We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional restaurant - don't miss out!”
Review of Open Sesame

Open Sesame
Get food delivered
Ranked #3 of 1,247 Restaurants in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$26
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed 12 October 2020

The food is consistently outstanding, the service is great, the ambiance is lovely! We've loved every single menu item that we've tried. Great wine selection too. Don't miss out on the fried potatoes with garlic sauce, the hummus and pita, the appetizer that has watermelon and cheese (i forgot the cheese name), the flash fried cauliflower, and pretty much everything else on the menu! Desserts are great too.

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jobieferri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2020

I had dinner at Open Sesame in Belmont Shore in January and again in Feburary while in the Long Beach area on business. The food was absolutely delicious both times, and the service was friendly and efficient. You definitely need a reservation for dinner any night of the week, and you're on your own to find parking on the street, which was no problem either time I was there. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anybody who likes Mediterranean food, and if you don't know what something is, just ask the waitstaff, who will happily explain. It's a great place for dinner and very reasonably priced.

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank peggydebeliso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2020 via mobile

We visited Long Beach and wanted Mediterranean food. Some thing light. The hummus was to die for. It was light and tasty with zest of lemon and had a Lebanese pita bread that was tasty.We had chicken and lamb kabobs that were cooked to perfection. The waiters and staff were friendly and courteous.If you’re in LB, have the hummus at open sesame.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2020

Have been going to this restaurant for years. But lately, I have actually had Los Angeles friends tell me that they had heard it was worth a trip down to Long Beach to eat here. My favorite is the Vegetarian entree, with a combination of hummus, baba ganouj, tabouli, felafel, stuffed grape leaf and lots of pita. Each part of the dish is beautifully prepared, and the whole plate is a completely satisfying meal, in every way. The restaurant gets very crowded on the weekend evenings, so be prepared to wait. It is worth it, however.

Date of visit: January 2020
2  Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2019 via mobile

Every time we visit friends in Long Beach we grab the opportunity to have lunch or dinner at Open Sesame. The service and food has remained consistent over the years to our delight.

Everything on the menu is worth a try. We have our favorites and we’re sure you after trying Open Sesame you will too. We really enjoy splitting the meat combination plate too. Comes with salad and hummus.

BTW: The fried cauliflower is an excellent choice for an appetizer. One order is enough for two.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank sandrawK7085DO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Open Sesame also viewed

 

Been to Open Sesame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
Hong Kong SAR
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.