We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our dining experience ”

Windows on the Water
Ranked #4 of 97 Restaurants in Morro Bay
Price range: HK$125 - HK$235
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View details, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Located on the water in the Morro Bay, Windows on the Water celebrates the finest the Central Coast of California has to offer. Fresh, local and sustainable ingredients, an extensive wine and beer list of local and international labels, the best in local musicians each Monday, Thursday and Saturday night, and arguably the most dramatic view on the coast. Join us in the bar for a drink and bar specials and dinner nightly from our menu created by our award-winning executive chef, Neil Smith.
Reviewed 1 August 2023

Very old restaurant that needs updating. We did get a lovely table that overlooked Morro Rock which was nice. Prices are very high for this restaurant. I got the small pizza which was good but nothing special. My friend got the risotto that tasted like it was made from broth with no added cream or cheese. It had no flavor. Very disappointing. We did enjoy the caprese salad. It was very small and was 16/17 dollars I believe. Very expensive for the portion. But it was by far the best thing we tasted. We we’re celebrating our 60th birthdays and let the restaurant know that. We were wished happy birthday’s and although we did not want a dessert, we were not offered one as most restaurants do for special occasions. Again another disappointment. We each had a drink and walked out of there with tip around $130 bucks. Definitely not worth what we paid.

Date of visit: July 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (589)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 589 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2023 via mobile

We have visited this restaurant multiple times before the pandemic but this was our first time back since. We went with another couple who had also been there before. We had reservations and were shown to a nice table. The ambiance is very nice for sure. We were shocked at the prices on the menu! Everything was a La carte and main entrees were $45 and up. I ordered sea scallops and there were 3 scallops for $50! Nothing else comes with it, no vegetable, rice, potato…nothing. And they were just “ok” nothing special, the sauce was overpowering. 2 people at our table had the halibut and they felt it was over cooked ($45 each for a small piece). We had 4 entrees total, 4 drinks (2 glasses wine, 1 margarita that my husband said was lousy and it was $17), 3 deserts, and an order of bread …bread is extra. Our bill for 4 people was $425! We enjoy good food and are willing to pay for it but this wasn’t that great for this price.

Date of visit: July 2023
2  Thank Donjia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 April 2023 via mobile

We visited Widows on the Water for dinner earlier this week. We had a great evening, the view, the service and our meals were excellent. Our server, Paxton was friendly and attentive, we were not in a hurry so we enjoyed our cocktails and the view, Paxton kept an eye on us for any needs that we had. I had halibut, one of my favorites, and it was the best I’ve had in a long time. Another one of us enjoyed Sand Dabs, very good and nice presentation. We had a very good experience and we won’t wait so long to return.

Date of visit: April 2023
Thank 941carsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 April 2023 via mobile

Great view of the Rock. Stopped in from our walk from our bed and breakfast. Really good service and food. Loved the view for sure. The clam chowder is the best. So not traditional. Perfectly homemade

Date of visit: April 2023
Thank Barbara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 February 2023

ambiance, ocean view some of the best food we have ever eaten - and we are foodies!
professional staff- friendly
we celebrated a birthday - a window table for the sunset-
my husband had the just out of the sea oysters , fresh HALIBUT( he said the best he has ever had!)
i had the Caesar salad and the succulent pork chop with Kale
do save room for desert- we had fresh sorbet and an amazing butterscotch creme brulee topped with fresh berries
this restaurant is right on the main road in Morro Bay CA- walking along the street is highly recommended
we were there o a Tues nite- we heard they have music on the weekend

Date of visit: February 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Adventure681565
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Windows on the Water also viewed

Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Windows on the Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.