We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Anniversary celebration.

Sorel had the schedule booked, lunch planned, and knew a lot about the wine industry. We enjoyed... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
963karissab
via mobile
Sonoma Art and Wine tour

We had a great time on our art and wine tour of Sonoma with Sorel. We originally booked a date and... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
jodyt597
Read all 86 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Napa
from US$129.69
More Info
from US$59.00
More Info
from US$310.12
More Info
from US$107.89
More Info
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
84
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
84
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jack london state park strenuous hike beautiful hike adventure tour beer tour napa valley knowledgeable guide small production an amazing experience few hours wonderful tour our honeymoon hiking trail redwoods sugarloaf palace
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2021

This was an amazing experience for me and my husband The intimate, private hike and wine tour was just amazing. We enjoyed all the details that went into the planning of the perfect day in Calistoga. We throughly enjoy ourself. Sorel was professional, knowledgeable, friendly and detailed oriented. Highly recommend! Well worth it.

Date of experience: March 2021
Thank obiejenrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sorel K, Owner at Active Wine Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2021

Thank you for taking a tour and for your review! We're happy that you enjoyed it so much - it was fun guiding you on hidden mountainside trail and to a secluded winery. For those looking for a premier guided hike and exclusive wine tasting experience, our Napa Elevated Hike & Wine Tours are the way to go!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2021

We had originally planned to do one of the hikes on St. Helena with Active Wine Adventures but we had to scrap it last minute due to weather. Fortunately, Sorel was quick on his feet and provided an alternative wine tasting itinerary that we enjoyed very much. Sorel took us to 3, small production, family owned wineries that were all fantastic.

Date of experience: March 2021
Thank edwcossette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sorel K, Owner at Active Wine Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2021

Thank you for the review, Edward! It was a pleasure hosting you on a private Napa Custom Wine Tour. Since we offer a variety of private excursions, we can offer fun, memorable wine adventures, with or without a guided hike!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2020

Sorel alway matches us to the perfect hike, lunch and tasting!!! GREAT day today!!! We have hiked a few times with Sorel and will do so every trip to Napa Valley!!!

Date of experience: November 2020
Thank johnlarimeratl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sorel K, Owner at Active Wine Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2020

Thank you, John! It's always a pleasure hosting you and your family on a private Elevated Hike & Wine Tour!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2020 via mobile

Our group of 4 had a wonderful guided hike through Jack London State Park. Sorel, the guide was very friendly and knowledgeable about the park, the history, the nature around the park. Sorel has many years of experience in hiking through the areas himself and has used that experience to brighten his guests’ hike. The hike my group selected was to Jack London’s Beauty Ranch and then through the park to an ancient coastal redwood. The only thing more impressive than Sorel’s hospitality was the awesome magnitude of the ancient redwood. On that particular hike, we saw the ranch itself (closed at the time due to COVID), where you can see how Jack London might have written some of his works, the “pig palace” (Sorel will explain), the old winery and some of Jack London’s money making ventures that met with varying levels of success. This was an excellent and very fun and enjoyable way to spend a morning in the wine country. After working up an appetite, Sorel took us to a local gastropub (Palooza) which was quite good. Our friends got the poke nachos that stole the show. All-in-all a great trip, and a great getaway from the city or extension to a wine-country tour.

Special note: social distancing was closely observed, masks on, vehicle prepared with barriers and hand sanitizer before/after vehicle use. Likely due to the pandemic, there was no one else on the trail, so for us, it was a totally private tour!

Date of experience: September 2020
Thank scottstrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sorel K, Owner at Active Wine Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2020

Scott, thank you for the review! It was a pleasure hosting your group on a private Sonoma Hike & Wine Tour #2! We're glad you all had a great time on this unique "hike, wine and history" tour in Sonoma Valley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2020

We enjoyed our Sonoma hike and wine #2 through Jack London state park with Sorel, our guide. He did a great job of providing historical information along the way and also pointed out the different types of trees, plants, etc. He took photos of our group along the way, which was very appreciated. Highly recommend!!!!

Date of experience: September 2020
Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sorel K, Owner at Active Wine Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2020

Thank you for the review, Megan! Glad you enjoyed your private Sonoma Hike & Wine Tour - hope to see you all again for another Active Wine Adventure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews