We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Great, historic railway

Absolute great way to spend a couple hours. Beautiful scenery and just a cool experience. Rail crew... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
dodg1988
,
Payson, Utah
Fantastic Georgetown Loop Experience

A beautiful day with a fun train ride, an exceptional Extended Tour mine with our fun and... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Maria G
,
Evergreen, Colorado
via mobile
Read all 1,233 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Georgetown
from US$85.00
More Info
from US$119.00
More Info
from US$119.00
More Info
Reviews (1,233)
Filter reviews
1,233 results
Traveller rating
666
357
123
47
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
666
357
123
47
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews silver plume train ride parlor car steam engine extended tour devil's gate open air santa train silver mines high bridge fun train panning for gold beautiful scenery open cars covered car mining tour nice ride
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,233 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2021 via mobile

The scenery was gorgeous and a perfect set-up for our trip up and through Guanella Pass. The guide gave just enough historical info peppered with corny jokes. Heaven for dads.

This attraction is especially great for guests with disabilities. My son uses a wheelchair and the staff were super friendly and helpful. Definitely recommend this.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank Jorge272
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 August 2021

This is a pleasant train ride with some pretty scenery. It is a steam engine that makes a loop. It is a nice ride for children. We had trouble hearing the information that was being told on the ride but we did get a couple of facts that we found interesting.

Date of experience: August 2021
1  Thank granof03
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 August 2021

This is a vintage train with authentic steam engine. It makes a loop and the actual ride is about an hour. It is not as scenic or dramatic as the train from Durango to Silverton or the one in Leadville, but it is probably perfect for kids. The only drawback is we could not hear the narration provided by the young worker. She had a high pitched voice and the speakers were terrible. So we missed getting any informative information. Since the trip is not very dramatic, I think the railroad should invest in better speakers so people could hear. Staff were very nice.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank NChoagie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 August 2021 via mobile

We wanted to give the ground time to dry for hiking since it had rained many days. We found this railroad tour and drove to the ticket office arriving 5 min before it departed. We scored our spots and enjoyed the tour so much! Absolutely gorgeous scenery. Great family time together.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank eX6041PF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 August 2021 via mobile

We had a great time on a sunny afternoon on the Georgetown Loop Railroad. The ride is very scenic and entertaining, with a real steam locomotive. The narration gives you great information on mining, the railroad and the area. Beautiful views! Tip— sit on the right side of the train for lots of views of Clear Creek. One stop includes an optional mine tour (which we did not do) but some folks who had just completed it said it was very good.

Date of experience: August 2021
1  Thank 15lesliej
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews