mohanan at his traditional Tea Shop. The tea was the best tea I’ve ever tried and the local delicacies were delicious!
During our week we also had a few days of relaxation at
Indian Summer House. This included days by the pool which is surrounded by tropical gardens, massages and just having some peaceful time in different secluded areas of the property.
Each day of our stay we would look forward to breakfast lunch and dinner. Raj is an amazing chef and so happy to cater for anything we asked for. His different suggestions for meals over the week were spot on and after each meal we would look forward to having a chat with him.
On our departure I felt like we were saying goodbye to our new friends. Everyone was so warm and friendly.
We look forward to seeing you all again next time we visit the beautiful Indian Summer House.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SueF495
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don49778, Owner at Indian Summer House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2020

Your week with us gave you enough time to enjoy the property and the community but also to explore Kerala on your day trips! A perfect combination of relaxation, exploration and experiences.

We hope to see you back in the future.

Kind regards
Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2020 via mobile

We’re flying back to the U.K. tomorrow and it’ll be such a wrench leaving this beautiful place. It’s our second time at ISH and it won’t be our last.

Staying here is like visiting friends.....if your friends live in five star luxury with their own cook (ask Rajesh to make you a mutton biriani, best I’ve ever tasted); pristine rooms (thank you Sidhu, you are the quiet hero of the place); a yoga teacher who salutes the sun with you before breakfast; massage facilities (try the hot oil dripped onto your brow, it’s so trippy!); huge gardens and a fab deep pool. Oh and don’t forget the Bollywood Dance lesson, didn’t want that to end.

This time, the owners Don and Mini were onsite. Nothing is too much of a bother, they really welcomed us into their amazing home. What a special couple.

See you next year, India Summer House

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank AnnieJ99
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don49778, Owner at Indian Summer House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2020

Your Bollywood Dance Class was the highlight for me and I can't wait to share the video on my youtube channel! Your 2 teachers put on a great performance too!

Hope to see you next year or for our Boxing & Yoga Retreat!

Kind regards
Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2020 via mobile

Simply wonderful.

The communication with Don ahead of our stay was excellent. Raj and the team were incredibly attentive from the minute we arrived at the property. We loved spending time with Raj on our excursions, in the kitchen and especially eating his food.

If you are lucky enough to stay here DO NOT MISS:

Daily Yoga from Riju.
The Ambassador tour for tea with Mohanan at his traditional Tea Shop enjoying local delicacies with our chai (pazham pori, bananas, tapioca chips and pappada vada).
Market tour, School visit and cooking experiences with Raj
Joined Rajesh for a visit to his home in Wagamon and experienced his world and enjoyed the beautiful views of the tea plantations
The wonderful poolside BBQ option to finish off the perfect holiday!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank leonpanitzke
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don49778, Owner at Indian Summer House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2020

Wow! Thankyou so much. The kids at the local Nirmala school loved your visit. They study so hard and appreciate any new experience. Sounds like a great conclusion to what was a wonderful journey for you all.

Kind regards
Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews