We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
43
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
43
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews an oasis chef raj group of friends our honeymoon food cooked ish driver moment kerala itinerary treat ambience
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2019

This special boutique hotel is more like a luxurious family home with lovely wooden roofing over the covered areas, a spacious feel and beautifully appointed modern rooms. The staff were so very friendly and Don, the owner, made us feel like part of the family. The food cooked by Raj was sensational. The Summer House driver, Bijou, took us on a great tour of Kochi which has a fascinating history and we were escorted on a local rural walking tour. Absolutely perfect!

Our full itinerary was as follows:

*. Enjoyed a welcome drink and Jasmine flower lay on arrival and a tour of the property and some insight into the Made Wijaya construction, design and architecture and how it relates to Kerala and the tropics
* Ayurveda spa treatments from Riju and Leela from Arshana.
* A walking tour lead by Rajesh which featured a short river crossing, wander through the agricultural land featuring tapioca, rubber, bananas and more. Then tea with Mohanan at his traditional Tea Shop enjoying local delicacies with our chai (pazham pori, bananas, tapioca chips and pappada vada). Then by public bus back into Muvattupuzha town.
* A Fort Kochi Day tour with a diversion to nearby temple to see a wonderful ceremony with 5 elephants. Lunch at Fort House and guided history tour followed by a little shopping
* Relaxing by the pool and deciding on the daily menu
* Joined in our Onam celebrations including the Pookalam (flower arrangement), lighting of the lamp and Banana Leaf Sadya (Feast) with all the team

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 451John_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don49778, Owner at Indian Summer House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2019

Thankyou so much for the review which means so much to us. We hope you enjoyed your onward journey and the birthday celebrations and look forward to seeing you back in the future.

Kind regards
Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2019 via mobile

My husband and I travelled to ISH in August for a few days R&R with friends. From the warm reception on our arrival to the fond farewell as we left, we felt genuinely welcome and at home. We knew immediately it was the right place for us.

The property is an oasis of calm and serenity, comprising 4 spacious villas (we loved the outdoor showers) set on 3 sides of an expansive courtyard garden, the remaining side housing the indoor/outdoor dining and entertaining area. Discretely tucked away is a beautiful pool and sitting out area. The charming original house, which sits within the grounds, houses a boutique gym and Ayurvedic spa room. Grand yet intimate, we had the feeling of staying in the home of a friend rather than in paid accommodation.

Having shared our interests with Don and Mini (the owners) prior to our arrival, they had devised a perfect programme for our stay. Our days started with early morning boot camp (by no means compulsory, but a great conscience soother and counterbalance to the delicious and abundant local food) followed by various activities - a visit to a local temple to celebrate the birthday of a relative and experience the local culture; a day trip to Fort Kochi to soak up the colonial atmosphere and see the famous Chinese fishing nets (and a great opportunity to indulge in a spot of shopping); a jaunty ride in the old Ambassador car; a lazy few hours drifting round the beautiful and peaceful Keralan backwaters. Our “spare” time was spent relaxing by the pool, being pampered in the spa, and practising yoga in the late afternoon on the verandah - particularly enjoyable to the sound of falling monsoon rain.

Meals were something of a highlight - especially after a well earned and highly refreshing Gin and Tonic. The very talented Chef Rajesh produced fresh, varied and always delicious local fare, introducing us to a side of Indian cuisine we had not previously experienced. Eating outside by the fish pond added to the feeling of exotic dining.

In short, we loved the property and had a marvellous time, due in large part to the warm and attentive welcome afforded to us by the staff - it felt like nothing was too much trouble!

Time being short, we did not manage to cover all the things we wanted to do in the area, so we now have a perfect excuse to return!

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank scak42
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don49778, Owner at Indian Summer House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2019

Thanks so much for the review and I hope the "bootcamp" in our gym left you feeling energised for your next adventure. The monsoon is my favourite time of year in Kerala and I am so glad you enjoyed it.

Kind regards
Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2019

Indian Summer House is a beautiful, large house that makes you feel you are away from everything. The experience surpassed all expectations with fabulous facilities; a huge pool that you could spend all day in, a spa, a gym and beautiful bedrooms and living rooms. The gardens and house are spectacular and the history of the house tells a family story that goes back many decades.
We felt so spoiled by the amazing staff - Rajesh, Albin, Bhindi and Biju all looked after us so well and catered for our every need. We had massages that were the best we'd had in India and had our own yoga instructor every morning. The host, Don, is extremely responsive and anything we asked for was delivered. Probably the best holiday ever.

Room tip: All rooms are beautiful
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela979
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don49778, Owner at Indian Summer House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2019

Hi Angela Thankyou so much for taking the time to write this review. We are particularly happy that the team took good care of you and that you took advantage of the daily yoga and treatments to truly experience the Kerala lifestyle.

Kind regards
Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2019 via mobile

We stayed for a week with a group of friends at the ‘Indian Summer House’, which is about 45 minutes drive from Kochi .
An absolutely amazing experience!
Yoga each morning if you so desired, massages available every day, a Bollywood dance class for a bit of fun, henna painting , you name it we could do it.
We visited a nearby tea room , walked into the town and around the nearby area, meeting some of the beautiful local residents.
A half day houseboat trip was very relaxing and a chance for some photos of beautiful scenery.
We stayed one night at Fort Kochi.
A guide showed us around the local museum and sights which also included exhibits of the Biennale Arts Festival.
Afternoons were spent by the magnificent pool or relaxing any way you wished.
Accommodation is beautiful- we loved the outdoor shower!
This was all made possible by Don Vandepol and his amazing staff.
Albin the manager oversaw our daily activities and nothing was too much trouble for him.
Raj the chef provided delicious meals and offered a cooking class for those interested.
All staff were welcoming and friendly which we really appreciated.
We have travelled extensively but staying at the ‘Indian Summer House’ and all it has to offer, is truely one of the best holidays we’ve had.
It is an idealic oasis in southern India with a really relaxed vibe.
Everything you could want and more!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Mariemay1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don49778, Owner at Indian Summer House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2019

Hi Marie it was lovely for us to have your entire group of friends at Indian Summer House. It’s seems like you have enjoyed the true experience of the Kerala lifestyle. Family, Food, Ayurveda, The Backwaters and The Arts at a relaxed pace! Hope to see you all back one day.
Don Mini and Indian Summer House team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2019 via mobile

Have no words to describe this place. The villa is absolutely beautiful. And is only outdone by the kindness, friendliness and talents of the Staff! We stayed with our one year old for 3 nights over New Year’s. The best part was without a doubt having a chef! Rajesh was excellent. We got to pick and choose our meals from an extensive menu. He also organized a BBQ by the pool one night. No better way to start the day than with yoga on the veranda with Riju. Even my inflexible hubby enjoyed it! We truly got to relax and just enjoy the amenities. Pool, table tennis, laze around and read, Ayurvedic spa treatments (loved the outdoor shower next to the spa room) etc. Bindu and Rajesh were lovely to help with our baby so we could eat without having to worry about her getting into trouble. The staff are incredibly attentive and helpful. Makes you feel taken care of....now that’s a vacation! We loved that the water throughout the whole property was drinkable. An impressive feat in India! Can’t wait to return! Will be sending our friends and family. This home is an oasis. Just bliss.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank livinginmonaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don49778, Owner at Indian Summer House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2019

Wow thank you so very much for your kind words. The Indian Summer House team will be very pleased with your comments.We are particularly happy that you felt taken care of. The Kerala lifestyle including Ayurveda is all about slowing down and taking care of yourself and the people around you. Kind regards Mini and Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews