We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (504)
Filter reviews
504 results
Traveller rating
353
94
37
10
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
353
94
37
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews green room hotel dupont old world new ownership soaking tub elegant hotel valet staff grand dame grand ballroom grand old hotel luxury king room large bathroom room service a wonderful stay du pont mini bar beautiful room
Filter
Updating list...
405 - 410 of 504 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2017

If it ain't broke don't fix it, just give it a good refresh! The Hotel Du Pont changed ownership from the Du Pont Co. to the Buccini Pollin group and ushered in a new era of ideas and programming; like yoga followed by fresh juicing and afternoon tea offed in the Green Room. While some these concepts are working for them, others have faltered. The hotel still hosts a world of historic charm, but the decor and ambiance is very dated. Since the hotel is currently experiencing a "work in progress" under its new owners, many of the guest reception and dining areas have been closed down or under construction as the new owners put their stamp on the hotel. It was a shame to see that one of the two on-site restaurants, The Grill, has been permanently closed and the hotel lobby bar under construction leaving guest with only one option to get a drink at the end of the evening. The Green Room Bar, although welcoming, is a small room in desperate need of a make over into a hip speakeasy with crafted cocktails and a new bartending staff, knowledgeable in the art of specialized cocktail making. In addition, let me be the first to say, "at no time should drop down tile ever be presented as a ceiling option, especially in a historic luxury hotel." Besides the glamour and craftsmanship the hotel's lobby, ballroom and Green Room dining areas, the best thing still remaining from its previous ownership is the staff and service. After a long day on the road, we were greeted at reception by one of the most amazing hotel staff members the Traberts have had the pleasure of meeting during our travels, Ms. Stefanie Watts, Assistant Front Desk Manager. Not only was she full of positive energy, welcoming and helpful with our upgrade, she offered us a plethora of information as to places to visit during our stay. Jocelyn, the dining room supervisor, greeted us for Sunday brunch at the Green Room and was absolutely delightful, making sure she took the time to get to know us on a personal level. The Green Room brunch buffet was delicioulsy average but the full menu upgrade offering was well worth the additional cost. The live piano player was a lovely added touch, but made the atmosphere more stuffy than charming. A Trabert recommendation would be for the hotel to capitalize off of its established history by offering live jazz, 20's and swing music. The hotel offers guests nice amenities like valet parking, gracious fitness facility and spacious rooms. Critics - Although very spacious, the room decor was dated and worn. The pillows were plentiful but small and lacked support. The commode seat was broken and the shower a bit small, but overall the bathroom was nice, clean and provided enough room for two to maneuver. Some helpful tips to the new owners would be to really look its vast lobby space and offer guests amenities like a barber shop, hair salon, retail shop, art gallery or spa to capitalize on all the business travelers and locals. Think about bringing in a younger revitalizing crowd by turning your slow weekends into a local hotspot. Look forward to seeing what the future holds for the Hotel Dupont, a Trabert Top Pick, under its new ownership!

Room Tip: Single king bed
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArtfulMatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 August 2017

Thank you very much for your great feedback and suggestions for our beautiful hotel and you may rest assured that we take our stewardship of HOTEL DU PONT with great respect. As you mentioned, we are a "work in progress" for a short period of time while we prepare for a renovation of the building, retail and office space. I, wholeheartedly agree that the soul of our hotel continues to be the outstanding staff, such as Stephanie and Joselyn. We appreciate your valuable suggestions and look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful historic hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

Old fashioned hotel. Nice large rooms- comfortable and modernized (need coffee makers), good wifi a good sit down breakfast , a quaint bar- overall great. Location just off market street- plenty of restaurants nearby

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank KanwarTavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 August 2017

Many thanks for your review of our hotel. Since we do not currently provide coffee makers, we do indeed offer complimentary coffee for our hotel guests in the morning.
We look forward to welcoming you back to HOTEL DU PONT.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

One has expectations when staying at a hotel that has a grand reputation and The Hotel duPont did not disappoint. At every turn, there were polished individuals who were invariably courteous as well as helpful. The room was plush and included a nice sitting area, a well appointed bathroom and a comfortable bed. The lobby offers great people watching opportunities. The valets are efficient, but they can only do so much when a huge influx happens, so call ahead when in need of your vehicle. We had a great time in the bar, party due to the company, but definitely enhanced by the bartender.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 August 2017

Many thanks for your kind review and feedback. I am delighted to learn that your experience in the Green Room Bar was enhanced by our staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back to HOTEL DU PONT.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

This elegant, old hotel offers a lovely afternoon tea that a teenager found enchanting. Food awfully good and service spot on. Reservations required and don't expect to be seated before opening. Easy street parking. Worth the 45 minute drive from Phila.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 August 2017

I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed our beautiful Afternoon Tea experience. We are currently developing some wonderful new enhancements as well as fashion shows to host during the fall season.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Green Room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

My husband and I were coming (from New Jersey)to the Hotel duPont for dinner and to spend the night. Lisa welcomed us at the front desk and asked if we had ever been to the Hotel duPont before. We indicated we had come for special events, but that we had never spent the night. She asked if this was a special occasion. I confirmed that this was my 65th birthday celebration. She got a big grin on her face and her eyes lit up. With the approval of her manager, she upgraded our room to a suite and gave us a discount coupon for our dinner. She also enlisted the help of other staff members. At the conclusion of our five star dinner, our waiter gently placed in front of me a beautiful birthday dessert complete with birthday candle, while the pianist, who had so beautifully serenaded those dining in the Green Room, played "Happy Birthday". Our suite was stunning, the food was amazing and the cocktails were perfect! Thanks to everyone at the Hotel DuPont, but a special thank you to Lisa Wallace who helped make my 65th birthday celebration truly one to remember!!!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 August 2017

Many thanks for your kind feedback and most importantly recognition of Lisa Wallace. We are so proud of Lisa for taking the initiative to create such a memorable experience for you and your husband.
We hope to welcome you back to HOTEL DU PONT for many more special occasions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews