We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”
Review of La Rose Cafe

La Rose Cafe
Ranked #698 of 11,744 Restaurants in Los Angeles
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: East Hollywood
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Yelp led us to this restaurant on Vermont and Fountain when we searched "Filipino food" in Hollywood. We went at the tail end of the no-indoor dining rule and lucky to snag the last outdoor table on the lunch hour. Jepoy was friendly and gave us menus right away. We immediately noticed that the prices are higher than average, maybe a tad higher than the Filipino favorites Max's, Gerry's Grill, Barrio Fiesta and Red Ribbon. We hoped the quality and taste will justify the $$

We ordered tapsilog ($14.99) described as cured beef, peppery and garlicky with 2 sunny side up eggs and plain rice. The picture was appetizing but the real thing in a styro was disappointing. Tough, dry, not at all tender beef/tapa, 1 sunny side up egg and 2 cups of rice.

Also ordered daing ($15.99) described and pictured on the menu as a whole marinated milk fish with rice. The real thing in a styro consisted of a dry HALF milk fish, 2 cups of rice and we were charged extra $3.50 for 2 eggs. Total rip-off.

The only thing we enjoyed was the tasty fresh lumpia ($16.99) with the perfect mixture of veggies, jicama, diced shrimp, chicken and pork topped with garlic and soy peanut sauce. With ground nuts and sugar it was delicious.

We like that the calamansi juice with honey ($5.99) is refillable. Their desserts sansrival and buko pandan looked appetizing but at that point we were turned off with the quality of the beef and price per serving of the main dishes and decided to skip dessert. We couldn’t wrap our heads around the $60+ lunch bill.

So, no, we are not particularly interested in returning to this restaurant.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank OC_M_Lu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2019

Los Angeles continues to surprise me. Having lived here my whole life, and never did I know about such a wonderful place like this, until tonight. I've had Filipino cuisine mostly from people's homes, but it's unheard of, that I find such authenticity of the Filipino cuisine, in a restaurant.. until now.

After many years of success, Lem Balagot's LA Rose Cafe stands as a beacon of culture, passion, dedication, and a precision in customer relations. With years of experience, Lem and his team of exemplary partners bring a smile to your face, delivering authentic Filipino Cuisine that is both warm at arrival and satisfaction guaranteed. With beautiful interior designs and a peaceful atmosphere, it is quiet enough for a casual date with a romantic touch to it. Peace in the atmosphere, beauty all around, and a warm smile that passes by to serve you, LA Rose Cafe stands true to its name, for all that it encompasses, are the many flowers of a people, that remain in bloom, all year long.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fistoflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2019

Delicious, authentic Filipino food in a cozy atmosphere with amazing service! The experience was like dining in the home of a friend or auntie.

Date of visit: October 2019
1  Thank another7wonders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2019

Looking somewhat shabby from the outside and certainly needs an interior refit but the Philipino cuisine is stunning, prepared by the owner, all the dishes were freshly prepared and superb

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JB084439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2019 via mobile

Loved the food and loved the atmosphere even more! Waiter was very attentive which is always surprising when the place is packed!

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Rose Cafe also viewed

 

Been to La Rose Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.