We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Fun place to see brown bears!

This bear park is all about brown bears and we saw a lot of these beautiful animals here! Enclosure... read more

Reviewed yesterday
weez911
via mobile
Bears up close

It was interesting to see the bears up close. I never realized just how huge the bears in Hokkaido... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
L123V
,
Sapporo, Japan
via mobile
Read all 428 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Noboribetsu
from US$21.60
More Info
Reviews (428)
Filter reviews
428 results
Traveller rating
110
164
106
24
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
164
106
24
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews duck race biscuits salmon the cable car ride came forward great view of lake jr station hell valley males gondola actions packet gestures cub objects observatory onsen
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 428 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2018 via mobile

I had a good time at the Bear Park and it was amazing to see the bears up close, especially the large male ones. They are incredible creatures. Some of the reviews I’ve read express a lot of concern regarding the treatment of these bears. Yes it would be nice to see more greenery in their enclosures, but I don’t think the bears are suffering. Any kind of captivity will of course never compare to a natural habitat. All the bears I saw were chubby and fuzzy, a few were sleepy and one was enjoying a water jet massage. Waiting for a snack certainly doesn’t mean that they’re not being properly fed. It just means they want a snack.
The entrance fee (includes cable car) is slightly high but cable car rides are generally not cheap anyway. Apart from the bears and a somewhat random observatory deck that provided a great view of lake Kuttara, there wasn’t much else to see. Not a must do activity but one you can consider when in Noboribetsu.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank v293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018 via mobile

This is a very old bear park in the Noboribetsu Onsen. If you are staying at one of the hotels in the onsen town, you can ask the front desk to call for the free shuttle bus to pick you up. The entrance fee include the cable ride to the top mountain and the entrance to the park. The park is very small, and the most interesting thing is to buy some bear snacks for 100 yen (bear cookie) or 300 yen (salmon) and feed the bears.

There are 2 enclosures in the Park, and based on the information I found online, enclosure #1 are male bears and enclosure #2 enclosure are female bears which are more active on asking for food. The bears will wave at you when asking for food, and they are also ready to catch food on the air.
However, there were so many gigantic crows around the enclosure ready to steal food from the bears, so need to throw food with precision and speed.

The park also offer view of the lake kuttara on the top of the observatory, as well as a small museum about bears, and bear cubs. The daily show in the bear stage is offered 2 times, and it is very simple; the bear is hardly trained, and it is mainly looking for food.

The park was founded in 1958 (based on the information from the official website) so it is a very old park, but it is kept clean. The park definitely need to some upgrades, but it is worth the visit if you love animals and are spending a night at the onsen town.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank Jenny Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018

I went on August 2017, at that time the weather was perfect in Hokkaido. As my first destination in Noboribetsu I visited the bears, luckily I was able to see a cub too. In addition to bears, the were some performances with the bears. The place contains also some few attractions related to the Ainu people.
Going as far as to reach Noboribetsu, I recommend to combine the Bear Park with a visit to Jigokudani (Hell valley) and the thermal lake and take a trekking in the mountain.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank addou88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

It was in the middle of the winter but the bears were all still out and there were many ready to be fed. They all looked healthy and well cared for

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

Bear park has around 10-15bears. The bears were not active as it was cold.

However some of them will wave at you for some treats. There are bear treats available for 100yen a pack. We bought two packets at first and ended up buying even more because the bears were absolutely adorable.

This park also has duck race and a great view of Lake Kuttara.

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank celestayk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews