We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crested Butte area pass”
Review of Schofield Pass

More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Between Crested Butte and Marble, this difficult road has narrow, steep passages.
Reviewed 27 January 2018

What is not to like about Schofield pass in the surrounding area. Once beyond Schofield past, you are on your way to the maroon bells. Great hiking in the area. Gorgeous views. In order to get to the Schofield pass, you will definitely need four-wheel-drive and your courage.

Date of experience: September 2017
5  Thank Wynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"emerald lake"
in 11 reviews
"devils punch bowl"
in 5 reviews
"off road"
in 3 reviews
"maroon bells"
in 5 reviews
"great hiking"
in 3 reviews
"power house"
in 2 reviews
"snow drifts"
in 2 reviews
"wheel drive"
in 4 reviews
"parking area"
in 2 reviews
"marble"
in 12 reviews
"crystal"
in 6 reviews
"trailhead"
in 11 reviews
"vehicle"
in 12 reviews
"pass"
in 25 reviews
"wildflowers"
in 12 reviews
"hike"
in 9 reviews
"subaru"
in 4 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

Last week after a rain storm I took of out Slate River road to Pittsburg. Continued on up uto Paradise divide to two beautiful lakes and a remote campsite.
Views at over 11,000 feet were gorgeous!
Continued on to Schofield pass and Emeral Lake - well worth the 1.5 hour drive. Lot's of off road hikes and photo opportunities!

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank flbush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Came over the 4-wheel drive road from Crested Butte to Marble via Schofield Pass. The road was no joke (heed the warning sings, they mean it) and the river and devils pot holes were fabulous. The power house at Crystal is an awesome piece of Colorado history. A really wonderful day in the back country.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank s9er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

We drove up Gothic Rd until we were stopped by the road closure. We drove past the first closing signs and parked with the shuttles and other cars in the last "parking area" before the washout. This last area requires a 4x4 as it's steep and rocky. You can park 1 mile back and be fine with a "regular" car. From this spot we hiked the rest of the way in to Emerald Lake. It's not a bad hike and crossing the snow drifts in late July was fun. Unfortunately a storm was moving in so the lake wasn't showing it's color and we decided to turn back at this point. We did have nice views and I'm glad we went but the hike on 403 was much better!

Date of experience: July 2017
4  Thank account4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2017

[NOTE: Check with CBMBA before heading off to ride 401 - the magnificent snow has delayed opening things up. Don't ruin a wondrous thing!] Schofield has so much going on that it can't be covered all in one day. Emerald Lake is gorgeous. Riding any section of 401 is worth the effort. RMBL is a hidden gem - be sure to check out the gift shop/bookstore. Deer Creek tees into Gothic Road.

During the month of July please realize that Gothic up to Schofield is busy. Please be respectful of others when it comes to the narrow roads and alternate forms of transportation. Enjoy!

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank rancetshields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Schofield Pass also viewed

 

Been to Schofield Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing