We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very informative”

Ah-Tah-Thi-Ki Museum
Ranked #2 of 18 things to do in Clewiston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Located on the Big Cypress Reservation, this museum celebrates the history and the culture of the Seminole Indians. Winner of a 2015-2017 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence!
Reviewed 5 April 2017

Great educational museum, discover the history of Seminole tribes and see exhibits relating to life in the time period.

Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie D, Visitor Services and Development Manager at Ah-Tah-Thi-Ki Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Thank you for writing a review! We are always happy to know when our visitors have a meaningful experience here at the Ah-Tah-Thi-Ki Museum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2017

I'm usually not a fan of museums. Our group of 14 (from all over America) had 1.5 hours to spend at this museum. None of us were able to complete it. The legions slide show, (how the children were taught) was my favorite. The displays were excellent. Located about 2 miles east of Billie's Swamp Safari, this museum is the best value anywhere. We plan on revisiting real soon.

Thank Buckeyebiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie D, Visitor Services and Development Manager at Ah-Tah-Thi-Ki Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Thank you for your review! We believe there's something for everyone here and are so happy that you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

We very much enjoyed our visit to the museum. The introductory film and the exhibits are very good and informative about the Seminole history. There is a one mile boardwalk through the forest which is quite nice. It is a somewhat long drive from the coastal cities but worth the time.

Thank Rich-Stamford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie D, Visitor Services and Development Manager at Ah-Tah-Thi-Ki Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Thank you for your review! We are so glad you found the Museum worth your drive time! We like to say the drive is really part of the experience. Come visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017

We spent the day in the Clewiston area and visited the Seminole Indian Reservation about 45 minutes south in the Everglades. While there we stopped in at the Ah-Tah-Thi-Ki Museum and had a wonderful visit. Staff were accommodating and made us feel welcome. The main building is beautiful and inviting. Lots of large full scale dioramas of Seminole Indian life as lived in the 1800s deep in the swamp where they went to avoid being rounded up and shipped west by the US Army. Outside there is a boardwalk trail through the swamp and halfway around (approx. half a mile) there is a replica of a historic Seminole encampment. Seminole women were there making jewelry and patchwork for us to observe and also buy if we wanted. There was no pressure to do so, however, I found a great bracelet for our granddaughter there. Inside the museum is a gift shop full of crafts, books, etc. Fully handicap accessible and nice clean rest rooms.

2  Thank Travelcrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie D, Visitor Services and Development Manager at Ah-Tah-Thi-Ki Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review! We are glad you took advantage of all we have to offer on our campus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017

A beautiful group of quality manikins with the traditional "dresses" for the men and a long history of specialty bead making in the heart of the Everglades- overviews, lectures, and a 1 mile boardwalk through the Cypress. Easy to spend a couple of hours, plus a nice museum shop with lots of hand made silver and beaded items.

1  Thank Rosebud061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie D, Visitor Services and Development Manager at Ah-Tah-Thi-Ki Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Thank you for your kind words! The beautiful beadwork and patchwork clothing that the Seminoles proudly make and wear are certainly a highlight of the museum. Come visit us again as our exhibits change throughout the year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ah-Tah-Thi-Ki Museum also viewed

 

Been to Ah-Tah-Thi-Ki Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing