We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
43
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
43
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews an oasis chef raj group of friends our honeymoon food cooked ish driver moment kerala itinerary treat ambience
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2020

Indian Summer House was our third and best hotel in Kerala! On our arrival we were welcomed by all members of staff and treat to a wonderful flower garland which made us all feel very special. The accommodation was first class with inside and outside shower facilities. Air con and fans made the rooms very comfortable.
The sleeping table tennis equipment was brought into action with assistance from the staff and formed a good leisure activity during our quiet times.
The trip to the tea shop in the Ambassador was very pleasant and Leo chose the seat that Don from the hotel preferred! Mohanan impressed with his production of Chai and the tit bits to accompany it particularly liked were the banana fritters! We felt special in our chauffeur driven Ambassador.
The pool was the biggest and the best of our trip and was impressively surrounded by trees and vegetation, together with many statues.
Rajesh was a superb chef, nothing was too much trouble and we accompanied him to the market and joined in the making of some sauces for our future benefit at home.
One of our members insisted on a visit to a tea plantation and factory. We were lucky enough to be joined by Rajesh who showed us his parent's home and the plantation they worked at. The visit to the Toddy shop on the way home will be remembered.
We would like to congratulate all staff and say how impressive it was that Albin got up at 5.00am to wish two of our party, farewell!
If perfection was not reached it was as near as possible endorsed by our superb Barbeque on the last night,4 ate and we think 12 were catered for! Fantastic!
We hope to visit again in the not too distant future and once again congratulate all members of staff for their care an attention.

Room tip: all rooms seen were good. Very comfortable
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank paulapS236ZJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don49778, Owner at Indian Summer House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2020

Hi Leon, thankyou so much for your review. The team are still talking about your family and how great it was to meet you all. I am glad you took the opportunity to enjoy some of the local activities on offer it means so much to those small businesses and the people that run them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2019

After nearly three weeks of travelling around Southern India we finally arrived at our 11th & final place before catching the plane home from Cochin the next day.

All we needed at this stage was a quiet, relaxing place to recuperate and the Indian Summer House was absolutely the perfect hotel to do this. Right from the start with the warm welcome we received from Don, Albin and Rajesh, we knew we were in the right place.

The architecture is quite unique and very beautiful,with lots of tasteful features, lovely grounds and a fantastic pool. Our room was luxurious with a great outdoor rain water shower and our own lovely terrace to enjoy.

After exploring the grounds and a superb lunch made by Rajesh, we spent the afternoon by the pool before joining Don for an early evening drink on his terrace where he told us about the history of the ISH and his background, all of which was very enjoyable.

Following this we went down to the dining area where Rajesh produced another excellent meal for us, explaining how he'd made it and where the ingredients came from - he's a very good chef.

We were up very early the next morning and it was a lovely surprise to be waved off by Albin, the manager and the guard, despite the time (5:30am)!

All in all we had a lovely time with our only regret being that our stay was all too brief and we didn't get time to visit the tea house or the surrounding area that other guests have mentioned, or indeed stay longer to enjoy ISH further.

Thanks you to Don and his team

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MSN99
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don49778, Owner at Indian Summer House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2019

Liz and Mark it was lovely meeting you both and what an adventure you have had in South India! Make sure you let us know when you come back for another tour and we’ll catch up.

Kind regards
Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2019 via mobile

What a beautiful tastefully decorated Indian Summer House. Thank you Don, Albin, Rajesh, Bindu and all garden and security staff for taking such good care of us. The place is like a little paradise! We loved the outdoor shower and the pool very much.
We liked our little tour through the village, crossing the river by little wooden boat. The highlight was having tea with Mohanan at his traditional Tea Shop enjoying local delicacies with chai (pazham pori, bananas, tapioca chips and pappada vada). Great experience!

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Marjastr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don49778, Owner at Indian Summer House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2019

Thankyou so much your review is incredibly important to us. We hope we will see you again. Warm regards from all of us.

Don and Mini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2019

I had the most exquisite stay at Indian Summer House for the ISH Writer's Retreat. One thing that makes the hotel so special is it manages to be both intimate, boutique and spectacularly grand at the same time. I suppose if Raffles had only 4 rooms then it would probably want to look like Indian Summer House.

The hotel is built around a lovely garden which is home to exotic birds, butterflies, the occasional squirrel, stone-carvings and water features. It’s a real privilege to wake-up to this view and the perfect setting for yoga classes every morning.

I’ve been coming to India my whole life and never would I dream of drinking water straight from the tap. I don’t know how they manage it but not only do they have a great filtration process, everything is eco-friendly and sustainable. It’s wonderful how the hotel supports village artisans with gorgeous craft products perfectly positioned alongside high-end designer furnishing.

And someone needs to give Chef Rajesh a star or two because his cooking is just that good. His food is not only delicious, but it is also healthy, not too spicy and very nourishing. I love how he would ask us what we wanted for our meals and then just whip it up as if there is an entire market in the back garden. Talking about markets, we visited one with Rajesh and it was grand. He also took us to a coconut factory to see how oil is processed.

There were other tours, including a visit to a primary school, a boat ride and walk through the agricultural land featuring tapioca, rubber, bananas and more. We had tea with Mohanan at his traditional Tea Shop enjoying the most amazing banana fritters. No wonder his shop has been around for 100 years. We also tried breakfast at a small café with autorickshaw drivers followed by an adrenaline rush taking the bus back.

Time has this lovely pace in India. It seems to pass even more gently at Indian Summer House during our daily writer’s workshops with Caroline Van De Pol, readings and discussions to reflect and share our work with others or enjoying the outdoor showers, having a drink in the coconut lounge, jumping into the pool two, three times a day or relaxing at the spa. If you find yourself in Kerela this is the place to stay.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shoneemirchandani
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don49778, Owner at Indian Summer House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2019

Thanks for your kind review, Shonee. You have captured the essence of Indian Summer House so well. We are delighted that our Writers' Retreat was a positive experience for you and feel privileged to have enjoyed your company and contributions to our workshops.

Hoping you continue to write whenever you feel inspired. It's a lovely way to record your travels and the things that are important to you.

Kind regards
Don and Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2019

The Indian Summer house is a perfectly-sized wonder of architecture and beauty. Built by a well-known architect as a family home, it blossomed into a special boutique hotel with 6 large rooms with en-suite bathrooms placed around a courtyard garden. The pool is sunk into stone surround with clumps of palm trees and flowering shrubs attracting butterflies and birds. The rooms are large, spacious, airy and stylish with air-con, fans and stylish furnishings. The menu is extensive, delicious, nourishing and created with love. Meeting Don the owner and his staff was a joy. They made us feel like family and welcomed us to join local festivities taking place. The opportunity to see and experience the local arts, crafts, culture and places of interest was on offer, as were spa treatments, yoga, a gym and swimming if wanting to stay closer to home! It was a real pleasure all round! Thank you Biju for being such a great guy!

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Plutoboy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don49778, Owner at Indian Summer House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2019

Thankyou so much for your kind words and I know the team will be very excited to know that you enjoyed our Onam celebrations. It is a special time in Kerala and always lovely to share the wonderful food and traditions that surround the festival.

Kind regards
Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews