We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, amazing, wonderful!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glenwood Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Four Mile Creek Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2017

My wife and I have been chomping at the bit to get a relaxing weekend away and were eager to try Four Mile B&B. Short version; they met all our expectations and then exceeded them.
First off the location is just ideal for a B&B. In a beautiful mountain valley with a river running through it, how can you not relax. The drive there is wonderful. We went in the fall so all the trees were changing and each turn gives you something new to gawk at.
The main house and the cabins look rustic and are very charming and have a cozy home like feel to them. Though the temperatures dipped into freezing at night there we were able to keep the window open (to listen to the river running) and we were still warm all night long.
The hosts are lovely, warm welcoming people. They have great stories about the area and of adventures they have had during their life in Colorado. It truly feels like coming home and reconnecting with old friends.
Lastly, the breakfasts are delicious. Everything home cooked and warm for when you wake up. They have a rotating menu so that you wont have the same thing twice during your stay. Its fresh, its tasty, and it makes the trip worth it just for the meals. We loved it so much we bought the recipe cards from the owner.
For people who have a hard time disconnecting, the cell service is mostly non existent in the room (I think thats a good thing) but they do have good wifi and a landline to use in the house.
But this is a place you should come to unplug and relax. Its close to great hiking, the hot springs and a lovely drive to Aspen if you need more amenities. This should be on everyone's must do B&B's in Colorado. Dont pass it up.

Room Tip: The river side cabin is so relaxing with the sound of the river bubbling away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Noah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2017

In six trips to the US this is one of the best B&Bs we have stayed in. The setting is ideal, particularly the Creekside Cabin in which we stayed. The cabin is quaint but very clean and very comfortable. We enjoyed sitting outside the cabin listening to the gentle sound of the creek and watching the antics of a squirrel who obviously thought it was his home and not ours. Falling asleep and waking-up to the sound of the creek was also very relaxing. Jim and Sharrill were perfect hosts and chatting to them and to the other guests helped to make our stay so enjoyable. The highlight of our stay was the Sunday night musical concert that Jim organizes once per month during the summer. The Blue Grass group who performed were excellent and the food and drink provided by the locals added to a memorable night.

If you are in this area stay at the Four Mile Creek Bed and Breakfast and if you can arrange to be there for one of the monthly concerts then you will not regret it.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank slp17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

What a treat to stay here! Jim and Sharill are such kind, generous, hosts. You can tell that they love their property and what they do. The cabin we stayed in was cozy and comfortable and sleeping next to the creek was awesome. We spent quite a bit of time on the property, grilling out, reading by the creek, looking at all of the antiques and listening to Jim and Sharill's stories. We went on a fishing excursion one morning and missed breakfast, not sure that was wise, the breakfasts were excellent. Thanks for making our stay so wonderful.

Room Tip: Don't skip breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

Where to start? Jim and Cheryl are wonderful hosts. They have worked this B+B for 20 years. Jim is a retired fireman and paramedic and Cheryl is a jewelry artist. They are both very artistic and caring people. They found and bought an old ranch built in 1926 with a stream of mountain water and a collapsing barn on the property. They rebuilt the barn and the house and have turned this into a terrific place. Among other talents, Jim also composes music, performs it, and hosts 6 concerts during the summer months. They have a museum quality art collection that is worth a visit by itself. The satisfying breakfast was made before our eyes. The only negative was the bed in the Bird room, which was queen size and a bit wonky. But everything else was so delightful that we could overlook the bed issue and are already making plans for a return visit. If you have interest in western art, music, refurbished old Colorado ranches and are willing to drive about 5 miles outside of Glenwood Springs into some gorgeous mountain country, this place is for you. Don't miss it!

Room Tip: Cottage rooms are preferable. Be sure to tour the grounds and the barn!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MJH161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

I can't say enough good things about this B & B. From the eclectic decorations in the main house to our Creekside Cabin with the gurgling sound of the creek lulling me to sleep. Jim and Cheryl were the most delightful hosts - accommodating, advising and very down to earth. Breakfast was the best I've ever eaten at a B & B. Although we only stayed one night, you better bet I'll be coming back for a week of restful vacation up the wee canyon to Four Mile Creek!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Nettters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
11.9 km away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
931 reviews
12.7 km away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
648 reviews
10.1 km away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#13 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 km away
Best Western Antlers
Best Western Antlers
#5 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
906 reviews
12.2 km away
Glenwood Hot Springs Resort
Glenwood Hot Springs Resort
#4 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
1,077 reviews
11.4 km away
Rio Grande Bed and Breakfast
Rio Grande Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 6 in Glenwood Springs
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Mile Creek Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Mile Creek Bed and Breakfast

Address: 6471 County Road 117, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601-4523
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Glenwood Springs
Price Range: HK$664 - HK$1,132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Mile Creek Bed and Breakfast is located in a quiet valley near Glenwood Springs Colorado. Two rooms are available in the main house, two log cabins and a cabin attached to the barn are located nearby. The main house is the original headquarters of Four Mile Ranch, homesteaded in 1885. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing