We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (414)
Filter reviews
414 results
Traveller rating
177
137
61
22
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
177
137
61
22
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front desk waffles waffle maker room was clean free breakfast is stay there again the breakfast area hot breakfast coffee table longwood gardens convenient location staff was very friendly and helpful great place to stay wilmington area flat screen other hotels sunday morning
Filter
Updating list...
150 - 155 of 414 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2015 via mobile

Be prepared to be charged 25 percent higher than rate and then 2-3 days after you leave they will give a refund of the overcharge (waiting to see if we got it back). The rooms were old and not very clean. The couch was gross and pull out mattress was un-usable. Shower creeped me out and was dirty. Refrigerator was wobbly. Didnt use the heat because it smelled like burnt hair. Breakfast...what a joke....everything was nasty...super watery oatmeal....soggy biscuits....no meat...no egg...one little plate of gross melon for fruit. For a boutique 2 star hotel very over priced and just old and gross. Safety? Back door was never locked with an unmanned front desk at most times. Elevator was awful...creaky and super slow. Will not be staying here again.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardBrandywine, General Manager at Inn At Wilmington, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2015

Dear Kim G, thank you for conveying your concerns on TripAdvisor. Your feedback is definitely welcomed and appreciated. Although we are very proud of our positive reviews and rating, we are always open to look for opportunities to further improve the hotel’s amenities and services.

There is a hold that is placed on all guests’ credit cards upon check in. A percentage hold of the room rate is a requirement of many, if not all hotels. Usually the hold amount is released within 3-8 business days.

We take the safety and security of our guests and our employees very seriously, and you can rest assured that we have completed follow-up in regards to your concerns in our front desk being unmanned, and our back door being unlocked.

Our breakfast selections vary and sometimes we have overnight guests that prefer a full service restaurant that offers a more varied selection of foods. Since we are centrally located; there are many options that are close by to choose from. If we had known what your preferences were, we would have been more than happy to assist you with additional options in the area.

Again, thank you for taking the time to communicate your concerns.


Lelia Pierce
Operations Manager
Inn at Wilmington
Phone: 302-479-7900

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2015

The only exception about how satisfactory my stay was: The sofa bed was awful! They were booked way in advance because of local events and the only room they could reserve for us was a queen with sofa bed. I asked if I could be put on a request list for 2 queen beds, as I'd be traveling with a lady friend and we preferred separate beds. They were not able to do this so the first night there, I had a miserable night due to a terrible pull-out sofa bed. I'm not exaggerating, the mattress sloped downward like a ski slope, there was a cigarette burn in the mattress pad, the linens for it were dingy and torn, AND the mattress was lumpy and impossibly uncomfortable. In the morning, I complained to the clerk on duty and invited him to see for himself. He came right up and saw what I meant, and said they'd try very hard to get our room reassigned. He was able to do that, and there was all the difference in the world! I can't understand how they've not had complaints, other than that the sofabeds go largely unused, or are usually assigned to children who don't mind.

The people at the desk could not have been nicer and I give the staff kudos. The second room proved perfectly fine, the carpet was much nicer than in our first room, the vanity top larger, and we were both comfortable. It was very clean and even though they were heavily booked, there was no noise to disturb us. The towels in both rooms could have used fabric softener, but were good as exfoliators!

Ideal location because it was a safer part of Wilmington (Talleyville) than the downtown area yet easily accessible to sightseeing destinations. There are plenty of chain restaurants and other restaurants along Concord Pike, and a shopping mall is practically across the street.

Room Tip: Upper floors would have better views; don't try to sleep on the sofa bed!
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Claudia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardBrandywine, General Manager at Inn At Wilmington, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2015

Dear Claudia J, thank you taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us. We really appreciate your observations, as they will help us examine these matters. We try to accommodate all of our guest’s needs and requests, we sincerely apologize that you needs were not met while you were visiting us.

