We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Lagoon, Juniper Springs”

Ocala National Forest
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Umatilla
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: National parkland consisting of 383,220 acres of various landscapes, including highlands, coastal lowlands, swamps, springs, lakes and ponds.
Reviewed 12 April 2018

Eco Tourism at its finest. Great place to swim and hike. There's also a place for primitive camping near Juniper Springs. The waters were clear and many shades of blue. There's a scenic boardwalk, bridge and historical millhouse.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Iconcities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"juniper springs"
in 22 reviews
"recreation area"
in 8 reviews
"alexander springs"
in 14 reviews
"national forest"
in 10 reviews
"black beans"
in 12 reviews
"natural spring"
in 3 reviews
"silver glen"
in 8 reviews
"this place is huge"
in 3 reviews
"natural beauty"
in 4 reviews
"worst part"
in 2 reviews
"picnic tables"
in 5 reviews
"camp host"
in 2 reviews
"turkey vultures"
in 2 reviews
"ranger station"
in 3 reviews
"hunting season"
in 3 reviews
"clearwater lake"
in 4 reviews
"get away"
in 3 reviews
Filter

12 - 16 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

Lots of waking trails. Dense forest. Camping, hiking, kayaking. Something for everyone. Well maintained. Wonderful aroma of pine.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank ritas586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018 via mobile

We decided to visit on a whim from Orlando. I wish we had had more time and had done more research before we came. We were only able to be here for a couple hours, but it’s beautiful. I’d like to come back prepared to swim and to kayak. Would be a great place for the kids and I to spend the day.

Date of experience: March 2018
3  Thank abpowers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

This forest offers so many varieties of ecosystems and it’s a great way to get away from the madness of Orlando. It’s not too far of a drive and I loved it.

You’ll see gators, manatee, a possible bear and very few humans!!! :)

I hiked the Yearling Trail which was Historical and exciting! Definitely add this to your itinerary!

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2018

We live on the border of the Forest and have to drive through to get places on the east coast of Florida. Most of the time it is a quiet drive. There are two visitor stations on the north and south sides as you enter the Forest. It is nice to enjoy what nature and land we have left.

Date of experience: November 2017
2  Thank ginniedroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocala National Forest also viewed

 

Been to Ocala National Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing