We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting, but a little old school”

Ah-Tah-Thi-Ki Museum
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Clewiston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Located on the Big Cypress Reservation, this museum celebrates the history and the culture of the Seminole Indians. Winner of a 2015-2017 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence!
Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

The museum focuses on the Seminole history, which is really interesting. The introduction movie and the exhibition could be a bit more modern though. The boardwalk was a nice experience too, but we didn't see any animals at all. I guess the museum is in particular worth a visit, when there are some events going on.

Thank Carmen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie D, Visitor Services and Development Manager at Ah-Tah-Thi-Ki Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Thank you for your review; we appreciate your feedback! We are constantly striving to share more of the Seminole story and we have plans underway to revamp our galleries in the upcoming years to give our visitors a broader history. As you mentioned, our events are a great additional way to get an interactive and dynamic experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"seminole indians"
in 16 reviews
"big cypress"
in 10 reviews
"mile long boardwalk"
in 7 reviews
"board walk"
in 10 reviews
"introductory video"
in 3 reviews
"hunting camp"
in 2 reviews
"indian culture"
in 2 reviews
"daily life"
in 3 reviews
"nature walk"
in 6 reviews
"beautiful boardwalk"
in 3 reviews
"native americans"
in 4 reviews
"gift shop"
in 10 reviews
"southwest florida"
in 2 reviews
"local flora and fauna"
in 2 reviews
"learning experience"
in 4 reviews
"swamp safari"
in 2 reviews
"well worth the trip"
in 4 reviews
Filter

24 - 28 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

You will enjoy your visit there is much to be learned but the seminal Indians I was impressed and would suggest anyone go there

Thank chaplain1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie D, Visitor Services and Development Manager at Ah-Tah-Thi-Ki Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Thank you for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit with us and learned a lot about the Seminoles!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed going through the museum and learning about the culture of the Seminole Indian. Found it very informative and learned a lot i didn't know about the Seminole Indian. Take an hour and visit this museum, you'll be glad you did!

Thank advisingu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie D, Visitor Services and Development Manager at Ah-Tah-Thi-Ki Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Thank you for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed the Museum and learned more about Seminole history and culture!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

It was not busy so we had the pleasure of seeing the museum at our leisure. It was fun and informational.

Thank NAKA612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie D, Visitor Services and Development Manager at Ah-Tah-Thi-Ki Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Thank you for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed the Museum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2017

The museum and centre is not on the beaten path, so you need to make the effort. But if you want to find out more about the Seminole, their culture, and their history, you will find this fascinating. Well laid out exhibits give a sense of these people, and we found the children's storytelling enthralling. Afterwards, a walk along the boardwalk through the forest and to the craft huts, and back into the cool of the centre.....3 hours enjoyably spent. ! And look for the huge alligator in the pool as you walk over the bridge towards the perpetual fire smouldering by the entrance!

Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie D, Visitor Services and Development Manager at Ah-Tah-Thi-Ki Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2017

Thank you for making the trip out to visit us! We are so glad you found the journey worthwhile and were able to deepen your knowledge of Seminole history and culture!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ah-Tah-Thi-Ki Museum also viewed

 

Been to Ah-Tah-Thi-Ki Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing