We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Elizabethfirst
California

good value

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Jan 2024
We have stayed here about 10 times in the past five years. Some stays were only one night, others were one week. It is good value, especially when you consider how popular this area is with tourists. It is usually clean, except for one time when we did yoga and later found that our throats and arms (parts of the body near or on the floor) had been bitten by insects. There is a fitness center, but no pool. The front desk and housekeeping employees are respectful and accommodating most of the time. There is an on-site restaurant on the ground floor, but the food is extremely mediocre; better to leave the building and walk to one of the excellent nearby restaurants or pick up prepared food at the Marukai Grocery Store which is next door. The hotel is within walking distance of dozens of restaurants, cafes, a bookstore, shops, a public library, etc. However, please note that there are many mentally unstable people in the area, so be careful. Also, you might be awakened by the frequent sirens.
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DTLosAngelesDowTowGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this review
Responded 27 Jan 2024
Elizabeth, we're pleased to know that DoubleTree By Hilton Los Angeles Downtown remains your recurring choice in the city. We value your continued patronage, and it is encouraging that the cleanliness and convenience of our location meet your expectations. That said, we do regret any discomfort you experienced during your yoga session. We are constantly working on improving our on-site dining options and take your feedback on board. Regarding your comments about the local environment, we understand your concerns and while this is something we can't directly control, we always advise guests to stay alert and aware. We appreciate your detailed review, and we'll continue making improvements to deliver an even better experience next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
HK$1,406
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Booking.com
    HK$1,406
  • ZenHotels.com
    HK$997
  • Agoda.com
    HK$1,406
1.0 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Pool
Restaurant
HK$1,415
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Trip.com
    HK$1,415
  • Booking.com
    HK$1,399
  • Agoda.com
    HK$1,399
0.7 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Restaurant
Room service
HK$2,336
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Hotels.com
    HK$2,336
  • Booking.com
    HK$2,336
  • Trip.com
    HK$2,336
14.5 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Free Wifi
Pool
HK$2,211
HK$2,045
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Booking.com
    HK$2,211
  • Agoda.com
    HK$2,045
  • Trip.com
    HK$2,045
14.3 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Pool
Restaurant
HK$1,170
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Booking.com
    HK$1,437
  • Agoda.com
    HK$679
  • Expedia
    HK$1,170
6.5 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Free Wifi
Pool
HK$1,048
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Booking.com
    HK$1,048
  • Trip.com
    HK$1,048
  • Official Site
    HK$548
1.4 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Free Wifi
Pool
HK$1,328
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Agoda.com
    HK$1,062
  • Vio.com
    HK$754
  • Expedia
    HK$1,328
5.5 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Exterior
HK$726
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Hotels.com
    HK$726
  • Booking.com
    HK$727
  • Agoda.com
    HK$727
17.4 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Free Wifi
Pool
SHR LosAngelesLAX Exterior Full Dusk
HK$954
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Booking.com
    HK$954
  • ZenHotels.com
    HK$845
  • Agoda.com
    HK$935
17.8 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Restaurant
Room service
View more hotels in Los Angeles
Reviews (2,766)
Filter reviews
2,766 results
Traveller rating
924
931
511
219
181
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
924
931
511
219
181
Show reviews that mention
All reviews little tokyo japanese garden double tree union station skid row warm cookies nice hotel self parking business trip front desk staff starbucks sirens valet proximity neighborhood dtla shuttle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 2,766 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2024

Besides the property needing an update the staff are not honest. I work in the hospitality industry as well I have been a Diamond member for many years. I also am a HGVC owner. My wife and I have travelled the world using Hilton properties. The front desk Managers Brittnae & Cynthia are absolute liars. In August we stayed at this property for 8 nights while staff were protesting through each and every night. Restaurants were closed. No food options and no sleep. Nothing was stating such on the website. No advance notice as to what would be taking place and that the Hotel was not 100% operational. Brittnae and Cynthia promised to my wife and me compensation in the form of 80,000 points and free parking for the stay. We have not received this. Diamond desk and messages to these ladies are not returned. Initially they took my calls and promised they would deliver on there promise. Six months later I still have not received my compensation. I have pictures of these ladies that I will post later. Please be aware they are not people of their word. They cannot be trusted.

Room tip: Employee people that are honest and who have integrity. Not a good representation for the Hilton brand.
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Troy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DTLosAngelesDowTowGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2024

367troyr, it's regrettable to read about your recent experience with us. It seems you encountered some challenges regarding your visit, and we're sorry that your stay was impacted in this way. Please know that honesty and communication are two values we hold deeply. Regarding the situation you described with compensation, it's of utmost importance to us. We'd like to get in touch directly with you to address these matters. At your earliest convenience, we encourage you to contact our customer care team so we can ensure your concerns are properly handled. We truly appreciate your insights and your loyalty is incredibly important to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2024


Hey there! Just a heads up if you're booking—check if parking's included and breakfast too. They hit you with a $50 parking fee per night, even if you don't use it. Been there, done that. And getting a refund? You gotta go above the management level. It's crazy when you're shelling out almost 200 bucks a night and breakfast isn't even thrown in!

Room tip: be cautious the chargeQ!
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 169minhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DTLosAngelesDowTowGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2024

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We understand that transparency about additional costs is crucial. Our aim is to keep all fees clear and visible for our guests, and it seems that in your case, we may need to improve. Concerning concerns about breakfast, we would like to clarify that the inclusion differs from one booking to another. We're hopeful your next experience will reflect the high standard service we're committed to provide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2024

Pro: Very Comfortable bed, large room, outdoor garden.
Con: Poor housekeeping: bathroom cabinets not dusted, floor cleaned, carpeting in room was not vacuumed during 7 day stay. Area around hotel with a lot of unhoused people, not much to walk to.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank amy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DTLosAngelesDowTowGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2024

Jetact, it's great to hear that you found the bed comfortable and appreciated the large room and our outdoor garden. On the other hand, we're sorry for any discrepancies you may have noticed regarding cleanliness. Our team always aims to provide a spotlessly clean environment and your experience does not reflect our usual standards. Regarding the surroundings, we understand your concerns and while we have no control of external conditions, we do strive to ensure our guests' security within the hotel premises. We value your feedback and hope for another opportunity to provide a more satisfactory stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2023 via mobile

This was our second stay here. The room was sizeable and comfortable with a great view. Conveniently located, however I will say that if you come back to the hotel after dinner out, the bar closes at 10pm. But if you still fancy a night-cap after that, they sell cocktails, beer, and wine in the market next to reception.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Suzie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DTLosAngelesDowTowGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2023

Suzie, the DoubleTree By Hilton Los Angeles Downtown appreciates your loyalty in returning for another stay. It's pleasing to learn that you found comfort in our spacious room and enjoyed the captivating view. We're also delighted that you benefitted from the convenience of our prime location. Though our bar hours end early, we hope the additional option of buying cocktails, beer, and wine in the market offered some convenience for you. Your feedback is valued, and we look forward to welcoming you back for your third visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2023 via mobile

We stayed here as part of group and the experience by all was terrible. Dirty rooms with cob webs, hair in the tub and between the sheets. An indifferent staff, especially the front desk. There are so many other choices in the area so please look elsewhere.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Tally11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DTLosAngelesDowTowGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2023

We sincerely regret to hear about your less than satisfactory stay. It's disheartening when cleanliness and service issues tarnish the experience. Nothing is more important to us than guest comfort and we have key processes in place to maintain our rooms. Furthermore, exceptional service is a hallmark of our team members and your comments will serve as a learning point. We hope you consider visiting us again in the future so we can demonstrate the high standards we strive for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews