We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Will G

The New Wedding Venue is nothing short of epic.

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Feb 2020
This is my new favorite venue to DJ weddings. If youre in the hunt for a wedding DJ, look me up at DJWillGill.Com. As far as the hotel, the lobby is cool, but the upstairs at their new wedding venue is a whole other world! The first wedding of 2020 I DJ'd was here. Coincidentally, it was also The Mayfair Hotel's first wedding held in this new space. Alot of firsts that night, lol. The wedding went off without a hitch. I dont usually use this adjective, but the night was magical. I recently upgraded my subwoofer system and brought it to the wedding. Maybe it was my system, maybe it was the shape of the room, but the sound was so crisp and clean, the dance floor was packed the whole night. Honestly, this was all thanks to the epic team of vendors led by the venue manager, Spencer Passey of The Mayfair.

Cheers to the next time we work together Mayfair!
Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mayfair Hotel, Owner at The Mayfair Hotel Event Space, responded to this review
Responded 27 Feb 2020
Thank you so much, Will!! It was a pleasure to have you here for the wedding, and I'm so happy to hear that you had such a great experience. We look forward to working with you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
HK$1,406
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Booking.com
    HK$1,406
  • Vio.com
    HK$1,089
  • Agoda.com
    HK$1,406
1.3 km from The Mayfair Hotel Event Space
Pool
Restaurant
HK$2,336
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Hotels.com
    HK$2,336
  • Booking.com
    HK$2,336
  • Trip.com
    HK$2,336
12.7 km from The Mayfair Hotel Event Space
Free Wifi
Pool
HK$2,211
HK$2,045
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Booking.com
    HK$2,211
  • Agoda.com
    HK$2,045
  • Trip.com
    HK$2,045
12.5 km from The Mayfair Hotel Event Space
Pool
Restaurant
HK$1,415
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Trip.com
    HK$1,415
  • Booking.com
    HK$1,399
  • Agoda.com
    HK$1,399
1.6 km from The Mayfair Hotel Event Space
Restaurant
Room service
HK$1,170
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Booking.com
    HK$1,437
  • Agoda.com
    HK$679
  • Expedia
    HK$1,170
5.1 km from The Mayfair Hotel Event Space
Free Wifi
Pool
HK$1,048
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Booking.com
    HK$1,048
  • Trip.com
    HK$1,048
  • Official Site
    HK$548
1.3 km from The Mayfair Hotel Event Space
Free Wifi
Pool
HK$1,328
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Agoda.com
    HK$1,062
  • Vio.com
    HK$754
  • Expedia
    HK$1,328
3.3 km from The Mayfair Hotel Event Space
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Exterior
HK$726
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Hotels.com
    HK$726
  • Booking.com
    HK$727
  • Agoda.com
    HK$727
15.9 km from The Mayfair Hotel Event Space
Free Wifi
Pool
SHR LosAngelesLAX Exterior Full Dusk
HK$954
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Booking.com
    HK$954
  • ZenHotels.com
    HK$845
  • Agoda.com
    HK$935
16.2 km from The Mayfair Hotel Event Space
Restaurant
Room service
View more hotels in Los Angeles
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveller rating
132
53
32
16
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
132
53
32
16
24
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 257 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2020 via mobile

This is only a 10-12 minute walk to two metro stations & very close to downtown, so the location is very central. But the downside to that is the constant traffic noise from outside, it's basically as if you're trying to sleep with the windows open! I asked for a quiet room (which I doubt exist with the old windows) & although the room itself was spacious, there was only a double pull out sofa bed for our bed. It wasn't uncomfortable, just small for the size of the room& unusual. The room smelt a bit musty but I couldn't see anything to say it wasn't clean.

The gym & pool opened the day we arrived, the gym is very small but better than nothing I guess. Very glad we only stayed 3 nights though!

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank SuzeyQ101
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mayfair Hotel, Owner at The Mayfair Hotel Event Space, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2020

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review, we appreciate it. Please know that we will be discussing your comments with management and will do whatever we can to address your concerns. I'm sorry to hear that the noise was such a significant issue; we have sealed the windows to try and prevent any disturbance from outside but being an historic building, there are some restrictions to the amount of structural changes we can make. I do hope that you will consider staying with us again the next time you are in Los Angeles.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2020 via mobile

I stayed here for one night. The hotel itself is very nice, although the road outside doesn’t seem the most safe. I was allowed to check-in early, which was very helpful. The room superficially is well decorated & clean. For some reason the bed is a pull-down contraption, which seems pointless in a hotel room. The bed was, however, very comfortable. There are no power points next to the bed. There isn’t enough lighting in the room. The TV and free WiFi were good. There was a lot of single-use plastic - disposable coffee cups & water glasses, which could be replaced with glass & ceramic (would look more luxurious as well as being more environmentally friendly). The shower was powerful, although a little small. The free coffee wasn’t the best, and there wasn’t enough milk provided. There is no mini bar, and one presumes the tap water is safe to drink. A luggage stand would also have been useful.
I wouldn’t be opposed to staying here again, but it wouldn’t be my first choice.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
3  Thank MattyL09
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mayfair Hotel, Owner at The Mayfair Hotel Event Space, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2020

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide this feedback, it really is incredibly helpful for us as we look to improve upon our guest service and overall experience here at The Mayfair Hotel. We appreciate these suggestions, especially about the amenities in the room and the opportunities to be more environmentally friendly, and will be sure to present these to management. Please rest assured that the tap water is most definitely safe! We hope you'll choose us again on your next trip to Los Angeles.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2020

I recently attended a conference at LA Live and decided to book The Mayfair as an off-price alternative to the LA Live area hotels. I was thrilled with the experience. It was only about an $8 Uber, but the Mayfair has a complimentary limo/van service that took me to LA LIve! The room was standard size and was very clean. The staff were pleasant and very helpful. They serve breakfast and have a great lobby bar.
This will definitely be my choice when I return for the conference next year!

Room tip: Roof top bar and pool is under construction for 2021
Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank thehospitalityexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mayfair Hotel, Owner at The Mayfair Hotel Event Space, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2020

Thank you so much for this lovely review, we appreciate it! So happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you got a chance to take advantage of our great house car service. Looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2020

i was so amazed by the interior design inside the hotel lobby and public areas. each space has beautiful touch and feeling, and i loved the black and white design in the room. they have usb socket which is so important also!
i got the room with the city view which was to die for!

Room tip: get a room with downtown city view
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank צביקה ע
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mayfair Hotel, Owner at The Mayfair Hotel Event Space, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2020

Thank you so much for this lovely review! So happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back and see us again soon - there's always something exciting happening at The Mayfair Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2020

Art-deco and pretty hotel. Just know it is a party hotel with club nights on weekends. New pool has Sat night parties and it is loud until last call at 2 AM. Loud as in, if your room faces the pool you will have the music blaring in your room and won't get any sleep.

Room tip: Get a room that does not face the pool if you like to sleep
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank findsolacehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mayfair Hotel, Owner at The Mayfair Hotel Event Space, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2020

Thank you for leaving us this review, we appreciate it. Please accept our sincere apologies for this experience. We are aware that the event on the pool deck last weekend did cause some disturbance to guests and we did our best to mitigate the problems in real time. This was our first event in this new space and we underestimated what the noise level would be in the guest rooms. Moving forward, we are doing everything we can to make sure that any outdoor events do not affect those on the floors above. I do hope that you consider giving us another chance to better serve you in the future. Please reach out to us directly if you would like to discuss this any further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews