We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Expedia
Agoda.com
FindHotel
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (702)
Filter reviews
702 results
Traveller rating
416
162
74
35
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
416
162
74
35
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews residents lounge banks of the river wedding venue patio doors walk in shower public rooms log fire beautiful room first class knights templar following morning waiting staff great night stayed for one night fantastic stay afternoon tea dee
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 702 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2021 via mobile

A beautiful hotel in lovely surroundings. A relaxing stay with good food and friendly staff. Cosy night in package was excellent and the gin tasting experience was informative and enjoyable. Definitely worth the stay!!

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank J9099WBkeithf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle Grimmer, Guest Services / Front Office at Maryculter House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, delighted you got to enjoy our latest package that includes some great gifts. The gin flights are certainly going down well with others.

Look out for next years packages

Many Thanks
Maryculter House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2021 via mobile

Ate here as part of a DB&B deal. We had fish mains Halibut and sea bass both cooked to perfection. Would definitely recommend this place. The staff are young and very enthusiastic.
Lovely location by the river.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 475lorrainec
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle Grimmer, Guest Services / Front Office at Maryculter House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and giving us a full score. I will ensure that your kind comments about our young staff are passed on to them, they will be delighted to hear this.

Many Thanks
Maryculter House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2021

Fabulous hotel, fabulous room, and fabulous food. Our room had a river view which was beautiful and relaxing. The room itself was very clean and comfortable and the bathroom looked like it had been recently refurbished, so it it was very clean and the shower was excellent.

Room tip: Book a river view room.
Date of stay: September 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank philthescarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle Grimmer, Guest Services / Front Office at Maryculter House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2021

Thank you for your 5 out of 5 score and review, it is great to read you loved your stay with us, and got one of our recently refurbished bedrooms, the rainfall showers are defiantly a bonus

Many Thanks
Maryculter House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2021

Some of the hotel is tired and we asked to change our bedroom, which was disappointing. But we did get a much nicer room, so thank you.
Reception staff are excellent and very helpful.
Restaurant was disappointing - limited menu with some things off the menu, and not told when being seated. Dining tables are all sticky - maybe due to too much sanitiser or maybe just in need of an overhaul. Porridge delivered at the same time as main breakfast meal.
Not sure I really want to hear our neighbours next door.
Hotel is in a great location and I am sure with a few tweaks and improvements it would be fantastic.

Room tip: Go for one of the refurbished rooms - they seem to be cheaper (surprisingly) than the non-refurbished rooms overlooking the river.
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 29CharleyBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle Grimmer, Guest Services / Front Office at Maryculter House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2021

Thank you for you review of your stay with us. Since our refurbishment was put on hold due to closing the hotel during lockdown, we do hope to get this started again very soon, where we will be able to get more bedroom refurbished. Our menu is limited at the moment, due to the items are not available from our supplier, as they have had difficulty at their end trying to get that items in question. Apologies about our tables, the varnish that was originally on did react to the sanitiser we had to use for COVID this has been changed and we are hoping to get the table resurfaced soon.

Great to see that you love the location as much as we do.

Many Thanks
Maryculter House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2021 via mobile

On behalf of everyone at our families culturally fused wedding. Executive chef, Alan Clarke took up the challenge of creating a menu that reflected a Scottish and Indian culinary fusion. He researched and tested recipes, many of which were completely new to him. The result, he smashed it! To the point that the bride’s father was asked if he had put his own Indian chef in the kitchen! Not forgetting the rest of the staff who made our stay so memorable too.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank A5005ZOmichellet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle Grimmer, Guest Services / Front Office at Maryculter House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2021

Thank you for the amazing review, I will ensure Alan is passed your comments. I am sure he will be delighted that the brides father mentioned this.

Look forward to seeing you back again soon

Many Thanks
Maryculter House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews