We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Erin R

it's fine

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 May 2024
The best I can say about this hotel is that it's fine. It's clean and well appointed, but the fitted sheet doesn't actually reach the end of the mattress so there's six inches of unwashed mattress exposed at the end of the bed. The water in the shower never got hot and there's no shelf anywhere in the shower or bathroom to put your things. The staff were very friendly and polite. The hotel will nickel & dime you for every little thing ($10 for parking, $25 for an extra hour at checkout, fines if you get makeup on the towels) but it's not clear where the extra cash is going since everything is the most basic. The decor is very cute, but it took three hours to get extra towels. So, it's fine.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guest Relations Manager, Owner at Hollywood Downtowner Motel, responded to this review
Responded 20 May 2024
We appreciate your detailed feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It's wonderful to hear that you found our hotel clean and well-appointed, with friendly and polite staff. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced with the fitted sheet and water temperature in the shower. Your comments about the lack of shelf space in the bathroom have been duly noted for consideration. Thank you for acknowledging our cute decor. We hope to welcome you back in the future for an even more enjoyable experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
  • Hotels.com
  • Trip.com
    HK$2,663
  • Expedia
5.9 km from Hollywood Downtowner Motel
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Trip.com
    HK$2,399
  • Agoda.com
5.7 km from Hollywood Downtowner Motel
Pool
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    HK$998
  • Agoda.com
2.1 km from Hollywood Downtowner Motel
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    HK$1,893
  • Agoda.com
7.2 km from Hollywood Downtowner Motel
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
    HK$1,562
  • Expedia
7.9 km from Hollywood Downtowner Motel
Pool
Restaurant
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    HK$1,843
  • Hotels.com
2.8 km from Hollywood Downtowner Motel
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Trip.com
    HK$1,328
  • Agoda.com
7.9 km from Hollywood Downtowner Motel
Restaurant
Room service
Lobby
  • Hotels.com
  • Trip.com
    HK$1,254
  • Agoda.com
18.8 km from Hollywood Downtowner Motel
Pool
Restaurant
Exterior
  • Hotels.com
  • Trip.com
    HK$921
  • Agoda.com
18.4 km from Hollywood Downtowner Motel
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Trip.com
    HK$998
  • Official Site
8.1 km from Hollywood Downtowner Motel
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Los Angeles
Reviews (655)
Filter reviews
655 results
Traveller rating
125
215
175
62
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
125
215
175
62
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free parking free breakfast good size fridge and microwave griffith observatory walking distance fame hollywood blvd
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 655 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2024

The hotel was very clean and the staff very helpful. Our water didn’t stay hot and as soon as we reported it, they fixed it straight away. The heating worked well. The only problem was there was so sound proofing between rooms so you could hear the people above us stopping around at all hours of the night. It’s located close to transport and the Hollywood walk of fame so very convenient. There was a lot of homeless outside, which was intimidating but that’s nothing to do with the hotel. Hollywood blvd is so loud and sirens kept us awake every night, but a great stay overall.

Room tip: Bring earbuds or something similar if you struggle with noise. If possible, ask for a room on the second level to avoid the noise above.
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guest Relations Manager, Owner at Hollywood Downtowner Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2024

Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback with us. We're glad to hear you found our hotel clean and our staff helpful. It's great to know that your issue with the hot water was promptly resolved and that you were satisfied with the heating. We appreciate your understanding about the noise from neighboring rooms and surroundings and are pleased you found our location convenient. Your overall positive experience is important to us, and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2024 via mobile

Location matters: great place to explore Hollywood and surrounding areas. Friendly and helpful staff, safe parking spot for $10 per night, rooms backwards are pretty quiet.
Rooms are also clean and well equiped.
Looking forward to return!

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank BernieEastwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 March 2024

Great little hotel in a very central location... so close to great food and shops.. easy to walk down to the walk of fame. The room was spacious and clean. I had a great view of the pool at the front and the Griffith observatory at the back. The little kitchenette was great. Bed comfortable. Kimberley was extremely helpful and friendly... very nice to meet you and have a chat about Madonna!! Will definitely stay again.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Aaron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 January 2024

The motel is located in the busy downtown neighborhood of Hollywood. Very close to plenty of stores and it has a pool and some rooms have balconies. The front desk clerks are super nice and it was easy to get assistance when needed. Parking is free too! You can walk pretty much to stores and the attractions are not too far out. My family and I were able to order food through DoorDash as they do not offer that. I was able to rent a vehicle 20 min away through Turo too. So I will definitely return to this motel. Everything was very convenient for me and although the walls are thin I kind of already expected to hear people at times. Great experience!

Room tip: Take a lot of pics and expect some noise as it is a motel in the heart of Hollywood.
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Journey66539040335
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 January 2024 via mobile

This Hotel is terrible do not stay here the air conditioner is old and doesn’t work and when you complain they kick you out , the staff are very rude the pool is very dirty.very noisy lots of homeless hang out the front not a safe place to stay do not stay here

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sharon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews