We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 6:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
85 year old dad catching snapper!

I took my 85 year old dad and my brother fishing on the Kay K. Captain Don and mate Dave were... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
332JohnD
,
Schaumburg
Great Fishing Day!

Capt. Don & Dave were great! We got into some Mahi and caught some big snapper. We'll be back to... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
benrU7122VA
Read all 646 reviews
  
Reviews (646)
Filter reviews
646 results
Traveller rating
642
3
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
642
3
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captain don mahi air conditioned cabin fish vermillion snapper yellow tail these guys great trip my son whale harbor tarpon trip top notch beautiful boat clean boat charter boat work hard nurse sharks
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 646 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Captain Don and Dave are rated #1 on Trip Advisor for a reason...an awesome boat and crew. We chartered their boat twice this trip and had a great experience both times.
Dave, a man of constant motion, is a terrific teacher, with much patience’s, and a great sense of humor.
Captain Don is quite, steady, experienced, and knows how to put you on the fish.

WE WILL SEE YOU NEXT YEAR!

Date of experience: February 2021
Thank 45jessey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our experience with Captain Don Chittick & First Mate David Galen on the Kay K IV couldn’t be better! They were extremely friendly, welcoming, and more than helpful when it came to any questions we had. We watched the sunrise while they caught some live bait before heading further out. While Captain Don was moving the boat to different locations, Mr. Galen was constantly giving us tips, identifying the fish we were seeing, baiting our hooks, cracking jokes, and guiding us to further better our fishing techniques. He was always moving and is INCREDIBLE at his job.

We were a family in a group of 5, ranging from ages 23-30, who had only casually fished in a small lakes and rivers years ago, and they made sure everyone caught something despite the calm current that day. After 5 hours, we headed back with plenty of fish. Captain Chittick cleaned and cut our fish for us while Mr. Galen cleaned the fishing equipment and pointed out a manatee right by us next to their boat. Afterwards, Mr. Galen also walked us down the dock with the bucket of fish carcasses to watch him throw them in the shallow water for the sharks.

They also told us all of the local seafood restaurants would cook the fish for us and we ended up choosing Lazy Days. The options were plentiful and we ended up choosing a platter with the fish being blackened, jalapeño encrusted, & parmesan crusted.

When we’re back in Islamorada, we would definitely do this again!

Thanks again to Captain Don Chittick & First Mate David Galen for the unforgettable experience!

-the “J family” (and Michael)

Date of experience: January 2021
Thank janna0609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2021

Planned this trip for a birthday gift for my husband who is a VERY experienced fisherman and seafood chef... me, not so much After 2 canceled trips due to severe weather we finally got out! And we had the time of our lives!! Captain Don at the helm finding the fish and Captain Dave in the back helping us (and by us I mean me ) pull up tons of fish! Brought home plenty of dinner and fun memories! Can’t wait to go out again!

Date of experience: January 2021
Thank Trisha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2021

Great time with Captain Don and First Mate David. Put us on fish at the first hump we visited, Barracuda, Mutton Snapper, Vermillion Snapper. While catching fish we were encouraged to ask any question and we did. Memorable day. Had a crowd back at the marina with the size of our catch. Thanks Capt. Don and First Mate David.

Date of experience: January 2021
Thank Q3518XXrickb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2021 via mobile

Captain Don and his first mate David gave us a spectacular day on the water. First rate duo. Very professional. Boat was clean and well outfitted. David hustles his tail off to get the lines baited and in the water ASAP. Great instruction and deep knowledge to share if you are interested. The fishing didn’t start off all that great, but they kept at it on our behalf and as the picture shows, we hit the jackpot. We actually had two sailfish on at once, but one cut the line, so we only got this guy in the boat.

A real class act. Highly recommend going out with Captain Don and David!!

Date of experience: January 2021
Thank drcrlages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews