We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Agoda.com
US$294
View deal
Expedia
Trip.com
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,738)
Filter reviews
1,738 results
Traveller rating
799
617
206
74
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
799
617
206
74
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coronado island ferry landing san diego bay view tennis courts seaport village resort fee fitness center rooms are large nice property parking fee per day main pool restaurants and shops orange ave ducks patio
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,738 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2021 via mobile

Would rate 3.5 stars out of 5 if we could. Location is beautiful with scenic bay views and easy access to all of Coronado Island via shuttle or car. Also easy access airport, Zoo, and downtown. Had executive suite with two large balconies. Room and balconies were spacious. Staff were very nice, but obviously stretched extremely thin. The property offers beach chairs (2/room), towels, and boogie boards included in the resort fee.

Check in was extremely slow. We waited in the elite line for 45 minutes while the regular line moved at an appreciably faster pace. They did offer us a gift upon checking in including a handy, packable Bonvoy backpack and water bottle which I used for the reminder of our trip. There is only one working elevator and the walk to our room was far (0.25 -0.33 mile one way). Would not recommend this property for anyone with mobility issues.

Our suite was huge but in need of a refresh (chipped paint on wooden cabinets, worn deck furniture, and just seemed meh-ok), room cleanliness was 7/10 (hair on floors, crumbs under sofa cushions for sofa bed, stains on the wall (that could be wiped off). And the parking garage in disrepair.

Grab and go food was pretty good. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

Unfortunately, there were too many negatives for us to rate this property higher or stay again.

Room tip: If you get a suite on the bay be prepared for a long stroll to/from your room to the lobby and/garage
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank The M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan Litvack, General Manager at Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2021

We apologize for falling short of expectations and appreciate your feedback. As a teachable moment, we will share your feedback with the appropriate departments to ensure we have the proper protocols in place to prevent future occurrences. That said, we appreciate you sharing with fellow TripAdvisor fans the amenities and services that you were able to enjoy. In the meantime, we hope you might reconsider visiting in the future as we are committed to improving. Remain well,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2021

We had an oversized patio overlooking the pool and San Diego Bay beyond. The large ground-floor room had old, worn carpet that is so passé. I had to order spa slippers in order to avoid walking barefoot on it. Gross.

Unfortunately, the spa was closed, most likely due to covid, and the check-in desk was completely guarded with plexiglass. Kudos for that.

We enjoyed Albaca, the premises' restaurant, on several occasions beginning on night one. Dining alfresco with a very cool breeze coming off the San Diego bay, the heaters kept us warm.

Both breakfasts and dinners were very good and the service across the property was very courteous.

The best feature of this Marriott is its location. Basically, right at the foot of the Coronado bridge, beside the beaches and bike paths, and a short walk to the ferry landing and the free shuttle stop, there is no better place for lodging on Coronado.

It's worth the extra $5 ($45 total) to valet park and the inevitable daily resort fee includes the use of bicycles, so take advantage!

Yes, we will certainly stay here again. Hopefully they will replace those awful carpets by then.

Room tip: Ground-floor rooms facing the bay have the best views and largest patios.
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsCanuck24
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 July 2021

Pro : near @ restaurant & nice view
Cons: room are old
For the price is lack of service for example housekeeping , bellman , valet , meet with the rude front desk glad manager able to fix it
Service are slow .

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 554riag
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan Litvack, General Manager at Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2021

We apologize for falling short of expectations as it is neither typical nor acceptable. As a teachable moment we have shared your feedback with the hotel operating teams to ensure we have guidelines in place that prevent any future occurrence. In the meantime, we apologize and appreciate the feedback. BONVoY,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2021

My wife and I commented to each other over and over throughout our stay that the hotel reminded us of the few Hawaii resorts we have stayed at. Our Hawaii stays are the best vacations we have taken together, so trust me when I say this is the absolute highest praise.

We specifically enjoyed the excellent restaurant and bar service - every server and bartender was incredibly friendly and attentive, and made us feel like we were the most important guests there. Another highlight was the pool, which despite near full hotel occupancy still felt very relaxing. Some key amenities like the spa were still closed due to Covid precautions, but the wellness center offered plenty of (free!) alternative activities and classes to keep us entertained.

The property is literally just over the bridge from San Diego, and a free island shuttle can pick you up right across the street and take you all the way to the other side of the island. I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting San Diego, whether they were exploring Coronado or the city!

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank real_steve_ward
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan Litvack, General Manager at Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2021

On behalf of all, thank you kindly for such glowing words and appreciation for the efforts made and extended. We hope to welcome you back again before long....stay well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2021

Pros: The Hotel is near the water with a great view of San Diego. Large swimming pool with a bar nearby. They have free bicycles and paddle boards. Play are for kids.

Cons: Overall bad customer service at check-in and restaurants (Servers) . Dirty rooms. Spots on the carpet and sheets.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Ozcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan Litvack, General Manager at Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2021

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with fellow TripAdvisor fans. We apologize for falling short of expectations as we typically pride ourselves on our friendliness and cleanliness. Though not typical nor acceptable, please trust your feedback will be shared with the operating teams as a teachable moment. In the meantime, please know that we greatly appreciate you sharing what you enjoyed, such as our amazing pools, gorgeous views and island charm. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews