We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
sleepeatplay
Mission Viejo, California

In the heart of Pasadena...Close enough but far enough from eateries and shops

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Mar 2023
This hotel is in a great location at Pasadena, CA. We love how we were close enough to eateries and shops, but far enough to be away from all the hustle and bustle. From the valet to check-in agent, they were all very polite and welcoming. The lobby was clean and so were hallways and rooms.

In the lobby area is a restaurant as well as a coffee counter where you can order coffee and tea, and other breakfast items. We did not have a meal there at other times but did order their breakfast burrito a couple of times. It's a generous portion served with a mini fruit cup and guacamole. If you're crunched for time, you can also dial down to the restaurant to place your order for pick up.

There are tables and chairs in the lobby and restaurant that can be used throughout the day.

The hotel is shaped like a "U" and there is an elevator at each end of the "U". There is a multi-store parking structure connected to the hotel. Entry to the hotel from the parking structure requires a valid key card.

Tip: If your room is on the 4th floor, we recommend that you park on the 4th floor so it's easier to get to your room.

Tip: Ask for a room that isn't on the opposite end of the "U" if you prefer a closer walk from the parking garage to your room.

You can either valet or self-park at this hotel. Not sure of valet rates but self-parking rate is $22/day.

Rooms are quite spacious. They seem a little more spacious than a regular room. The room that we were in had two refrigerators, one microwave and a coffee maker (no coffee provided). There was also a desk and office chair, as well as a separate arm chair with ottoman.

The reasons we are docking a few points from our stay are because:

1) The key entry on the 5th floor seem to be out of order during most of our 3 nights stay.

2) The lights in the room were really dim and the bedside shade was a little worn. Would have loved if a brighter bulb could be used.

3) Our keys had to be re-keyed three times throughout our stay.

4) The AC Unit in the room was really loud - even when on the lowest setting.

5) The walls were thin. We could hear our neighbor's tv - literally hear the sound and words projected from the tv.

We were there for a swim competition that weekend and we appreciated that the hotel left out some snacks, water and applesauce for the swimmers. That was a very nice touch!

Wish list: Would love for the hotel to put out some iced water, hot water, tea assortment and coffee in the lobby for guests!
Date of stay: March 2023
Room Tip: 1) Park on the same level as your room for easier access. 2) Ask for a room with a shorter walk...
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephen Blaine, General Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena / Old Town, responded to this review
Responded 25 Apr 2023
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience. We apologize for the challenges that were experienced and we will share this feedback with our team to find solutions to the lighting and key cards. Also, we will be undergoing a full hotel renovation in June that will resolve these issues permanently along with the AC settings. We hope you'll come back and see us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia
  • Agoda.com
0.9 km from Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena / Old Town
Free Wifi
Pool
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia
  • Agoda.com
1.1 km from Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena / Old Town
Pool
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia
  • Agoda.com
0.9 km from Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena / Old Town
Free Wifi
Pool
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Booking.com
  • Langham Official
  • Expedia
3.4 km from Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena / Old Town
Free Wifi
Pool
Elevators at the DusitD2 Hotel Constance Pasadena
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia
  • Agoda.com
1.8 km from Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena / Old Town
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Pasadena Exteriors
HK$1,468
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia
0.8 km from Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena / Old Town
Pool
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia
  • Agoda.com
2.3 km from Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena / Old Town
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia
  • Agoda.com
6.8 km from Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena / Old Town
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia
  • Agoda.com
6.8 km from Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena / Old Town
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
3.1 km from Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena / Old Town
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Pasadena
Reviews (1,049)
Filter reviews
1,049 results
Traveller rating
385
422
152
59
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
385
422
152
59
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rose bowl parking garage sink area self park restaurants and shopping front desk staff one night stay street noise love this hotel the room was nice bistro marriott lobby valet starbucks renovation microwave
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 1,049 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2023 via mobile

The location was perfect and the staff, from front desk to cleaning team, was very welcoming and accommodating. Sadly, the rooms were disappointing. While the bed and pillows were comfortable, the room and furnishings are in desperate need of a deep cleaning. If you have allergies be warned, I could literally smell the dust in the room. Glad I travel with Lysol spray and Clorox wipes and was able to make it work for just a view nights.

Room tip: Bring your own disinfectant supplies; you’ll need those.
Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 620brankan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephen Blaine, General Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena / Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2023

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing this experience. We deeply apologize for the guest room experience and will have your room reviewed by our team at once and provided the necessary attention and resources to be brought into proper Marriott standard. Thank you again and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2023

They really know how to stick it to you on rose bowl weekend. This is your typical $150-200 a night Marriott. After the exhorbant $100 a night tax we ended up over $800.00 a night. Food was average and expensive, elevators are old and in odd places.. The only good was proximity to the game, About 1.5 miles. But still an Uber ride away. However the service was outstanding from the front desk. Better choices for your $$$$.

Date of stay: January 2023
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cannonater
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephen Blaine, General Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena / Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2023

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience. We will do our best to find ways to bring more value during this type of special event and hopefully welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2022

Stated one short night for a game at the Rose Bowl. Hotel is in a great location, walking distance to everything in Pasadena yet right off the highway. Rooms were clean and comfortable. AC worked great. Good garage parking. I'd stay again!

Room tip: 6th floor is top
Date of stay: November 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lucycan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephen Blaine, General Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena / Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2022

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon. Happy Holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2022 via mobile

The room smells like a sewer. No joke, it’s reeks like a port-a-potty. The hotel is not full so I’m not sure why they put me on the highest floor and a very long walk from elevator. Really needs an update. There is no lotion in the room. Front office staff was very friendly. I would not return.

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank dreatica
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephen Blaine, General Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena / Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2022

Thank you for staying with us and we apologize for the smell and experience in your guest room. We will review this room and ensure its properly serviced and brought back to proper standard. Thank you again and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2022 via mobile

Our room was dated and could certainly use some updates. First the good...hotel staff are friendly and helpful. The bad about our room: 1) the bed has no headboard, first hotel in years where this has been true, 2) the AC was an older wall unit that never shut off, it was always blowing even when not cooling. Also no true thermostat. They also had a tall piece of furniture right in front of it blocking some air flow. 3) the desk area did not have accessible plugs or USB ports. Makes it hard to do work. I got a good rate, but still feel like it would have been a better buy if there's items were addressed.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank OrlandoSGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephen Blaine, General Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena / Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2022

Thank you for sharing the good and the areas for improvement. We appreciate the feedback and take into account future upgrade plans. Thanks again so much for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews