We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,251)
Filter reviews
1,251 results
Traveller rating
1,086
112
29
14
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,086
112
29
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bully ranch swiss chalet fondue oxygen bar blue spruce suite king's club cookies heated floors spa area turn down service breakfast buffet junior suite ski haus the indoor outdoor pool european feel favorite hotel ski concierge
Filter
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 1,251 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2018 via mobile

This is the first time I’ve stayed with Sonnenalp. Would certainly come back again. Great service, international vibe, beautiful scenery. Nicely appointed rooms/suites, excellent food. Would recommend it to anyone wanting a relaxing getaway. Check it out!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
Thank Ashley V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write this review.
Even during May, which is our slower part of the year, Vail is quite beautiful and makes for wonderful escape.
So glad you enjoyed it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018

We stayed here for four nights during shoulder season and as usual the hotel was wonderful. We were in Suite 440. There were far more positives than negatives and here they are:

Positives

1) Free upgrade to a magnificent suite, #440.
2) Friendliest staff, unbelievably helpful.
3) Gorgeous, clean room.
4) Balcony, yes a private balcony for people watching and sunset glass of wine!
5) Clean, bright, well kept common spaces.
6) Free coffee in the morning.
7) Bully Bar is much more than a bar, the food is great!
8) The housekeeping staff will clean your room quickly, even if you don't get out of the room until later in the day. They are efficient!

Negative(s)

1) The hotel shut down the spa, pools, hot tubs and GYM, without telling us! We use the Gym EVERY DAY, and this was something that would have made us change our minds about what days to stay.

2) The climate control is not really in your power. If you turn on the fan in your room it only blows hot air. To cool off you must open windows and this can be problematic with the noise from the street (though Vail is a very quiet town in comparison to a city).

The hotels location could not be better, it is right in the middle of Vail and within walking distance to everything!

The charm and character of the hotel are perfect. You must stay here at least once!

Room Tip: As far as we can tell, any room is a great room!
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldbareuropeantrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Thank you for your thoughtful review.
I apologize for the oversight in not informing you about our spa closure. We indeed had to close the spa for a 2 day period for refresh, spring clean and repair/upgrade projects. While we offer use of our Sonnenalp Club fitness facility during those rare closures, I recognize that it is important to inform our guest ahead of time. I am so sorry for failing to do so.

The Sonnenalp is fully air-conditioned. However, during periods when it is still cold at night and quite warm during the day, our system does not respond as quickly as we would like from heating to cooling mode. I am sorry this caused inconvenience for you.

Please come back,
We want to make sure we get everything right next time you visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018

Our company had a corporate off-site event at the Sonnenalp involving a team of about 40+ human beings. The planning and execution of the event was nearly perfect due to the quality team at this resort. They were able to accommodate constant changes and had very grand meeting/conference room spaces. I appreciated the staff's ability to actually listen and propose solutions as opposed to giving the expected run around excuses (common human trait). Overall reception and staff had very high level of customer service, very welcoming and friendly: my team of humans were left with a very good impression of the resort's service. Everything else about the resort was exceptional. Food was beyond good and great value considering the size of our group. Rooms were more than adequately equipped, comfortable, and even had subjectively great views. Our humans were delivered in a charter bus, so I cannot comment on the parking, but overall very happy with our experience at the Sonnenalp! If you want a painless experience in coordinating a great team event for your off-site, the Sonnenalp should be on the top of that list!

Room Tip: just spend a little more and be done with it.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefanm364782hd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

Great hotel, quaint and unique in the center of Vail Village. Friendly and very helpful staff. Room was great but was on 2 levels, would request a room/suite on 1 level next time. Best breakfast in Vail, everything you’d want and more!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
Thank Hankpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

We enjoyed our stay at the Sonnenalp probably more than ever! We received an upgrade during the shoulder season and it was marvelous! The hotel room was roomy, comfortable, quiet, and loved the coffee addition to the rooms with water re-supplied daily. The spa is out of this world. Not only is the area so pleasing but it is maintained so beautifully. Our breakfast was exceptional and our waiter a sweetheart. We think management keeps the Sonnenalp up to the highest of standards. Even the elevators feel loved. Thank you for making this an extra special time for us!

Room Tip: The creek views are spacious and lovely, the city views are charming.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kent R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews