We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seminole history and culture beautifully highlighted!”

Ah-Tah-Thi-Ki Museum
Ranked #2 of 18 things to do in Clewiston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Located on the Big Cypress Reservation, this museum celebrates the history and the culture of the Seminole Indians. Winner of a 2015-2017 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence!
Reviewed 6 May 2017

This is my 2nd visit to the Ah-Tah-Thi-Ki Museum and this time I brought family from Canada. The displays of Seminole bead work and patchwork are especially exquisite. This museum is so well done that one can spend several hours viewing the exhibits, then enjoy the surrounding Everglades.

I have worked 20+ years in archives/museums - Ah-Tah-Thi-Ki Museum is one of the best that I have visited.

Thank 375jessi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie D, Visitor Services and Development Manager at Ah-Tah-Thi-Ki Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Thank you so much for your high praise! We are always delighted to hear from our visitors that we are doing a great job helping preserve the Tribe's history and culture. We hope you are able to visit us again as we rotate our exhibits!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2017

It's quiet a drive from Cape Coral to Seminole reservation through Hell's Kitchen but worth if in the end. Very large car park then a walk over a Gator pond into the museum. $10 entrance fee then a short film on the history of the local Seminole Indians who migrated here from Georgia & neighboring states. After the film an interesting museum to walk through then if wanted a long boardwalk in the woods. No wildlife to be seen but half way round you come to a clearing with wooden huts & some people working wood, beads etc. Nice touch of a toilet block here & a pay for drinks machine but 10 yards further is a free water dispenser with paper cups mmm. The gift shop is limited & expensive which was a let down as would have liked to bring something back to the K.K..

Thank broggy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie D, Visitor Services and Development Manager at Ah-Tah-Thi-Ki Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review; we are glad you found the experience worth the drive!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

Great educational museum, discover the history of Seminole tribes and see exhibits relating to life in the time period.

Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie D, Visitor Services and Development Manager at Ah-Tah-Thi-Ki Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Thank you for writing a review! We are always happy to know when our visitors have a meaningful experience here at the Ah-Tah-Thi-Ki Museum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

I'm usually not a fan of museums. Our group of 14 (from all over America) had 1.5 hours to spend at this museum. None of us were able to complete it. The legions slide show, (how the children were taught) was my favorite. The displays were excellent. Located about 2 miles east of Billie's Swamp Safari, this museum is the best value anywhere. We plan on revisiting real soon.

Thank Buckeyebiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie D, Visitor Services and Development Manager at Ah-Tah-Thi-Ki Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Thank you for your review! We believe there's something for everyone here and are so happy that you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

We very much enjoyed our visit to the museum. The introductory film and the exhibits are very good and informative about the Seminole history. There is a one mile boardwalk through the forest which is quite nice. It is a somewhat long drive from the coastal cities but worth the time.

Thank Rich-Stamford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie D, Visitor Services and Development Manager at Ah-Tah-Thi-Ki Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Thank you for your review! We are so glad you found the Museum worth your drive time! We like to say the drive is really part of the experience. Come visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ah-Tah-Thi-Ki Museum also viewed

 

Been to Ah-Tah-Thi-Ki Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing