We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,494)
Filter reviews
1,494 results
Traveller rating
617
495
186
100
96
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
617
495
186
100
96
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vue restaurant valet parking public park dana point harbor breakfast buffet per night valet service beautiful location ocean view self park king bed nice property adult pool room rate small balcony san diego business meeting
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 1,494 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2018

I wish I could give this place a higher rating because the grounds and views are so beautiful but sadly, for our type of weekend, it was only meh.

My girl friends and I planned a weekend trip away and were really excited to have a weekend of relaxation with no fret. Sadly, this was not the case from the beginning. The rep that checked us in did not speak English well and this may have been the cause of some issues. She claimed they offered us an "upgrade" to the room that has nice windows to the outside. I assumed she meant doors, i.e. to the balcony. When I got to the room, I realized she literally meant the room had windows -- not sure why that was something to boast about. Also, the beds were full sizes, which were too small for 2 to sleep in. I called and asked if she could move us to another room with access to the outside - like a balcony. She said they were fully committed and that we should stick to our upgrade. Also, all beds were full. They don't have queens.

The upgrade was actually a downgrade. First, our toilet stopped flushing in the middle of the night so we had to call in an engineer and wait for him to come and fix it. Then we found spiders in our room. To top it off, we woke up to 8 a.m. construction happening RIGHT NEXT DOOR! We called downstairs to complain and the manager kept repeating that we should have been informed of the construction upon check in. Well, we weren't. He offered us free breakfast and valet, which I repeated told him should be for all 3 of us. He agreed. He also offered to move our room to another area away from construction once it becomes available. The breakfast was very nice and delicious. We hung out by the pool waiting for the new room - it wasn't ready until about 6 p.m. It was the same exact room but with a tiny balcony. fine.

We woke up early AGAIN to fire alarms going off and a person on the loud speaker updating on the alarms. We decided to just check out early and not deal with this hotel anymore. We called the bell desk to help with bags (since 2 of us were pregnant) and were told all the elevators are out of service so we will have to help bring all our bags down using stairs. You see the problem with that when someone is 6-7 months pregnant.

Upon check out, we saw only ONE valet charge was taken off (of the 3 cars for 2 nights). We let the rep know and she brought the same manager over. He now claimed he did not promise a comp valet for all 3 cars or for both nights. Why would we be only entitled to one car's comp when there's 3 of us??? Redic. He finally "generously" agreed to comp the remaining cars for one night.

Then we had to deal with moving the bags to the cars and no one was around to help us. Finally, the manager hurriedly grabbed a few and threw them in my car despite me continuously telling him that some bags go in other cars. He then disappeared so we moved the rest of our bags in our cars ourselves. Reminder: 2 of us were 6/7 months pregnant.

Overall, sad stay for a nice resort. They just needed to be a bit more attentive and actually follow through with their words but they did not. They also rejected any request for a comp of a room due to all this inconvenience. Oh well - we won't be coming back.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaraSmith8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Staff at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are so pleased that you felt the hotel was gorgeous and we aim to please our guests in every way. We are so sorry that you felt the service was not up to par with the surroundings. Clearly, we missed the mark. We will be using your review as an example in upcoming staff training programs so that our employees can better understand how their actions can impact the guest experience. Usually we receive many fine compliments from our guests and we hope you will look upon this incident you experienced as an exception and not the rule. We will look forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the near future so we may ensure your next stay is a more memorable and enjoyable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

I have to agree with other reviews that the hotel rooms are run down. This is not a Category 8 hotel, sorry to say. There is a resort fee (of which we didn't use any of the amenities - bikes, yoga mats, etc) and parking fee since only valet is available. We are Platinum Elite guests and did not receive a free breakfast, which is always offered at every Marriott we visit.
Most important part of the hotel room is the bed and it was terrible.
No mini fridge in the room. There was a cabinet, where one obviously used to be, but has been removed.
We were offered an anniversary drink and dessert which was a nice gesture, but were told we would have to pay tip & tax on it. Not great to receive a gift and have to pay for the tax and tip - something Marriott could easily cover. It's the little things.

The pictures are better than reality I'm afraid. Will not be back to this hotel. It does not qualify as a resort.

I also wish Marriott would recycle!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank weezie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Staff at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay at our Laguna Cliffs Resort & Spa. We apologize if you were unaware of the valet only service and resort fees. In recent parking and resort fee surveys we’ve conducted with our fellow resorts located on the coastline, we have found our parking and resort fee rates to be in line and are actually the most economical. As a resort property our guestrooms do not have refrigerators; however, we do offer refrigerators if a guest requests one and would be happy to deliver them to your guestroom. We regret to read about your recent experience at our hotel. Because of feedback we have received from our customers, including those on Trip Advisor, we are now in the process of making updates to our hotel which does include a guestroom renovation. Your comments will be reviewed with our management team so we may find ways to make improvements. We truly hope you will consider a future stay so that we may provide you with the experience that you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

I booked three rooms for our company and all of them were upgraded by the super friendly front desk staff. We all had decent views and newly renovated rooms. A big problem though was that the room did no longer have a fridge and no cork-screw. One has to wonder what the wine glasses are for when the hotel seems rather stingy on the supplies. There was no restaurant to have dinner at, the only option was the huge overcrowded and ear-ringing causing noisy main bar. It took quite some time to get service which was not the fault of the personnel, they were simply understaffed and ran their tails off to keep everyone at least semi-happy. Room service was overpriced. A big plus was the breakfast buffet, reasonably priced with a very nice selection and some of the best berries I had in a long time.

Room Tip: Pool view or coastal views recommended
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank yuerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Staff at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our resort. We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant experience with our front desk staff and that they were able to upgrade your three rooms! As a resort property our guestrooms do not have refrigerators; however, we do offer refrigerators if a guest requests one and would be happy to deliver them to your guestroom. Our OverVue restaurant menu is available from 11 AM to 12 Midnight daily, and we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our breakfast buffet. As you can imagine, it is our daily intent to ensure each guest’s stay is enjoyable, relaxing and a memorable experience and we truly hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

This resort, like most, charges hefty fees for parking and resort. But the grounds are so beautiful and the amenities so delightful that a short stay doesn't make that huge a dent in the pocket book.

The lobby spaces are on a par with the level we have come to expect from a Marriott resort level property and the people we encountered were helpful and pleasant. And the location! The views just never got tiring.

Marriott was a high bidder on some of the artists' painted elephants (they have 2) that culminated the competition and fund raiser to save the elephants in 2013. The curbside assistant gave us all the background on their 2 delightful acquisitions.

We recently finished a visit to Hotel del Coronado and, although the interior does not resemble its older inspiration, the red-roofed exterior certainly has that vibe.

Because we are avid hikers and walkers, the stairs down to the marina were not a hinderance for us and the proximity to Doheny Beach (a true gem) was a big bonus. For those inclined to do a little hiking, a really nice path to San Juan Capistrano begins at the Doheny lifeguard station and continues along the creek.

Nice location, lots to do, and great views.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank on_the_go_98765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Staff at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our resort and the beautiful views that surround our location! We look forward to welcoming you back soon and creating more memories for you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

I’ve stayed at this Marriott in the past and have had fairly good experiences. This time, not so much. While the grounds are still beautiful, the room was more run down, with marks all over the walls , stained worn out carpet etc. we were given a room on the first floor and were told that they were doing some renovations which could be heard from that room. They said it was from 9 am to 5 pm. I said that was fine, however at 7:55 the next morning the jackhammering started. When I called the manager she offered to take my resort fee off. What a disappointment. The management clearly isn’t focused on customer service. I sincerely doubt I will come back here.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank jabc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Staff at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your constructive comments regarding your recent stay at our property. We were delighted that you have stayed with us in the past and to have you as our continued guest; however, please allow us to extend our sincere apologies for the unacceptable maintenance of your guest room. Please be assured this incident has been addressed with our Director of Housekeeping so he can personally review this guestroom with his team and provide the appropriate training to ensure this does not happen again in the future. We hope you understand that the upkeep of our guestrooms is of the utmost importance and we have a detailed maintenance program in place to ensure the quality and cleanliness of each guestroom is always of the highest satisfaction to our guests. We usually receive fine compliments from our guests and hope that you look upon this isolated experience as outside of the norm. It is our daily intent to ensure each guest's stay is above and beyond their expectations and we regret these shortfalls put a damper on your visit. We truly hope to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews