We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Agoda.com
FindHotel
Rakuten Travel
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
12
8
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
12
8
0
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2020

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hinode Hills.
Definitely 5 star quality and the ability to ski in and ski out was incredible!

Below are some photos from the stay.. I highly recommend it and look forward to returning.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank NeensfromAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 14 January 2020 via mobile

First time in Japan. The resort shows a lot of potential. They have been operating for only 5 weeks and I think they are doing okay and must of all the are trying very hard to make you feel welcome . The rooms are superb and very comfortable, spacious and located at the bottom of hills , effortless to go in and out.

Date of stay: January 2020
1  Thank Stephane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 10 January 2020

First of all, the hotel is clean and delicately furnished - the furniture and appliances in our one-bedroom suite were brand new and trendy. We especially liked the washer/dryer in the room, every skier knows how convenient that would make your skiing trip:)

That being said, rest of the experience is AWFUL. Better avoid if you are neither white or Japanese (we are Chinese residing in the US). In general, the hotel staff were very arrogant and unhelpful during our stay. Below are the three things that annoyed us the most during our Christmas stay.
1) For the first few days when we were having breakfast, none of the staff members in the restaurant offered us to see the breakfast menu (other than the food that was laid out in the open area, they have a menu which contains breakfast set). Until the 4th day of our stay, we noticed an American family coming into the restaurant, and they were immediately handed over the menu. We then asked one of the staff for the menu ourselves. We feltvery discriminated against - if you have a breakfast menu, why would you tell that to American families and not us??

2) One day it was particularly windy at Niseko Village skiing area, and the Niseko Gondola was closed, so we couldn't get to the other mountains via lift. It was during lunch time, so the shuttle was running very infrequently (every 90 minutes or so). Therefore we kindly asked the front desk if they could help give us a 10-minute ride to Hirafu, when we noticed there was a minivan from the hotel parked outside. Even none of the staff members was helping other hotel guests, we were given a firm no. We then asked the minivan driver ourselves, and he said he could actually give us a ride. The most ridiculous thing then happened - one of the hotel staff went to talk to the minivan driver and explicitly told the driver not to give us this 10-minute ride. Furthermore, none of the hotel staff offered to call a taxi or arrange pick-up service for us. They were just all standing there, doing nothing at all! In the end, I called our ski rental company, who were kind enough to pick us up. This is not the type of service you would expect at a luxury hotel at all, and I am very angry and disappointed with how the staff handled the situation.
3) Coming from the USA, we expected late checkout (2pm) as a norm at luxury hotels. However, we had to ask 5 times before someone finally reluctantly extended our checkout time to 12:30pm. We were told if we were to check out at 1pm, we would be charged 20,000 yen. Excuse me?! The hotel stay was 80,000 per night and you would charge 1/4 of that for a not-so-late 1pm checkout?!

We were very disappointed with how we were treated by the hotel staff - this is not the type of service you would expect at luxury hotels. I would say this is the worst five-star hotel stay I have ever experienced, and I have been to quite a lot luxury hotels in Asia, USA, and Europe. Be aware, and choose SKYE or AYA at Hirafu- they are much closer to the Hirafu (main mountain of the ski area), and you would encounter much better service attitude. We would definitely not come back again.

Room tip: Go with the one-bedroom or up, they contain a washer/dryer which makes skiing experience much easier
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Location
3  Thank 253xuew
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 January 2020

Hinode Hills is an excellent apartment style hotel. The room facilities are perfect and the location is beautiful. The one (serious) letdown was returning back at my room, to find the security latch keeping the door ajar and a non-hotel key card in the room electricity card slot. The room was checked and there was no sign of any employee either in the room or on the floor. I have no idea how long the door was in this position.

I immediately went to reception after securing the room, and spoke with the manager. Whilst she was apologetic, this is one of the most serious issues I have come across in any stay. The manager indicated that she would have CCTV investigated, and whilst we have checked and believe none of our property is missing - there was no follow up in a note, phone call or room visit to confirm both the outcome of the investigation or to check that we are OK following this disturbing experience.

I emailed the front desk, and over 36 hours later (at time of this review) have not had a response. I have also seen the same manager in reception twice over this period, including on check out - and was not acknowledged in the slightest.

The second issue we identified on clearing out the room safety box, is this box is not secured to anything. Given you are made to read and sign a two page waiver on check in, the security and safety procedures and service at this YTL hotel have a lot to be desired.

It is reasonable to expect more from a property that positions itself within the high caliber class associated with the price point and brand positioning.

Japan is a safe country, I would return given a change in guest security and safety is made a priority at Hinode Hills.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank dcss_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 30 December 2019 via mobile

The only slight was our welcome on arrival where instead of a warm welcome we were greeted with almost shock and then a laying down of the law! If you lose this you are fined this amount, and also you cannot go to the room until 3pm. Upon getting into the room - our whole outlook changed. Our 1 bedroom was so spacious and modern with a view over the ski slopes. The rest of the staff were incredible especially in ski valet and the breakfast. The restaurant was empty most of the time so I hope they can get that fixed as the staff were lovely. Would recommend staying here for ski in ski out and also a quieter side of the mountain.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank peterkS8837PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews