We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful array of traditional Danish pastries”

Olsen's Danish Village Bakery
Ranked #1 of 11 Dessert in Solvang
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Authentic Danish pastries and breads. Family owned by a Danish family from Denmark that moved to Solvang in 1970 bringing with them the families bakery recipes. These recipes were created by the current owner's Great, Great, Great Grand Father. Have a great day discovering our "Danish Village."
Reviewed 29 June 2018

The hotel we stayed in offered us a voucher for breakfast at Olsen's. The place was certainly busy (always a good sign). We were served promptly being offered a range of pastries which sadly did not include a GF option. I later returned to buy something that I could eat whilst my partner devoured the other two pastries with relish. The coffee was black filtered and we were offered a second cup if we wanted it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DawnHendrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olsensbakery, Public Relations Manager at Olsen's Danish Village Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Thank you for the 4 Star review and your patronage. Yes! we are a traditional Danish bakery. Bent and Susy moved to Solvang in 1970 from Denmark and brought with them the recipes that are still used today. Many of the recipes were created over 4 generations ago in Denmark and to ensure the Danish quality....... Olsen's blends and bakes in small batches by hand using only the best ingredients available to bake an "Authentic Danish" pastry. Do have a GREAT day and travel safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 31 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2018

They sure look delicious in the case. Lots to choose from. We tired a few different pastries. They were good, but I guess I was expecting "more". Not too crowded, so didn't have to wait too long to be served. Was worth trying and would recommend.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank meplusfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olsensbakery, Public Relations Manager at Olsen's Danish Village Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Thank you for the 4 Star review and your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

Great Danish here there is an awful lot of stuff to look at they also had good cookies get a cup of coffee

Thank 333josephd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olsensbakery, Public Relations Manager at Olsen's Danish Village Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Thank you for the 5 Star review and your patronage. Glad you enjoyed the great selection of Danish pastries from Olsen's Danish Village Bakery in the Heart of the "Danish Village" in Solvang. Have a Great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

We stopped in for a late, light breakfast on a Monday morning. This place was pleasantly uncrowded so it attracted our attention right away. It was open and airy, with inside and outside seating. Order at the counter with table delivery service. We each got the Danish breakfast special...$9 for a pastry, hard roll, havarti cheese, OJ, and coffee, tea, or milk. I had an apple Danish and my husband had a bear claw as our pastry choices. The staff were all super friendly. We enjoyed our breakfast so much we stopped back in before leaving to get some cookies for the road.

Thank Kayrenay2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olsensbakery, Public Relations Manager at Olsen's Danish Village Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Thank you for the 4 Star review and your patronage. Glad you enjoyed the Danish Breakfast, the Danish butter cookies are the best to travel with. Do have a good day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018 via mobile

went there for the free breakfast from the hotel which was delicious. ended up buying some delicious pastries for the road. very friendly staff in a great family owned spot.

Thank McMillanAndWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olsensbakery, Public Relations Manager at Olsen's Danish Village Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2018

Thank you for the 5 Star review and your patronage. Glad you enjoyed the Danish Breakfast, pastries and our staff made it a pleasant experience for your family. Do have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olsen's Danish Village Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Olsen's Danish Village Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing