We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveller rating
85
80
23
15
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
80
23
15
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews perfect location to enjoy long staircase municipal lot delightful place to stay b and b room downstairs cookies market night jacuzzi tub the ground floor farmers market first floor no elevator breakfast was delicious first morning boutique hotel queen bed
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 218 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Garden Street Inn. We were there on a Thursday and the Inn is a block away from SLO’s fabulous Farmer’s Market. The staff was extremely helpful and welcoming. The Inn itself is a beautiful building and it was interesting to learn about its history. Breakfast was delicious. We will definitely return the next time we are in SLO as the location and the service were just what we were looking for.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden Street I... R, General Manager at Garden Street Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2018

We are so happy you chose to stay with us, and that you got to enjoy beautiful San Luis Obispo! It is so nice to be right Downtown with access to all SLO has to offer. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and we can't wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

Looking at the photo of Garden Street Inn makes one think it could be situated out in the country! It is 1/2 block form one of the main streets of SLO. We love to be able to park our car and just walk everywhere so this location is fabulous!! We were traveling back home down 101 and had booked this the previous day, so I felt fortunate to get a room. Our room was on the ground floor and I expected it to be a bit noisy but it wasn't at all! It was a very lovely large room..bedroom living area combo with a great modern bathroom. the bed was very comfortable and breakfast the next morning was delicious!! The cook made a veggie filled scrambled egg! The young man who checked us in was friendly and helpful. We would definitely recommend this Inn and would love to come back and stay there again! The night we were there happened to be Market night in SLO...which also happened to be less thna a block away. It was really fun to be there.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jotoes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden Street I... R, General Manager at Garden Street Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! Traveling down the 101 is a beautiful trip. We feel so lucky to be in such a beautiful, cozy spot in Downtown SLO with easy access to shops, restaurants, and adventures (like Farmer's Market!). We completely agree, the serene atmosphere and spacious rooms do make it feel like a home out in the countryside. It is always such a joy to meet and serve our wonderful guests, and we would be thrilled to have you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018

We had a small suite on the first floor, a perfect home base for exploring SLO. The inn is clean and comfortable and people, both staff and visitors, are friendly. A wonderful breakfast is provided, as are fresh cookies in the afternoon.

Stayed: July 2018
1  Thank sarajV692WK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden Street I... R, General Manager at Garden Street Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Thank you for staying at the Garden Street Inn and for taking the time to tell us about your stay! It was a pleasure to have you. We agree, it is a wonderful "home base" for spending time in beautiful SLO. Our chef enjoys cooking and baking for our delightful guests. We would be thrilled to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018

We stayed just one night, came in late and left early after an excellent breakfast. This property has small rooms that were very clean. Bathrooms are newly remodeled. LOVED being able to walk to downtown. Much nicer than staying at a chain motel on the freeway. Great staff.

Stayed: June 2018
1  Thank LaurieandBrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018 via mobile

Highly recommend, new ownership has made great improvements and the breakfast is as good as the last few times I’ve stayed here.

Located in the heart of downtown San Luis Obispo near shops and restaurants. Great staff and housekeeping.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
4  Thank DieTrying04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews