We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Hidden gem

We arrived after hours, and they were just locking up, but the curator was gracious and let us tour... read more

Reviewed 26 December 2020
BozemanTrudeman
,
Gallatin Gateway, Montana
Beautiful church with awesome history!

This church is very special to me as it was our family that donated the land for the church to be... read more

Reviewed 29 July 2020
meohmy66
Read all 41 reviews
  
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
27
11
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
27
11
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ring the bell hendrickson house united states grave buried swedish ancestors headstones earliest history tour grounds delaware yard architecture festival
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2020

We arrived after hours, and they were just locking up, but the curator was gracious and let us tour this amazing place. Wilmington was founded by Swedes, contrary to public opinion. No, it was not founded by Italians, though they make up a significant and positive part of the populous. Go visit. Your eyes will be opened.

Date of experience: October 2020
Thank BozemanTrudeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2020

This church is very special to me as it was our family that donated the land for the church to be built on, we even have a few buried here, the name of Stalcup, Stallcop, Stallcup. The church is just beautiful and those that are caring for it are very informative. They have the Stalcup History in their library. It's just a very cool place to visit and to ring the bell. The actual visit was in 2010, Tripadvisor doesn't give you the option to choose the correct date.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank meohmy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2020

My husband and I were in the area for a Celtic Festival in Bethlehem and we added a few days on for a road trip. We stopped for a tour of the Old Swedes Chuch and the Hendrickson house on the property. The tours takes about 45 minutes total for both sites. It doesn't include the cemetery, which is self guided. Interestesting tour and historical building. Worth the stop.

Date of experience: September 2019
2  Thank alpw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2020

We have four families from our ancestry all buried on this location. We spent 2 hours going up and down through all the headstones in order to find their resting places. In the winter the office is closed but you can call them a week ahead of time and have a person help you with locating headstones. we didn't have that luxury since there was a change to you trip. That personal attention would definitely help to navigate through the mostly worn and weathered headstones. 75% of the stones i would say are not readable, which is cool and creepy but really wanted to find them.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank colleen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2020

We were there during the 300th Anniversary celebration. We received a very thorough tour of the church and church yard. Our guide was enthusiastic and knowledgeable. The church is still in use and is well kept. The graves inside the church and the carvings on the door gave us a real impression of the age and history of the building.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Arthur G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BetsyC389, Public Relations Manager at Old Swedes Church, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2020

Thank you! We're so glad you enjoyed your visit to this historic place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews