We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
43
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
43
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews an oasis chef raj group of friends our honeymoon food cooked ish driver moment kerala itinerary treat ambience
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2019 via mobile

We stayed for a week with a group of friends at the ‘Indian Summer House’, which is about 45 minutes drive from Kochi .
An absolutely amazing experience!
Yoga each morning if you so desired, massages available every day, a Bollywood dance class for a bit of fun, henna painting , you name it we could do it.
We visited a nearby tea room , walked into the town and around the nearby area, meeting some of the beautiful local residents.
A half day houseboat trip was very relaxing and a chance for some photos of beautiful scenery.
We stayed one night at Fort Kochi.
A guide showed us around the local museum and sights which also included exhibits of the Biennale Arts Festival.
Afternoons were spent by the magnificent pool or relaxing any way you wished.
Accommodation is beautiful- we loved the outdoor shower!
This was all made possible by Don Vandepol and his amazing staff.
Albin the manager oversaw our daily activities and nothing was too much trouble for him.
Raj the chef provided delicious meals and offered a cooking class for those interested.
All staff were welcoming and friendly which we really appreciated.
We have travelled extensively but staying at the ‘Indian Summer House’ and all it has to offer, is truely one of the best holidays we’ve had.
It is an idealic oasis in southern India with a really relaxed vibe.
Everything you could want and more!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Mariemay1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don49778, Owner at Indian Summer House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2019

Hi Marie it was lovely for us to have your entire group of friends at Indian Summer House. It’s seems like you have enjoyed the true experience of the Kerala lifestyle. Family, Food, Ayurveda, The Backwaters and The Arts at a relaxed pace! Hope to see you all back one day.
Don Mini and Indian Summer House team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2019 via mobile

Have no words to describe this place. The villa is absolutely beautiful. And is only outdone by the kindness, friendliness and talents of the Staff! We stayed with our one year old for 3 nights over New Year’s. The best part was without a doubt having a chef! Rajesh was excellent. We got to pick and choose our meals from an extensive menu. He also organized a BBQ by the pool one night. No better way to start the day than with yoga on the veranda with Riju. Even my inflexible hubby enjoyed it! We truly got to relax and just enjoy the amenities. Pool, table tennis, laze around and read, Ayurvedic spa treatments (loved the outdoor shower next to the spa room) etc. Bindu and Rajesh were lovely to help with our baby so we could eat without having to worry about her getting into trouble. The staff are incredibly attentive and helpful. Makes you feel taken care of....now that’s a vacation! We loved that the water throughout the whole property was drinkable. An impressive feat in India! Can’t wait to return! Will be sending our friends and family. This home is an oasis. Just bliss.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank livinginmonaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don49778, Owner at Indian Summer House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2019

Wow thank you so very much for your kind words. The Indian Summer House team will be very pleased with your comments.We are particularly happy that you felt taken care of. The Kerala lifestyle including Ayurveda is all about slowing down and taking care of yourself and the people around you. Kind regards Mini and Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2019 via mobile

We visited this place on our way to Munnar from South Kerala and when we saw it wished we had been able to stay. It has been beautifully done with huge bedrooms and sumptuous bathrooms with both indoor and outdoor showers. The sparkling pool is huge and it all feels airy and spacious. Such a surprise when you turn off the road.
We had a fabulous home cooked Keralan lunch with garden grown vegetables and a wonderful spicy fish curry.
Mini and Don the owners have brilliantly thought out things to do - the stuff you would like to do but never sure that it would work - like visiting a very genuinely local chai house for a truely delicious local brew and getting snacks from the places the tuk tuk drivers queue up to get theirs.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank PippiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don49778, Owner at Indian Summer House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2019

We were so pleased to be able to provide lunch for you both on your way to Munnar. We hope to see you on your next trip. Enjoy your onward journey. Kind regards Mini and Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2019

From the moment you drive in through the gates you get the feel that there is something special around the corner. The whole concept with the gardens, the rooms, the ambience is second to none - a place where you can chill out, ideally with a small group of friends or family - food is excellent.

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank opinion39
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don49778, Owner at Indian Summer House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2019

The Indian Summer House comes alive with small groups of friends or family as they enjoy the food, the Ayurveda and reconnecting away from their busy lives. It was a pleasure having you visit.

Kind regards Don and Mini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018

On arrival from our road trip ....like dusty camels coming in from the desert.....we were greeted with warm smiles, jasmin flower lays, cool towels and a refreshing ‘most welcome’ drink. We enjoyed being shown around the property which features interesting traditional architecture and craftsmanship and hearing anecdotes of its history.

The beautiful pavilions are set in a lush tropical garden and there is a big inviting pool to jump into and splash about in. Our rooms were spacious, very comfortable with lots of thoughtful details. The big bathroom opens to an outdoor courtyard and shower. Loved the special toiletries. Everything is impeccable.

So, by day there are some fun local experiences, the Spa or just relaxing about. Don’t miss a drive in the 1950’s Ambassador car down to the old local tea shop for a chai with the owner Mohanan and some homemade snacks...tapioca chips, banana fry, pappada vada.

Evening were glorious relaxing over drinks and chats in the salone until moving on to the verandah for a delicious dinner al fresco. Tropical holiday at its best.

Our warmest thanks to Don (owner) and to Albin (property manager) and team for their delightful, very natural and genuine hospitality.

Luxurious. Fun. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank Allthebest2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don49778, Owner at Indian Summer House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Thankyou so much for staying with us and enjoying our little oasis on your journey. I hope the remainder of the road trip went well.

Kind regards
Don Mini and Albin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews