We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,474)
Filter reviews
1,474 results
Traveller rating
604
491
184
100
95
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
604
491
184
100
95
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvue restaurantvalet parkingpublic parkdana point harborbreakfast buffetper nightvalet servicebeautiful locationocean viewself parkking bednice propertyadult poolroom ratesmall balconysan diegobusiness meeting
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 1,474 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

I have to agree with other reviews that the hotel rooms are run down. This is not a Category 8 hotel, sorry to say. There is a resort fee (of which we didn't use any of the amenities - bikes, yoga mats, etc) and parking fee since only valet is available. We are Platinum Elite guests and did not receive a free breakfast, which is always offered at every Marriott we visit.
Most important part of the hotel room is the bed and it was terrible.
No mini fridge in the room. There was a cabinet, where one obviously used to be, but has been removed.
We were offered an anniversary drink and dessert which was a nice gesture, but were told we would have to pay tip & tax on it. Not great to receive a gift and have to pay for the tax and tip - something Marriott could easily cover. It's the little things.

The pictures are better than reality I'm afraid. Will not be back to this hotel. It does not qualify as a resort.

I also wish Marriott would recycle!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank weezie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Staff at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay at our Laguna Cliffs Resort & Spa. We apologize if you were unaware of the valet only service and resort fees. In recent parking and resort fee surveys we’ve conducted with our fellow resorts located on the coastline, we have found our parking and resort fee rates to be in line and are actually the most economical. As a resort property our guestrooms do not have refrigerators; however, we do offer refrigerators if a guest requests one and would be happy to deliver them to your guestroom. We regret to read about your recent experience at our hotel. Because of feedback we have received from our customers, including those on Trip Advisor, we are now in the process of making updates to our hotel which does include a guestroom renovation. Your comments will be reviewed with our management team so we may find ways to make improvements. We truly hope you will consider a future stay so that we may provide you with the experience that you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

I booked three rooms for our company and all of them were upgraded by the super friendly front desk staff. We all had decent views and newly renovated rooms. A big problem though was that the room did no longer have a fridge and no cork-screw. One has to wonder what the wine glasses are for when the hotel seems rather stingy on the supplies. There was no restaurant to have dinner at, the only option was the huge overcrowded and ear-ringing causing noisy main bar. It took quite some time to get service which was not the fault of the personnel, they were simply understaffed and ran their tails off to keep everyone at least semi-happy. Room service was overpriced. A big plus was the breakfast buffet, reasonably priced with a very nice selection and some of the best berries I had in a long time.

Room Tip: Pool view or coastal views recommended
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank yuerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Staff at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our resort. We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant experience with our front desk staff and that they were able to upgrade your three rooms! As a resort property our guestrooms do not have refrigerators; however, we do offer refrigerators if a guest requests one and would be happy to deliver them to your guestroom. Our OverVue restaurant menu is available from 11 AM to 12 Midnight daily, and we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our breakfast buffet. As you can imagine, it is our daily intent to ensure each guest’s stay is enjoyable, relaxing and a memorable experience and we truly hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

This resort, like most, charges hefty fees for parking and resort. But the grounds are so beautiful and the amenities so delightful that a short stay doesn't make that huge a dent in the pocket book.

The lobby spaces are on a par with the level we have come to expect from a Marriott resort level property and the people we encountered were helpful and pleasant. And the location! The views just never got tiring.

Marriott was a high bidder on some of the artists' painted elephants (they have 2) that culminated the competition and fund raiser to save the elephants in 2013. The curbside assistant gave us all the background on their 2 delightful acquisitions.

We recently finished a visit to Hotel del Coronado and, although the interior does not resemble its older inspiration, the red-roofed exterior certainly has that vibe.

Because we are avid hikers and walkers, the stairs down to the marina were not a hinderance for us and the proximity to Doheny Beach (a true gem) was a big bonus. For those inclined to do a little hiking, a really nice path to San Juan Capistrano begins at the Doheny lifeguard station and continues along the creek.

Nice location, lots to do, and great views.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank on_the_go_98765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Staff at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our resort and the beautiful views that surround our location! We look forward to welcoming you back soon and creating more memories for you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

I’ve stayed at this Marriott in the past and have had fairly good experiences. This time, not so much. While the grounds are still beautiful, the room was more run down, with marks all over the walls , stained worn out carpet etc. we were given a room on the first floor and were told that they were doing some renovations which could be heard from that room. They said it was from 9 am to 5 pm. I said that was fine, however at 7:55 the next morning the jackhammering started. When I called the manager she offered to take my resort fee off. What a disappointment. The management clearly isn’t focused on customer service. I sincerely doubt I will come back here.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank jabc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Staff at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your constructive comments regarding your recent stay at our property. We were delighted that you have stayed with us in the past and to have you as our continued guest; however, please allow us to extend our sincere apologies for the unacceptable maintenance of your guest room. Please be assured this incident has been addressed with our Director of Housekeeping so he can personally review this guestroom with his team and provide the appropriate training to ensure this does not happen again in the future. We hope you understand that the upkeep of our guestrooms is of the utmost importance and we have a detailed maintenance program in place to ensure the quality and cleanliness of each guestroom is always of the highest satisfaction to our guests. We usually receive fine compliments from our guests and hope that you look upon this isolated experience as outside of the norm. It is our daily intent to ensure each guest's stay is above and beyond their expectations and we regret these shortfalls put a damper on your visit. We truly hope to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

If one is planning to be on the water from Dana Point harbor, this is an ideal location. Marina, charter boats and tour boats very close by, as well as many restaurants. Whale watching tours are walking distance; I recommend Capt Dave’s.
The hotel is nice, adequate amenities, good views and pleasant staff.
If the southern Cal beaches are your desire, perhaps considering staying on Laguna or near Aliso instead.
There is some hiking nearby.
Valet parking and resort fee add up, so be aware of these extra charges

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Joe Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellie A, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Thank you for your recent review. We greatly appreciate your feedback and the kind words about our Resort's location and staff.

I hope your travels will bring you back to our resort in the future so we may have another opportunity to welcome you the the Laguna Cliffs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews