We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Agoda.com
US$260
View deal
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
43
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
43
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews an oasis chef raj group of friends our honeymoon food cooked driver moment kerala itinerary treat ambience
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2020 via mobile

We arrived at Indian Summer House late at night night and our host Don was there to welcome us with a jasmine flower lay and a welcome drink. As soon as we entered we knew that we were going to have a lovely relaxing stay. It felt so tranquil, from the tropical gardens being softy lit, to the ornate architecture. Our very spacious room had everything we needed including an indoor and outdoor shower.
We started each morning with Yoga and as Yoga is new to us we found our instructor Riju to be the perfect teacher.
Our week at Indian Summer House was a great mix of relaxation and adventures. A couple of our adventures included a trip to the Tea Plantations (Munnar) and Fort Kochi. Both trips were so beautiful and amazing. Our driver Bju who quickly became our friend was so knowledgeable and nothing was too much trouble for him. One day after a local tour to taste some Toddy and to see how it is tapped from the palm trees, Biju even took us for a visit to his home.
Another highlight for us was a trip across the river in a canoe and then walking through different tapioca, rubber and banana plantations. We finished this off with afternoon tea with Mohanan at his traditional Tea Shop. The tea was the best tea I’ve ever tried and the local delicacies were delicious!
During our week we also had a few days of relaxation at
Indian Summer House. This included days by the pool which is surrounded by tropical gardens, massages and just having some peaceful time in different secluded areas of the property.
Each day of our stay we would look forward to breakfast lunch and dinner. Raj is an amazing chef and so happy to cater for anything we asked for. His different suggestions for meals over the week were spot on and after each meal we would look forward to having a chat with him.
On our departure I felt like we were saying goodbye to our new friends. Everyone was so warm and friendly.
We look forward to seeing you all again next time we visit the beautiful Indian Summer House.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SueF495
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don49778, Owner at Indian Summer House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2020

Your week with us gave you enough time to enjoy the property and the community but also to explore Kerala on your day trips! A perfect combination of relaxation, exploration and experiences.

We hope to see you back in the future.

Kind regards
Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2020 via mobile

We’re flying back to the U.K. tomorrow and it’ll be such a wrench leaving this beautiful place. It’s our second time at ISH and it won’t be our last.

Staying here is like visiting friends.....if your friends live in five star luxury with their own cook (ask Rajesh to make you a mutton biriani, best I’ve ever tasted); pristine rooms (thank you Sidhu, you are the quiet hero of the place); a yoga teacher who salutes the sun with you before breakfast; massage facilities (try the hot oil dripped onto your brow, it’s so trippy!); huge gardens and a fab deep pool. Oh and don’t forget the Bollywood Dance lesson, didn’t want that to end.

This time, the owners Don and Mini were onsite. Nothing is too much of a bother, they really welcomed us into their amazing home. What a special couple.

See you next year, India Summer House

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank AnnieJ99
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don49778, Owner at Indian Summer House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2020

Your Bollywood Dance Class was the highlight for me and I can't wait to share the video on my youtube channel! Your 2 teachers put on a great performance too!

Hope to see you next year or for our Boxing & Yoga Retreat!

Kind regards
Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2020 via mobile

Simply wonderful.

The communication with Don ahead of our stay was excellent. Raj and the team were incredibly attentive from the minute we arrived at the property. We loved spending time with Raj on our excursions, in the kitchen and especially eating his food.

If you are lucky enough to stay here DO NOT MISS:

Daily Yoga from Riju.
The Ambassador tour for tea with Mohanan at his traditional Tea Shop enjoying local delicacies with our chai (pazham pori, bananas, tapioca chips and pappada vada).
Market tour, School visit and cooking experiences with Raj
Joined Rajesh for a visit to his home in Wagamon and experienced his world and enjoyed the beautiful views of the tea plantations
The wonderful poolside BBQ option to finish off the perfect holiday!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank leonpanitzke
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don49778, Owner at Indian Summer House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2020

Wow! Thankyou so much. The kids at the local Nirmala school loved your visit. They study so hard and appreciate any new experience. Sounds like a great conclusion to what was a wonderful journey for you all.

Kind regards
Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2020 via mobile

What a stunning place. We had a wonderful visit and wished that we had booked for longer. The pool was beautiful .....large, just the right temperature, delightful secluded setting and we were entirely left undisturbed until we needed something. The food was cooked as we requested and all the staff were extremely helpful. We enjoyed our visit to the market and the canoe across the river to the tea house
The story of the building, and of Mini and her family who lived here before this beautiful place was built, is fascinating . Worth a visit to look at the architecture alone plus the use that was made of local craftsmanship. Great attention to detail about everything from the moment we arrived.
Did I say how lovely the pool was!
We tried the yoga too. Great

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank GGB_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don49778, Owner at Indian Summer House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2020

The pool is a beautiful feature and very welcome after a day out travelling and touring. We are so glad we have inspired you to introduce yoga into your home routine. I hope the youtube videos help.

It was unfortunate that you couldn't stay for longer. Ideally 3 nights here is a minimum to enjoy all that Indian Summer House has to offer.

Kind regards Don and the team here

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2020

Indian Summer House was our third and best hotel in Kerala! On our arrival we were welcomed by all members of staff and treat to a wonderful flower garland which made us all feel very special. The accommodation was first class with inside and outside shower facilities. Air con and fans made the rooms very comfortable.
The sleeping table tennis equipment was brought into action with assistance from the staff and formed a good leisure activity during our quiet times.
The trip to the tea shop in the Ambassador was very pleasant and Leo chose the seat that Don from the hotel preferred! Mohanan impressed with his production of Chai and the tit bits to accompany it particularly liked were the banana fritters! We felt special in our chauffeur driven Ambassador.
The pool was the biggest and the best of our trip and was impressively surrounded by trees and vegetation, together with many statues.
Rajesh was a superb chef, nothing was too much trouble and we accompanied him to the market and joined in the making of some sauces for our future benefit at home.
One of our members insisted on a visit to a tea plantation and factory. We were lucky enough to be joined by Rajesh who showed us his parent's home and the plantation they worked at. The visit to the Toddy shop on the way home will be remembered.
We would like to congratulate all staff and say how impressive it was that Albin got up at 5.00am to wish two of our party, farewell!
If perfection was not reached it was as near as possible endorsed by our superb Barbeque on the last night,4 ate and we think 12 were catered for! Fantastic!
We hope to visit again in the not too distant future and once again congratulate all members of staff for their care an attention.

Room tip: all rooms seen were good. Very comfortable
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank paulapS236ZJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don49778, Owner at Indian Summer House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2020

Hi Leon, thankyou so much for your review. The team are still talking about your family and how great it was to meet you all. I am glad you took the opportunity to enjoy some of the local activities on offer it means so much to those small businesses and the people that run them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews