We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“whale safari”

Capt. Dave's Dolphin & Whale Watching Safari
Ranked #3 of 26 Tours in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Whale watch with Capt. Dave's Dolphin and Whale Watching Safari in Dana Point on our high-tech sailing catamaran year round, with two Eye-to-Eye Underwater Viewing Pods. For 20 years Captain Dave's has provided daily trips to see dolphins, up to 10,000 strong, leap and play right off our bow, plus Gray Whales (December through April), Blue Whales (May through November), and year round Humpback Whales, Fin Whales, Minke Whales, and so much more. Go underwater with whales and dolphins without getting wet during your whale watch in our Eye-to-Eye Underwater Viewing Pods aboard Manute'a. Listen to dolphins during your whale watching safari with our underwater Hydrophone. Celebrity and certified naturalists make this exciting Dana Point whale watching excursion educational and entertaining too. Mrs. Capt. Dave's famous triple-fudge brownies make this a one-of-a-kind dolphin and whale watching adventure unforgettable. We are a real Eco-tourism company providing only sustainable wildlife viewing. Ask about Fast Cat, our upscale Rigid Hull Inflatable Catamaran and the newest boat in our whale watching fleet.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 13 June 2017

Captain Daves Safari was the best! We went on the boat "LilY" which is the luxury boat > YOu get to sit down right on the railing on a nice cushion and it has glass so u dont get all wet. Plus, the bot purrs rral nice and the captians Mark & Tom know when to turn the motor off not to scare the whale away. Super nice crew. Not to talkative or loud on speaker. The man up front gives out great narrative and stories while waiting for the whale to come up.

Thank terajwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptDavesWhaleSafari, Owner at Capt. Dave's Dolphin & Whale Watching Safari, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2018

Hi,
Thank you for your review. It’s wonderful that you enjoyed the comfortable, upscale features of Lily, our luxury catamaran, and took advantage of all the great viewing areas available. I’m glad you were satisfied with our crew and their informative narration, as well as the exciting dolphin and whale sightings. Thanks again for coming out, and I hope you can visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (901)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"brownie"
in 65 reviews
"underwater viewing pods"
in 21 reviews
"sea lions"
in 71 reviews
"whale watching"
in 96 reviews
"fast cat"
in 9 reviews
"grey whales"
in 45 reviews
"common dolphins"
in 43 reviews
"see whales"
in 41 reviews
"great trip"
in 42 reviews
"large pod of dolphins"
in 19 reviews
"sea world"
in 9 reviews
"an incredible experience"
in 11 reviews
"their natural habitat"
in 10 reviews
"marine life"
in 25 reviews
"bottle nose dolphins"
in 12 reviews
"phone call"
in 8 reviews
"boat ride"
in 25 reviews
Filter

128 - 132 of 901 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2017

The crew worked hard to find us dolphins and a whale. The boat setup was great for viewing both above and below the water. Everything was very professional and top notch!

Thank sarahk0204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptDavesWhaleSafari, Owner at Capt. Dave's Dolphin & Whale Watching Safari, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2018

Hi,
Thanks for your review. I’m so happy you liked our unique catamaran and expert crew, and had a great time viewing an amazing whale and pod of dolphins. We appreciate the high rating, and I hope we’ll see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptDavesWhaleSafari, Owner at Capt. Dave's Dolphin & Whale Watching Safari, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

We joined Captan Dave and his crew for a glorious morning of whale watching, dolphin viewing, and all around sea life enjoyment. They were knowledgeable, professional, thoughtful and made the morning a complete delight. We were fortunate enough to see countless dolphins that swam in, around, and under the Lily. We happened along on and found a 75 foot fin whale that we were able to observe for quite a while. It was magical.

Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptDavesWhaleSafari, Owner at Capt. Dave's Dolphin & Whale Watching Safari, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Hi,
Thank you for your review. I’m so pleased that you enjoyed your safari on board Lily, our luxury catamaran, and had the chance to view a variety of marine wildlife, including beautiful wild dolphins and a stunning Fin whale. It’s fantastic that our crew helped to make the trip fun, comfortable, and educational. Thanks for including photos of your experience! I hope you can come out with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile

My friend Basia Christ, is a frequent flyer at Capt. Daves and this was my second trip with her whale watching. As much as I enjoyed my first tour 10 years ago, this one was even better as we spent quality time with a fin whale! She was magnificent and seemed so serene and relaxed and unconcerned about our oat and cameras.

What I really loved though was the crew who was as excited to share their considerable knowledge with as, as we were to see this creature up close and personal.

To top it off -Capt. Daves tradition of fresh-baked brownies await you when you get ashore.

Thank pitsbrgher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptDavesWhaleSafari, Owner at Capt. Dave's Dolphin & Whale Watching Safari, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Hi,
Thanks so much for your kind review and lovely photo. It’s wonderful that you and your friend have enjoyed dolphin and whale watching safaris with Capt. Dave’s multiple times. I’m so glad that our crew’s expertise and passion for the marine mammals enhanced the trip for you, and I’m thrilled you had an amazing encounter with an impressive Fin whale! We strive to make each trip memorable and it sounds like yours certainly was. Thank you for being a valued repeat guest, and we’d love to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Capt. Dave's Dolphin & Whale Watching Safari also viewed

 

Been to Capt. Dave's Dolphin & Whale Watching Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing