We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Mudey
United States

Kindness and compassion

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Mar 2024
Stephanie was awesome and got me a coffee even though the breakfast was closed and such a kindness is needed in our Hilton world of love and kindness. Thank you Stephanie. We also got additional water in the room which we did not expected and we are grateful for that.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Exterior
HK$1,187
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Hotels.com
    HK$1,187
  • Booking.com
    HK$1,187
  • Agoda.com
    HK$1,187
0.5 km from Hilton Los Angeles / San Gabriel
Free Wifi
Pool
HK$611
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    HK$773
  • Agoda.com
    HK$480
  • Trip.com
    HK$773
3.2 km from Hilton Los Angeles / San Gabriel
Free Wifi
Free parking
hotel
HK$705
HK$601
  • Hotels.com
    HK$705
  • Agoda.com
    HK$601
  • Expedia
    HK$705
1.3 km from Hilton Los Angeles / San Gabriel
Free Wifi
HK$664
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    HK$664
3.1 km from Hilton Los Angeles / San Gabriel
Free Wifi
Pool
HK$856
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Agoda.com
    HK$856
  • Trip.com
    HK$857
  • Expedia
    HK$856
2.9 km from Hilton Los Angeles / San Gabriel
Free Wifi
Free parking
HK$1,095
  • Hotels.com
    HK$1,095
  • Vio.com
    HK$1,082
  • Agoda.com
    HK$1,095
0.0 km from Hilton Los Angeles / San Gabriel
Pool
Restaurant
HK$687
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    HK$625
  • Agoda.com
    HK$687
  • Vio.com
    HK$625
2.0 km from Hilton Los Angeles / San Gabriel
Free Wifi
Free parking
SPACIOUS room with king size bed
HK$781
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    HK$781
  • Vio.com
    HK$781
2.0 km from Hilton Los Angeles / San Gabriel
Free Wifi
Free parking
HK$937
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    HK$937
  • Agoda.com
    HK$937
  • Trip.com
    HK$937
1.3 km from Hilton Los Angeles / San Gabriel
Free Wifi
Free parking
HK$836
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    HK$836
2.2 km from Hilton Los Angeles / San Gabriel
Free Wifi
View more hotels in San Gabriel
Reviews (1,023)
Filter reviews
1,023 results
Traveller rating
584
256
100
45
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
584
256
100
45
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews asian community front desk monterey park self parking diamond member convenient location complimentary breakfast upon check per day housekeeping
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,023 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2024

We stayed in room 547. The room was quiet. Staff were friendly and helpful. Parking is $10/night. I was debating between staying at this hotel versus Sheraton. Hilton was cheaper. There were several stains on the wall, the light switch was dirty, and there was bio-growth in the shower. Towels and sheets were clean. I think next time I’d splurge for somewhere a little cleaner. I expected more from a Hilton.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stacy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 January 2024 via mobile

TBH I was not sure whether to go for this hotel or opt for an Airbnb since it was going to be a long 17-night stay.
And after a week here, I’m so glad I picked up Hilton San Gabriel.
Though the property is bit old, having some spots that require maintenance, the rooms are spacious, beds comfortable, kept clean, temperature controlled (especially during the cold nights) and has decent food options.
The workout area is but small but takes care of your basic daily regime.
The best part is the staff… very friendly, ready to help and approachable.
I had to call for few stuff (being a long stay) and they were quick to send it to the room.
Breakfast and meals have become quite convenient with Paul’s friendly conversations and a few more people from Trinity.
10 more days to go and I’m sure it’s going to be one of the most comfortable long-stay trip, thanks to the people here.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank v_p_says
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Juan Navarro-Sigala, Guest Services / Front Office at Hilton Los Angeles / San Gabriel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2024

Dear Vishal,
Thank you very much for the kind words and positive review. We love hearing that you are enjoying your stay with us, we are constantly striving to exceed the expectations of our guests and your survey reflects that. We thank you for choosing Hilton San Gabriel as we do know there are many hotels to choose from in the area. If there is anything we can do for you to have a memorable stay experience, please let us know, we are happy to assist!
-Hilton San Gabriel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2024 via mobile

While the beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean, i would not stay here again. I didn’t care for the area. The service at the bar and restaurant was exceedingly slow, and the menu limited. Hotel very dated in appearance. Glad I used points to stay rather than points.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ajcompass17
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Juan Navarro-Sigala, Guest Services / Front Office at Hilton Los Angeles / San Gabriel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2024

Good afternoon ajcompass17,

Thank you for taking to time to share your experience during your recent stay at our hotel. Please accept my apologies as you mentioned that you've experienced some issues with the level of service provided to you at our Restaurant/Bar. We encourage you to contact us directly to discuss your stay in further detail. We appreciate the feedback as it gives us an opportunity to continually improve our services to all of our valued guests. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2023

Booked to stay at the Hilton San Gabriel in November whilst passing through from Australia to the east coast. Due to an early flight arrival, no wait in getting a hire car, and very little traffic on a Sunday morning, I arrived at the hotel earlier than had been planned. Sadly there were no rooms available due to the hotel being booked up the previous evening, even for a paid early check in, so I did have to wait a few hours before checking in. However I made the most of it and walked around the area, had a coffee and some lunch, and returned to the lobby where the friendly team advised to come up at an allocated time to see if a room had become available. A room was allocated at the time in question, and was located on the western side of the building looking over San Gabriel/Alhambra. I was given a Honors bag at check in with some water and snack mix, and there were bottles of water in the room as well. The room and hotel are well kept, the room was clean and was comfortable for my three night stay. Albeit some of the decor and fittings are a little older, especially the ones in the bathroom, everything worked fine. Room service was used on the first night, the meal was good and the price was about right for room service. A service charge was clearly stated on the bill, was in plain sight and wasn't hidden, which is good. The reason for choosing this hotel was to keep my hotels all with Hilton for the trip (for Honors benefits), it is well rated with a cheap parking option, and is located in a more suburban area away from the hustle and bustle of busier tourist areas.

Hotel Facilities: There are dining options onsite, but I only used the room service option on the night I arrived. A shop where you can buy drinks and snacks is available onsite. Parking was affordable at $10 per night. Parking can be found at ground level, whilst there is more parking downstairs underneath the hotel where I found plenty of spaces. It should be noted that there are electric vehicle charging stations in the underground carpark as well, but I am unsure of the charges for this service as I did not need to use them. There is a pool available to guests, but I did not use it on this stay.

Airport Transport: No airport transfers at this hotel as it is found in suburban LA. However driving to and from takes about 40-60mins from LAX depending on traffic.

Public Transport: Easy access to metro buses can be found out the front and opposite the hotel. Some services link up to the El Monte Busway at the I-10 a few blocks from the hotel.

Around the area: There are many restaurants surrounding the hotel. Fast food can be found within walking distance from the hotel, as well as chain coffee stores, pharmacies and a supermarket. Gas/Petrol stations can be found close by as well, and being close to an interstate there is good access when driving for sightseeing in LA and beyond.

In summary, a nice hotel with a great team who were very friendly and accommodating. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the hotel has decent facilities. The location is good with restaurants close by and fast food options a short walk/drive away. Public transport is available, but driving is recommended especially if you are touring around beyond the major tourist sites.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kommissartodd06
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 November 2023 via mobile

Nice, clean hotel. Beds and pillows were comfortable but my room was very noisy from mechanical equipment on the roof so I did not get much rest here. Parking was easy but does cost $10/night. Breakfast was very overpriced and honestly not that good so I only bought that one morning. Overall good stay but probably should have requested another room.

Room tip: No free parking, only Chinese restaurants within walking distance
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank 541dennisb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tom Kubo, General Manager at Hilton Los Angeles / San Gabriel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2023

Dear 541dennisb,

Thank you for taking to time to share your experience during your recent stay. We apologize that we did not quite meet your expectations, if you would like to contact us directly to discuss in further detail, please call the hotel and ask for the manager on duty. We appreciate the feedback as it gives us an opportunity to continually improve our services to all of our valued guests. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance to you. Thank you for choosing Hilton San Gabriel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews