We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
galaxygirl10
Scotland, United Kingdom

Traditional hotel in downtown LA

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 May 2024via mobile
Stayed here for 3 nights prior to a cruise. We had a pleasant stay, warm welcome at reception, and a nice, big bedroom. The hotel is grand in a very traditional way and I really liked the decor. We had a good meal both nights in the bar restaurant where the service was good. However we didn’t rate the breakfast buffet and thought it was poor value for money. There is an adjacent cafe where you can purchase coffee and a pastry and we were served here by a really lovely elderly man. The hotel is well placed for shops and amenities in downtown LA, and sort of central for getting an Uber to the different areas in LA.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Agency / Consultant at The Biltmore Los Angeles, responded to this review
Responded 7 May 2024
Galaxygirl10, it's wonderful to hear you had a enjoyable stay at Biltmore Los Angeles with our welcoming reception and spacious rooms. We're glad you appreciated our traditional elegance and convenient location. It's also pleasing to know that your dining experience at the bar was satisfactory. However, we're sorry to hear that you found the breakfast buffet was not to your liking. We appreciate your feedback, and will take it into consideration as we continually strive to enhance our offerings. We're also glad our cafe provided you with a pleasant alternative. Your kind words about our colleague there are greatly appreciated and will be passed along. Thank you for choosing us, and we hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Corner Double Queen City View
HK$1,554
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia
  • Booking.com
1.6 km from The Biltmore Los Angeles
Free Wifi
Restaurant
HK$2,336
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia
13.8 km from The Biltmore Los Angeles
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
HK$1,398
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
0.4 km from The Biltmore Los Angeles
Free Wifi
Pool
HK$1,554
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia
16.9 km from The Biltmore Los Angeles
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
HK$726
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia
  • Booking.com
16.6 km from The Biltmore Los Angeles
Free Wifi
Pool
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Expedia
  • Vio.com
    HK$997
  • Booking.com
8.7 km from The Biltmore Los Angeles
Free Wifi
Pool
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Booking.com
  • HIExpress.com
    HK$1,906
  • Expedia
9.9 km from The Biltmore Los Angeles
Free Wifi
Pool
Lobby
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Sheraton.com
    HK$1,055
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia
17.0 km from The Biltmore Los Angeles
Pool
Restaurant
The Double Room at the Holiday Lodge
Earn rewards for every stay
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    HK$644
  • Booking.com
1.7 km from The Biltmore Los Angeles
Free Wifi
Free parking
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    HK$2,350
  • Agoda.com
21.3 km from The Biltmore Los Angeles
Free Wifi
Beachfront
View more hotels in Los Angeles
Reviews (1,693)
Filter reviews
1,693 results
Traveller rating
787
392
218
130
166
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
787
392
218
130
166
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pershing square gallery bar rendezvous court beautiful hotel downtown la hollywood glamour club room public spaces beautiful lobby grand central market homeless people metro station academy dtla valet doorman conference
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 1,693 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2024

Gorgeous hotel with so much glamorous history. Definitely check out the photos that adorn the walls throughout the hotel. Rooms are huge and beds super comfy. Staff are exceptional.
Definitely recommend their Afternoon Tea on Saturdays. Food and service are spectacular in a gorgeous space. So dreamy. A must!!

Room tip: Near to MOCA LA and The Broad as well as so many other museums and fun spaces.
Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Agency / Consultant at The Biltmore Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2024

V465BVvaleriec, the Biltmore Los Angeles team is thrilled to read your wonderful comments. We're pleased that our spacious rooms, comfortable beds, and the classic charm of our hotel's history made your stay enjoyable. We're also delighted that our renowned Afternoon Tea has become a highlight in your experience. Your compliments on our team members and their exceptional service mean a lot to us. Recommending us is the best compliment we could receive. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2024

Our second stay and both times we had a very unpleasant interaction at the front desk was very disappointing…again.
It’s such a shame that they do not maintain the basic elements of the building, torn and buckled carpets in the hallways which we (and other guests) tripped on/over.
The staff at the restaurant are some welcoming and kind but no one thought to put the warmers on the food (it’s a buffet) so our breakfast had been sitting out for 2+ hours before we attempted to eat it. Both not very tasty but a good health risk!
This is our last stay. We tried…

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Agency / Consultant at The Biltmore Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2024

It's unfortunate to hear your latest experience didn't meet your expectations. We recognize that interactions at the front desk and overall maintenance are critical aspects of a satisfying stay. We also understand that a tasteful meal can set the right mood. We'll certainly relay this feedback to our team members and reassess crucial aspects to improve our overall guest experience. We regret to hear this will be your last stay, but thank you for sharing your experience, as it assists us in enhancing our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2024

Charming historical hotel with a friendly staff. The bar and restaurant were elegant. Walking distance to many good food restaurants. The old pictures add a romantic feel. The rates were surprisingly low. The room was comfortable and clean.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Agency / Consultant at The Biltmore Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2024

mattmF7226UT, thank you for sharing your experience at Biltmore Los Angeles. We're pleased you enjoyed the historical charm and our close proximity to delightful eateries. It's wonderful to hear you felt the rates were beneficial and that you found your room to be clean and accommodating. We also appreciate you pointing out the elegance of our bar and restaurant, as well as the atmosphere our vintage photos offer. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2024

The hotel was absolutely stunning, the beautiful hallways and lobbies were definitely old hollywood with filmstars photographs lining the walls. The staff were kind and friendly, the rooms were huge and the bed was so comfy, the large bathroom had little toiletries replaced dairy. You need a taxi to get into Los Angeles but consider the difference in price of a central hotel and it was worth it. There are plenty of eateries nearby, I recommend the Irish bar locally, but the hotel also has a food bar as well. Highly recommend this as a short stay or pre cruise stay as in our case. Gorgeous.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Livvylexie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Agency / Consultant at The Biltmore Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2024

Livvylexie, it's delightful to hear that you had a positive experience at Biltmore Los Angeles and found the ambiance reminiscent of classic Hollywood. We're thrilled you appreciated our team members' friendliness, the spaciousness of your room, and the comfort of the bed. Ensuring toiletries are replenished daily is but one small measure we believe contributes towards a satisfactory stay. It's true, Los Angeles offers a variety of dining options, including an Irish bar nearby that you enjoyed. We're grateful for your high recommendation and hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again, be it for a brief stopover or a more extended stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2024

The rooms were clean and the staff members were very nice. It's an older hotel with a beautiful lobby. The hallways are lined with photos of all of the movie scenes that were filmed there. I saw in another review to make sure that the window locks and made sure to check it because we were traveling with a toddler. Sure enough the window opens easily and directly to the outside. There is no screen or barrier, so just make sure you check it.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Agency / Consultant at The Biltmore Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2024

341KellyW, it's wonderful to know you found the Biltmore Los Angeles to be immaculate and our team members to be amiable. We're happy you appreciated the historic charm of our lobby and the Hollywood history within our corridors. Regarding your feedback on the windows, we prioritize safety and appreciate you bringing this point to light. Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews