We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Ashish Inn(Kandaghat)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jump Start BNB(Kandaghat)
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (650)
Filter reviews
650 results
Traveller rating
355
203
65
9
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
355
203
65
9
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfun zonehuge propertyadventure activitieszip lineala cartemain buildingroom servicebeautiful resortsenior citizensspread over acresstudio apartmentreception arearock climbingshimla highwaylush green lawnshouse keepingother resorts
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 650 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

At first we were in a room at the old block which needs some serious house keeping work and repairs, however a move to the main block was a huge relief, it opens up to a small sit out and a garden view which made a world of a difference. the room was large and well maintained.
The gardens are an absolute delight and are at different levels throughout the property and make from great views, they have sit out and I believe they can arrange for an early dinner there if requested for. The Head Gardner, a man of few words is an old employee of the property and very sweetly answers any questions one may have about the vegetation in the area, it was a real delight when he mentioned their nursery even sells some plants at a nominal rate.
Most importantly though, it was Chef Kunal who was a huge help, and had gluten free food arranged for us at every meal and spoke to us before each meal regarding the cuisine. He even helped us to some lovely Pahari gluten free food! Thank you Chef, for keeping your team informed about our food intolerances.

Room Tip: Ask for the main block with a garden view.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Seeratr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubMahindra, Manager at Club Mahindra Kandaghat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Seeratr,

The team at Kandaghat would like to thank you for appreciating our efforts and making a special mention of our Head Gardener. Glad that you liked the gluten-free food prepared by the Chef and his team. We can't wait to have you back at our resort.

Thank you for writing in.

Regards,
Team Club Mahindra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A perfect place for family getaway. Club Mahindra is known for very picturesque properties, a little away from hustle and bustle of the towns. We were a group of 9 women belonging to different generations and there was something for everyone around. the location of the resort is also apt, almost in the middle of Kalka to Shimla.
The white structure amidst greenery gives a feeling of calm. It has spacious rooms all facing lawns which are perfect for morning tea and coffee, afternoon sun as well as for evening drinks. The buffet is nice, though they don't have butter but only margarine.
one thing not to be missed is the ride in state bus... i can bet you wouldn't have sat in a faster moving vehicle.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Means2Madness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubMahindra, Manager at Club Mahindra Kandaghat, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us!

We're elated to know that you had a wonderful experience at the Kandaghat resort, the property is surrounded by immense beauty and it sure is a relaxing spot from the bustling crowds. We hope you explored the place and made the most of the resort amenities.

It was a pleasure hosting you and we look forward to creating many such incredible holidays.

Regards,
Team Club Mahindra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Kandaghat bang on the highway to Shimla has wide open spaces and greenery, was also my first stop - I went to Naldehra thereafter. A theme night on the day of arrival promised good tidings but the food of that night gave me indigestion throughout the remainder of my stay of 3 nights.

The next morning, when I went to the Activity Centre, I was told that it had been moved to the reception building on account of a corporate member's 'family do" for their employees. I visited this relocated centre and found it to be this dinghy room (in comparison with original) 2 floors below the reception. Also the lawn in front of the reception was being taken over for accommodating this large function - supposedly to be held on the next evening. Note that for 2 days and 2 nights of my stay there was a make shift Activity centre and right in the middle of Purple season. For a holiday I planned 4 months in advance, CM unapologetically had screwed up my children's holiday within a day.

In the meanwhile, on checking around I had got 3 different explanations from staff about who the corporate member was. From a "we don't know" to a "Mahindra corporate group gathering" to a "local biggie company".

On the day of the event however it was found that it was the last one and the grounds were swarming with people and the resort resembled a 'mela' rather than a peaceful vacation resort. Not only were the people everywhere around the lawns, they were all across the property including certain sunset points that we as members could not access due to the crowd. The last day and night therefore we were confined to our room. Even when we ordered food, a slight customization of adding chicken to a vegetarian chinese dish ( which easily gets done everytime) we were told not possible as staff "were busy"

So for a little more silver pieces, CM unabashedly screwed up individual member holidays.

As for the resort, it lacks a swimming pool but the weather is pleasant and its a beautiful property. Lot of climbing as its on a hill and it might difficult for old people but it is a charming place and one that every member should go at least once. If CM can get out of its capitalist adventures and feel for its paying members, it can turn out better.

A La Carte restaurant service is extremely slow. For the simplest of food and smallest of crowds. Am not sure if its a strategy to push people into the buffet or genuine short staffing - but it is not a pleasant experience.

The tour operator needs to be commended. Pleasant and quick service with a smile. Always. The same operator functions at all three resorts - Kandaghat, Mashorbra and Naldehra. The vehicles and the drivers are good too.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms near the reception and closer to the internal paths, else you have to climb a lot of stairs to get to the reception.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 70s_AL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubMahindra, Manager at Club Mahindra Kandaghat, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

We are disappointed to hear about the experience you've had at the Kandaghat resort.

Please be rest assured that your feedback regarding the rooms and service will be shared with our resort team to ensure it's non recurrence.

Request you to treat this as a one-off incident and we look forward to serving you again for another memorable stay.

Regards,
Team Club Mahindra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

An urge for a quick getaway after a long tiring month ended in this terrific resort. A smooth and easy 7 hours drive from New Delhi, this resort is bang on the Kalka Shimla Highway which serves the purpose of a holiday on hills yet curbing the traffic in Shimla.

A 360 degrees picturesque view of the mountains refreshed us as soon as we reached. The Security Staff at the gate welcomed with utmost warmth and helped me park my Car. Check In was in no time and we were guided to our home for the next two days. The rooms are BIG with a wonderful balcony with a sit out overlooking the mountains.

Though I was busy catching up with some sleep the food and beverage was the only thing I experienced and was super impressive.

The entire team at the resort greeted us with utmost warmth and love as if they knew us for ages. Samir and Kritika ensured I was woken up on time and never missed my meals.! Helping my mom with her food requirements Samir and Kritika are definitely the Rockstars.! Also the team Monika, Akriti, Ranjeet and Vikesh were super hospitable and warm.

A successful team is lead by a strong leader, so do not miss to meet this charming Food and Beverage Manager of the resort Rajib who is the nerve center of this team.

Chef Kunal, the executive chef here has really done some magic in the hills. I was suggested the Pahadi Meat in one of the meals. The meat perfectly cooked to perfection and the taste was a bliss.! Kudos chef.

Didn’t feel like coming back but had to with a promise to hit this place again soon.!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Suranjit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubMahindra, Manager at Club Mahindra Kandaghat, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Dear Suranjit,

This is an amazing review, Thank you!

We're so glad you had a magnificent time at the Kandaghat resort. It is truly an ideal location for a fun-filled holiday and we're glad you experienced it just how we intend you to. Our entire team makes it a point to personalize every stay and create a magical experience for every member; your high praise is definitely going to reach them soon.

It was a pleasure serving you and we look forward to having you again for another perfect holiday.

Regards,
Team Club Mahindra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018 via mobile

Beautiful Resort with Excellent Location. Staff Here was Very Nice. Big Kids Zone with lots of Games and Sports Adventures Activities its Fantastic. Breakfast Was Very Good. As My Parents were Senior Citizens, They Provided us Rooms near Reception Area. Room was having Balcony with Excellent view of the Mountains.
My Parents ENJOYED a Lot.
Thanks to all Staff for Their Nice Hospitality and Very Well maintaining the Resort.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank sammit jain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubMahindra, Manager at Club Mahindra Kandaghat, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Hello Sammit,

It gives us great joy to know that you explored the holiday activities and that your parents had a memorable time. We are delighted to know that you liked our hospitality and we would love to serve you again soon.

Regards,
Team Club Mahindra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews