We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,836)
Filter reviews
1,836 results
Traveller rating
820
595
242
105
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
820
595
242
105
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rock shower copper cafe themed rooms over the top caveman room rock walls gold rush steakhouse different theme pink champagne cake kona rock sky room men's restroom heated toilet seat love nest bucket list one of a kind dance floor
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 1,836 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2018

I have driven by the Madonna Inn for years and finally had a reason to stay at the hotel...a wedding. The room I chose was the French inspired Vous room. It's the blue room with a round bed. I have to admit, I had a few reservations about staying here. I thought the inn would be run down, old and weird. Although it is old (in a historic way), I have to say it's well kept.

Our room was located on the 3rd floor. It was large and the bathroom was a nice size too. There were a few minor things that looked a little worn out, but overall is was fine. Room had AC and an automated bidet! On a side note, you can hear the conversations of other guests walk by or staying next door, or perhaps the guests next to us were just loud.

My friends had the Caveman room. Everything was stone and upon entering felt a bit dark and humid. There was a water feature in their room which probably made it have that "wet" feeling. The entire bathroom, except for the toilet, was stone. There was even a stone urinal with a sensor that triggered the water to run.

The inn on the outside is white, but inside the hotel there is color everywhere. Lots of it and a lot going on. The main steakhouse restaurant is pink, very pink. Loved the glass water goblets.

If you like quirky then you may like staying here. It's like sleeping in some kind of fairy tale dream. Odd, fun, colorful and slightly creepy.

Room Tip: Pick a room based on the description and what theme you think you would like
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TravelGirlAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

For my granddaughters 7th birthday we stayed local at the Madonna Inn. We love the pool. The whole family spent 2 days swimming and eating and drinking at the pool.
We had dinner and breakfast in the Copper Cafe and it was great. Our waitress for dinner handled 5 children under the age of 9 like it was nothing. Ali was amazing. She made dinner so relaxing because she was relaxed. The food is good and the desserts are crazy good.
We are already talking about making this a tradition. Fun rooms, good food, drinks at the pool, spa, amazing pool. Really fun.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Y9120EEdebbieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

We loved the place. I waited a looooong time to go there and so happy I finally got to stay at this amazing place. Loved everything about it. We really liked our room, the decor was awesome. The pool is beautiful....we will go back soon!

Stayed: July 2018
1  Thank 476paisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

This place is great fun and a lot of effort has clearly gone into making this a unique and enjoyable experience. Hence the 4 stars.

The themed rooms are fun but a little dated (beyond the theme). Room was comfortable but could have done with a fridge and the light outside the window was TOO bright.

The staff are lovely. The pool area was really great, especially for kids.

Location is not great if you like to be within walking distance of the local town (have to cross quite a busy highway intersection) but only a short drive into town.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank PaulnTonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

We were really looking forward to our stay at the Madonna Inn after it was recommended by friends. We booked it over 6 months ago and were v pleased to have managed to get what seemed like one of the last available rooms, despite being over budget for us. We drove 7 hours up from San Diego and arrived just after 6pm, very much looking forward to the Madonna Inn experience. The kids were excited & had looked up the room we were due to be in & what we could all do when we arrived. When we tried to check in, we were told that our room had been ruined by the previous nights guests and was now unrentable, and therefore there was no room for us at all as they were fully booked. Although they apologised and were pleasant enough, they didn’t try to help us to find anything else at this v late stage, as we were told we had booked through a third party and not directly through them. As a consequence, we were left in the reception area, a family of 5 with 3 smallish children, without accommodation in an unfamiliar town to find an alternative place to stay at the last minute. A very unclassy way to treat someone and a poor show. I would not book here again after this experience.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank Venture247536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews