We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Passengerbxnfo
Portland, Oregon

Great location, clean room, hefty deposit

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Feb 2024
There’s a $200 deposit upon checking in, which wasn’t a problem for me but it’s a lot higher from what I’m use to paying at other best western hotels. I had high expectations considering this and unfortunately they weren’t really met. Regardless though, it’s a great location and the breakfast is decent.
Date of stay: January 2024
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
HK$2,336
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia
13.9 km from Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Inn
Free Wifi
Pool
HK$1,554
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia
18.9 km from Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Inn
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
HK$726
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia
  • Booking.com
18.6 km from Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Inn
Free Wifi
Pool
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    HK$1,974
  • Preferred Hotels
10.4 km from Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Inn
Free Wifi
Pool
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    HK$1,414
  • Expedia
1.6 km from Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Inn
Restaurant
Room service
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    HK$1,886
  • Expedia
15.1 km from Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Inn
Free Wifi
Pool
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    HK$3,210
  • Expedia
19.1 km from Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Inn
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    HK$1,046
  • Expedia
2.6 km from Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Inn
Free Wifi
Pool
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Expedia
  • ZenHotels.com
    HK$1,223
  • Booking.com
9.1 km from Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Inn
Free Wifi
Pool
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Expedia
  • ZenHotels.com
    HK$1,882
  • Agoda.com
5.7 km from Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Inn
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
View more hotels in Los Angeles
Reviews (704)
Filter reviews
704 results
Traveller rating
231
227
141
59
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
231
227
141
59
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dodger stadium union station olvera street parking attendant safe area downtown la hotel is located walking distance third floor the room was nice beds were comfortable bw cereal neighborhood freeway proximity
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 704 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2024

I was there as my daughter was in USC having a surgery. I was told my parking would be validated and it was 18/ day and was not validated. We took shifts , my x Husayn and I being at the hospital. I took night shift and tried to sleep during the Dax. It was SO noisy and they didn't offer earphones or an apology. I could go on , bottom line was the service sucked. brenda was the manager and had no customer service skills or sympathy for any situation stated. It was apparent, if you don't like our rules, get out. Very rude !

Date of stay: January 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Brendasarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rick Johnson, Guest Services / Front Office at Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2024

Not sure who told you we have validated parking. We have never had validated parking. All our parking fees are posted on the web sites. We offered to upgrade you to a different room but that was declined and you said it was fine.

If the noise continued. all you have to do is call down to the front desk and our security will identify which room is making the noise and they will be asked to leave the property.

There is nothing we can do after the fact.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2023

Walking distance to Amtrak Union station and the metro line Chinatown station. Lots of restaurants and shopping within Chinatown. The place itself is quiet with a nice courtyard. The room and the whole place is clean and nicely furnished. Easily beats most hotels in Vegas strip and meets or exceeds what we would expect from a full hotel rather than an Inn. Exceeding expectations in basically all categories. The free breakfast is simple (good, honest toast with the jam, not avocado toast) but nice and efficient. The folks are great people. What we don’t see in extravagance is made up for with diligence and competence and kindness. A nice place to stay. Underground parking cost extra, we parked on the street. The hotel side is tow away 4-6 and the side opposite is 7-9 so unless you wake up early and move the car don’t park across. Both are metered 9-5, which works out great if you start your day before then. On Hill and Broadstreet places open I think 10-6:30, but a couple blocks away are some amazing choices, we went to Mama Lu’s for second breakfast and it is just amazing.

Date of stay: December 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank budchoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 October 2023

Best service ever. Reception quick & polite. Everything works in hotel room. Comfortable beds. Soft pillows. Clean. Good lighting. Room (also hot water in shower) temperature is perfect. Freebies: WiFi + breakfast + coffee maker + bottled water + pen/notepad. Breakfast is tasty (coffee, juice, yoghurt, cereal, toast, waffles, eggs, sausages etc). Hotel is close to Union Station (handy when catching bus to airport).

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Roam60531203676
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 September 2023

My girlfriend and I checked into the Dragon Gate Inn on August 17 and checked out August 18.We got billed for August 16 and 17.No one has been able to tell me why.We where not in LA until the 17. Everytime I call I get a different answer.Haven't been able to get the manager yet.We are planning to go back to LA but not to the Dragon Gate Inn!

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 July 2023

This was our first stay at this location in LA, and it did not disappoint. The hotel itself is pristine when it came to cleanliness. The staff is attentive to details and provided excellent customer service. Breakfast was great as well, good selection, including a pancake machine as well as the traditional Best Western waffle maker!
The location is amazing, and honestly anywhere we traveled - including our drive to Santa Monica Pier, Universal Studios, Disney, MANY beaches and the Lake Shrine - was about 15-25 minutes (which was better than previous trips - believe me!!) Also, if you like to visit locations that have been in movies, Dragon Gate Inn is about a block an a half away from the restaurant that was featured in Rush Hour. LOVE the vibe of this hotel and its location. We will be staying again!!

Date of stay: July 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank jacigreiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rick Johnson, Guest Services / Front Office at Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2023

So happy you enjoyed by our time with us and that you found all the neat things to see .

We look forward to serving your lodging needs in the future.

Regards and safe travels,

Best Western Plus
Dragon Gate Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews