We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing restaurant”
Review of Al Castello

Al Castello
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Ciglie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$28 - US$34
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 26 July 2015

When we (5 people) sat at our table we asked for a menu and we just got a simple A4-paper with things that was hardly readable and no prices. When we asked the owner some explanation, he was not friendly at all and just said "You pay for what you get". We ordered some small dishes to start with but it wasn't good at all. The owner asked if we wanted to order more but we decided to leave and aksed for the bill. He just said: "That's 50 euro". I asked for more details and a bill and then he came up with the message that you have to eat there at least for 10 euro/person even if you didn't get that much. Why didn't he tell us that before?? He won't see us there again!!

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Karla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

We find this restaurant accidentally when traveling in Piedmont and it was super. from outside its looks like old farming house, but inside You find very good meal with random selection of typical Italian food. Very nice host and no problem with service. Truly one of the greatest experience in local Italian restaurant.

Date of visit: September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Abdudu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Having eaten at many restaurants throughout Europe, this has to be the the finest meal I have ever eaten. There is no menu...you just turn up and eat what they offer..antipasti, not salamis, but real Italian antipasti, then exquisite homemade pasta, followed by slow cooked meats, ours was veal or rabbit, both sensational. We just about had room for some amazing homemade desserts and ice cream, washed down with local digestifs....incredibly reasonable prices, brilliant staff, unbeatable location and views...as we left I spotted the local elderly folk watching football near the bar on a telly positioned inside an old fridge! This is how to live..honest food and wonderful people.A privilege to eat in this community, will return without question. Ciao and thanks for wonderful food memories.

Date of visit: August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richcello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: November 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Al Castello also viewed

Clavesana, Province of Cuneo
Niella Tanaro, Province of Cuneo
 
Carru, Province of Cuneo
Dogliani, Province of Cuneo
 
Murazzano, Province of Cuneo
 

Been to Al Castello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing