We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Great bike ride

This is a beautiful bike trail, scenic and not too tough. My husband and I are both 60 and 80... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Parialni
,
Inverness, Florida
via mobile
Fun!

Either running or biking the trial is perfect to get that little extra exercise. Can’t wait for my... read more

Reviewed 12 November 2018
Lissi T
via mobile
Read all 191 reviews
  
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveller rating
152
32
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
152
32
5
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews floral city bike ride state trail nice bike access points the north end dog walkers inverness area rented bikes multiple places railroad bed great place to ride long distance great parking rainbow river we enjoyed walking public restrooms
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 191 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2018

In both Inverness and Floral City, there are good options for rest stops, food, and a bicycle shop. A lot of the trail is kind of boring but there are some nice interesting stretches as well with water views and a little of the town views. Flat for the most part and patrolled.

Date of experience: May 2017
1  Thank Marcia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

The old railroad track has been removed and the miles and miles of flat trail are available for biking or for walking, whether you're a serious hiker or just want to stroll along. My favorite area is the part that runs from Hernando to Inverness. You can ride or walk and enjoy nature without having to worry about cars.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank SUZANNE T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We walk this trail 4 times per week. It is paved and wonderful. It is 80% shaded and peaceful. We love to walk to and past the bridge. Fun to stop on the bridge and see the alligators. You will walk along the rivers and it is stunning!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Sherri9360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Very nice bike trial - wide, flat. It a former railroad bed - concrete mile markers list the mileage to Richmond, which is where the railroad was headquartered. Parts of the trail are quite scenic; other parts parallel highways. There are not too many crossings - probably one per mile on average, and most are not busy. We were there during a holiday week. The trail was well-utilized, but not at all crowded.

The trail is 46 miles in total - Floral City is pretty much in the middle, and Inverness is near the middle, but closer to the north end of the trial. There are bike shops and restaurants in Floral City and Inverness, but not too much commercial at the north or south ends of the trail.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Ken556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We thought "Hernando" would be a sleepy town... we were right... and we were wrong! Hooked up our bicycles and headed for the Withlacoochee Bay Trail on Saturday morning, and found a treasure! About 5 miles due west, ending at the Gulf, we enjoyed a mostly flat ride, nicely paved, and not too crowded with other bikes and hikers. We saw some of the other trail (that goes north to south), which ended in charming Inverness. Lots of local restaurants there available for B/L/Dinner. For a nice bike ride, try one of these!

Date of experience: March 2018
2  Thank Mimi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews