We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast”

Huckleberry Bakery & Cafe
Get food delivered
OR
Get food delivered
Ranked #5 of 61 Quick Bites in Santa Monica
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighbourhood: Santa Monica
Description: Huckleberry is a Santa Monica Farmers’ Market-inspired bakery, café and marketplace that’s a one-stop neighborhood destination for beautiful pastries, artisan coffee, gourmet provisions, a casual breakfast or lunch, and late-afternoon private parties. The pastry case bursts with tempting treats and the savory menu is bright and nourishing, with a hint of nostalgia. We use the best organic, seasonal ingredients we can get our hands on, and cater a variety of celebrations and holidays.
Reviewed 9 May 2015 via mobile

This is all that everybody has said below. I enjoyed the food, but it wasn't cheap. The place is noisy and fast moving, it's not the place for a relaxing breakfast or to read a newspaper or magazine.

The thing that I found very annoying was having ordered my breakfast, it probably took a another 15 minutes of queueing in order to be able to pay for it. This place is not run efficiently or effectively. Clearly they need more people on the cash tills at peak hours which from what I can see may well be most of the time. This place is very popular and justifiably so as the quality of the food and its presentation is to die for. Sort out the way in which people pay for their food and you will probably increase your revenues by about another 30 or 40%

Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 182 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2015 via mobile

We stopped for breakfast before heading out on the Pacific Coast Highway and it was a great way to start the day.

There's complimentary parking in the back, which is great, and the inside has that classic American deli feel - with blackboards for each of the different menus.

It was a little too early for us to eat cake - although they all looked amazing - so we stuck with the house granola and fresh fruit, it was amazing.

One word of warning, due to a combination of jet lag and surprising fluid LA traffic, we arrived just in time for opening - we were lucky - by 08:15 the cafe was full!

Go early, go hungry!

Thank TheMcGonigals
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 April 2015

We had Sunday breakfast last weekend at Huckleberry...our new favorite place when we visit Santa Monica! The line was fairly long and the seating was limited but as we approached the checkout we were escorted by a charming and friendly server who found a table for us.
Healthy, organic, unique and delicious homemade pastries, salads, sandwiches, and desserts and espresso. The quiche with roasted shallots (I think) & gruyere was heavenly. The quinoa with a fried egg and seasonable vegetables was excellent. My daughter and I returned for a second visit a few days later and were equally impressed. I bought the cookbook and have been dying to dive in and try the recipes.

Date of visit: April 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mctraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 April 2015

We had breakfast last weekend in Santa Monica. We arrived mid-morning to a line of about 12 people. That wasn't terrible as we had time to look at all the menu items, specials and pastries. Before we ordered a waiter checked to see how large our party was and then left. When we had ordered he took us to a table that he had cleaned off for us. From when we arrived until we left there was no available seating, but after a party ordered and paid the wait staff had a table for them.
The food was at the highest level. Pastries and breakfast items were well prepared with the finest ingredients. I had the breakfast burrito with bacon. Sounds normal enough, but it was a heavenly experience. The bacon had a wonderfully sweet and smoky flavor and the eggs were not just filler, they had an exceptional flavor. At our table the others had Green Eggs & Ham, Huevos Rancheros and Poached Eggs over Farmers Market Vegetables with Pesto! Everything was perfect.
We also bought a box of cookies, brownies and pastries. It was gone before the sun was! Great place.

Date of visit: April 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank tshubert
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 April 2015

Food was excellent & healthy. We had fried egg sandwiches which were served on home baked bread topped with arugula & fresh bacon. Fresh squeezed OJ was really good. This place is pricey (like most places around here, though). $55 for 3 for breakfast. The annoying thing about this restaurant & others like it is the assumption of a tip for self service at the counter. Don't like that trend. I don't feel counter help deserves the same tip I give a traditional waiter.

Date of visit: April 2015
Thank DCgogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Huckleberry Bakery & Cafe also viewed

 
Santa Monica, CA
Santa Monica, CA
 

Been to Huckleberry Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.