We have addressed your concerns with our housekeeping department so they can make sure they rectify the issues you have pointed out to us. I would very much appreciate it if you would follow up with me personally so that I could obtain the information needed to inspect the room you were first assigned at check in.

Despite your inconveniences, you still praised our staff which is greatly appreciated. While it seems like we couldn’t accommodate your request on the first night, I’m glad to know that we were able to turn a negative into a positive for you on your second night.

Again, thank you for your feedback; if your travels bring you to the area again, we hope you will give us another opportunity to accommodate you.

Lelia Pierce
Operations Manager
Inn at Wilmington
Phone: 302-479-7900

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2015

The location is super convenient, with 5 restaurants that you can walk to, and the room was spacious and had a great flat screen TV, refrigerator, microwave and a Kuerig coffee maker. Every hotel employee we engaged with was friendly and accommodating. I had 3 fabulous nights sleep there, the king size bed in our room had the best and most comfortable mattress I've ever slept on, at home or traveling, no exaggeration. It's no 5 star hotel, but for the price, it was an incredible value and in hindsight, I'm glad we stayed there versus springing for a lot more money to be at the Doubletree. While this won't keep me from staying there again, the breakfast buffet was a little weak, with no bacon or sausage, but it had everything else, and stayed open until 11am, which was nice for the day we slept in. Highly recommend this for the budget conscious traveler that still wants top notch amenities.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Callsully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardBrandywine, General Manager at Inn At Wilmington, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2015

Dear Callsully, thank you for sharing your experience at the Inn at Wilmington and rating us a 5 on Trip Advisor! It’s great to hear that you enjoyed our hotel’s amenities and our friendly Inn at Wilmington team! We are also glad to hear that you found our beds to be comfortable, relaxing and contributed to a good night’s rest for you. We often receive many compliments on how comfortable our beds are.

I’m sorry to hear that our breakfast selections did not meet your expectations during the days you were visiting us. Our complimentary breakfast varieties differ during the week and some options will include eggs, bacon or sausage. Maybe during your next visit you will have an opportunity to enjoy a different variety on the bar.

Thanks again! We truly hope we will have another opportunity to accommodate you again in the future.

Lelia Pierce
Operations Manager
Inn at Wilmington
Phone: 302-479-7900

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2015

Confidently located on Route 202, not far from the center of Wilmington. Lots of restaurants and shopping in the immediate vicinity. Good value for comfortable average hotel. The room was clean and average. The common areas look a little worn in some places and need a little refurbishing. This has potential to be a nice boutique hotel, but seems to be settling for average. Rooms in back are quieter.

Stayed: September 2015
Thank V K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardBrandywine, General Manager at Inn At Wilmington, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2015

Thank you so much for bringing these matters to our attention. Your compliments on our safe convenient location and the cleanliness of guest rooms are very much appreciated as well. Not only do we want to provide our guests with a high level of customer service, we also want to make sure we meet their expectations in all areas while they are visiting with us.

Again thank you for conveying your message to us and bringing these valid points to our attention.

We truly hope you will visit us again in the future!

Lelia Pierce
Operations Manager
Inn at Wilmington
Phone: 302-479-7900

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2015

A year ago we thought it was great -- good location on 202, solid breakfast, quality linens, clean. Stayed there again this week and were disappointed in breakfast (lousy coffee, watery oatmeal) and wifi that was wholly inadequate. Staff is pleasant, it's still clean, and location hasn't changed....

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mclaughc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardBrandywine, General Manager at Inn At Wilmington, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2015

Dear mclaughc, thank you for coming back to visit and sharing your feedback. I sincerely apologize that our breakfast and wifi did not meet your expectations during your second stay. Your review has been shared with our team so that we can review our breakfast selections and make the necessary improvements to help us remain consistent with our services and amenities.

We also followed up on your concerns regarding our wifi and placed a call in to our service provider for follow up.

Thanks again! Your feedback will help us improve in making sure we are consistent with implementing the best service that is expected of us.

Lelia Pierce
Operations Manager
Inn at Wilmington
Phone: 302-479-7900

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews