We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable! The perfect tribute.”

Capt. Dave's Dolphin & Whale Watching Safari
Book In Advance
More Info
US$65.00*
and up
Dana Point Whale Watching and Dolphin Watching Eco-Safari
Ranked #1 of 20 Tours in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Whale watch with Capt. Dave's Dolphin and Whale Watching Safari in Dana Point on our high-tech sailing catamaran year round, with two Eye-to-Eye Underwater Viewing Pods. For 20 years Captain Dave's has provided daily trips to see dolphins, up to 10,000 strong, leap and play right off our bow, plus Gray Whales (December through April), Blue Whales (May through November), and year round Humpback Whales, Fin Whales, Minke Whales, and so much more. Go underwater with whales and dolphins without getting wet during your whale watch in our Eye-to-Eye Underwater Viewing Pods aboard Manute'a. Listen to dolphins during your whale watching safari with our underwater Hydrophone. Celebrity and certified naturalists make this exciting Dana Point whale watching excursion educational and entertaining too. Mrs. Capt. Dave's famous triple-fudge brownies make this a one-of-a-kind dolphin and whale watching adventure unforgettable. We are a real Eco-tourism company providing only sustainable wildlife viewing. Ask about Fast Cat, our upscale Rigid Hull Inflatable Catamaran and the newest boat in our whale watching fleet.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 4 September 2015

Captain Dave's went above and beyond to make our family's day together memorable. My siblings and I, along with our spouses and adult children, chartered Capt Dave's to scatter our parent's ashes at sea. We extended our charter so that we could enjoy the ocean and all that it has to offer. Dolphins guided us through the waters as we cruised the ocean. A blue whale appeared both before and after our ceremony of scattering the ashes. It couldn't have been more perfect. From the first day that we contacted Capt Dave's to inquire about a charter to our last good-byes on the day of the charter, everyone we dealt with was wonderful - professional, informative, caring and so, so friendly. Many thanks to everyone at Capt Dave's for making our day a wonderfully memorable one - the perfect tribute for a very special couple.

Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArielleA, Owner at Capt. Dave's Dolphin & Whale Watching Safari, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2015

Hi,

Thank you so much for your review!

I’m thrilled that you are pleased with your private charter experience with Capt. Dave’s. We are honored to have been able to provide the backdrop for such an important and personal occasion for your family. It does seem as though the whole ocean was in harmony with the event!

Thank you again for coming out with us. Perhaps we’ll see you again on one of our regular dolphin and whale watching trips!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (809)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

310 - 314 of 812 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2015 via mobile

It was a perfect day. The catamaran and crew were exceptional. My father in law has mobility issues & they even turned the boat so he got to see all the sightings of the day. We saw gigantic Blue whales & a huge pod of common dolphin. Our captains, looking thru their binoculars spotted sunfish & a 7ft Hammerhead shark!!! Great choice for whale & dolphin watching. You even get a brownie as a special treat when you disembark!!!

Thank suzieg5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArielleA, Owner at Capt. Dave's Dolphin & Whale Watching Safari, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2015

Hi,

Thanks for your review! We really appreciate it!

I’m happy to read that your liked your dolphin and whale watching trip, and also enjoyed Mrs. Capt. Dave’s triple fudge brownies afterwards! It sounds like you had a variety of spectacular sightings, and I’m glad that the crew made sure that your father-in-law enjoyed them too. I’m sure it was exciting to see the large Hammerhead, as well as the Mola Mola, or Ocean Sunfish – they are the heaviest bony fish in the world and can grow up to 14 feet across!

Thank you for joining us! I hope we see you on board again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2015

I took my 4 year old and my sister on a private charter last month on the Fast Cat. It was worth every penny. Captain Dave was very accomodating and tailored the trip to our interests. We spent a long time following dolphin pods which my daughter loved. We saw a humpback whale about 15 feet from the boat - absolutely breathtaking. We also saw a pair of Minke whales at the end of the tour. No issues with ocean sickness at all as the boat has a low center of gravity and is so close to the water. I plan on doing this trip with my family every time we visit California. Just fantastic.

Thank Katy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArielleA, Owner at Capt. Dave's Dolphin & Whale Watching Safari, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2015

Hi,

It’s wonderful that you had such an amazing safari out with Captain Dave! Our high-speed Fast Cat is just about as up-close and personal as you can get with the dolphins and whales, and I’m so glad you had the chance to share the sightings with your daughter. I’m sure the dolphins were just as happy to see your daughter as she was to see them – they love children! You are also absolutely right about Fast Cat – its low center of gravity means the boat rolls less than larger vessels, which provides more stability and makes it less likely for motion sickness to be an issue. Thanks for coming out! We’d love to see you on your next visit to California!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2015

Beautiful and moving tribute for spreading of loved ones ashes at sea. All made possible by the staff at Capt Daves! Highly recommend their tours and services. Its as though they timed the dolphins and blue whales to coincide with our ceremony! Was able to get great underwater footage of the dolphins with GoPro thanks to amazing boat piloting skills. Thanks again.

Thank echo8kilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArielleA, Owner at Capt. Dave's Dolphin & Whale Watching Safari, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2015

Hi,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review!

We appreciate that you gave us the opportunity to help you honor the memory of your loved one. It’s a gift to be able to contribute to such a meaningful occasion for your family. I’m so happy that the trip and sightings were to your satisfaction. Thank you for coming out with us, and I hope we’ll see you soon on one of our regular dolphin and whale watching trips!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2015 via mobile

After booking on the website, we received a confirmation by mail and a phone call confirming the details.
The company operates a catamaran that is very close to the water so you can touch the dolphins when lucky. This day, captain Tom found us plenty of dolphins and a reluctant blue whale that chose to keep us at some distance.
With a light breeze and sunny weather we had a great trip and will certainly come back when we have the opportunity.

Thank Johan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArielleA, Owner at Capt. Dave's Dolphin & Whale Watching Safari, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2015

Hi,

Thank you for your review!

I’m so glad you had a great time on your dolphin and whale watching safari! We endeavor to offer an immersive experience and one of the unique features of our boats is the ability to provide an up-close and personal experience with the animals. Of course, it's entirely up to the dolphins if they want to come over, bow ride, or interact with our boat and passengers in any way. And it's such a blessing when the dolphins do! The giant smiles on the faces of the kids and the squeals of child-like delight from the adults bring great joy to all of our captains and crew. It is wonderful to be able to see both dolphins and whales on one trip! It sounds like the conditions were beautiful. Thanks for joining us, and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Capt. Dave's Dolphin & Whale Watching Safari also viewed

 
Dana Point, Orange County
 

Been to Capt. Dave's Dolphin & Whale Watching Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing