We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
44
9
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
44
9
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews washing machine bedroom apartment every hour renting a car milk kobo bus stop hourly shuttle fully equipped kitchen easy access a great stay own transport reception staff winter holiday ski gear place to stay the ground floor japanese standards
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2020 via mobile

We were looking for a comfy place to stay during a snowboarding trip to Niseko, finally selected Snow Dog and did not regret at all.

We were renting a 2-bedroom apartment. Firstly, the apartment was stuffed with very modern consumer electronics: washing machine with a dryer (very handy after a snowboarding day!), dishwasher, toaster, baker, modern Japanese washlet, brand new and big Hitachi fridge. It was possible to regulate the heating in every room.

Free shuttle service was handy too with an option of going to either Hilton (where the gondola lift to slopes is located) or Hirafu (the largest and central part of the Niseko resort) for free. It tales about 10 mins to get to Hilton lifts by shuttle, and the morning bus at 7-50 brings you to be the first one in the gondola queue.

Also, it was good to have a cleaning service every 2 days. Usually apartment rentals do not offer such a service.

The buildings are in the forest, and every morning we had a cute fox coming to our windows asking for food :) attached her photo.

Karabina restaurant on the hotel’s area was great for dining, baked salmon set and Choya plum wine is recommended.

As for shopping food, this has to be done in Hirafu - so remember to shop before going back to Snow Dog.

Also, the staff was really helpful and offered a free transfer to the train station, even though we needed it really early - at 5.45 am. Thank you!

In general, it was a great stay. Would come again!

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank svitloshodu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidS23907, Guest Relations Manager at Snow Dog Niseko, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2020

Dear svitloshodu,

Thank you very much for taking the time to submit a review of our accommodation, we greatly appreciate it.

We are happy to hear you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed the service from staff. As you mentioned Snow Dog Niseko is well appointed property that offers spacious and comfortable fully self contained apartments. As you explained, the property has easy access to the nearby ski lifts via the shuttle service and even has its own restaurant on site.

Yet again, thank you for your review of our accommodation and we look forward to seeing you here again soon!

Kind Regards,
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2020

Overall very good.
Could have had some additional room for ski and boot storage (drying room perhaps?).
Also missed the lovely Japanese hospitality, the staff were friendly and the room was spotless however we felt that we were "welcomed" by a list of rules (rather than lovely hospitality we had received elsewhere).
The in room facilities were great.

Date of stay: January 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 326stevieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidS23907, Guest Relations Manager at Snow Dog Niseko, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2020

Dear Stevie G,

Thank you very much for taking the time to submit a review of our accommodation, we greatly appreciate it.

We are happy to hear you had a pleasant stay with us . As you mentioned Snow Dog Niseko has well equipped and comfortable apartments that come fully self contained with all the necessities you require on a ski holiday. Thank you for your review regarding hospitality as it is important to continually improve the services offered.

Yet again, thank you for your review of our accommodation and we look forward to seeing you here again soon!

Kind Regards,
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2020

We spent 11 days at Snow Dog in Jan-Feb of this year, and although we didn't get any fresh snow, I can't imagine a better place to stay. It was quiet and comfortable, relatively spacious, and the kitchen was stocked with everything we needed to make meals there if we wanted. Having a washer and dryer was awesome, and the beds were great. The hourly shuttle was very convenient (with super friendly drivers), and the skijapan staff onsite were able to answer any questions we had and were helpful in every way. Although we were very disappointed that we didn't get any snow while we were there, everyone in our group agreed that the accommodations were a major reason why the trip wasn't a total failure. I would stay there again.

Date of stay: January 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Highmarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidS23907, Guest Relations Manager at Snow Dog Niseko, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2020

Dear Highmarker,

Thank you very much for taking the time to submit a review of our accommodation, we greatly appreciate it.

We are happy to hear you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed the service from staff. . As you mentioned Snow Dog Niseko has well equipped and comfortable apartments that come fully self contained with all the necessities you require on a ski holiday. As you explained, we also provide a complimentary shuttle to the various locations within the Niseko area.

Yet again, thank you for your review of our accommodation and we look forward to seeing you here again soon!

Kind Regards,
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2020

A great place with spacious rooms and nice furniture. Very convenient shuttle bus too. The staff are super nice and helpful. My family and I enjoyed our stay very much. Pre-arrival was frequent and in details.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank alanxchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidS23907, Guest Relations Manager at Snow Dog Niseko, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2020

Dear alanxchen,

Thank you very much for taking the time to submit a review of our accommodation, we greatly appreciate it.

We are happy to hear you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed the service from our staff. As you mentioned Snow Dog Niseko has well equipped and comfortable apartments that come fully self contained with all the necessities you require on a ski holiday.

Yet again, thank you for your review of our accommodation and we look forward to seeing you here again soon!

Kind Regards,
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2020

So many things I have loved about this accommodation. We traveled here as a family of 5 (3 kids 18yo, 10yo & 5yo). Booked a two bedroom with loft. Have not needed to use the loft as there is enough space. Kitchen is fantastic with all the facilities you need. Laundry/shower and toilet is clean and really big in Japanese standards. Beds and pillows are comfortable. There is space downstairs to leave your skis and boots. HEAPS of storage space and cupboards to put clothes etc. The accommodation is new (opened in 2017) so I found that everything is so new, clean and well looked after. These are the things that I absolutely loved about this place.
1. The washing / dryer machine. Had I realised how fantastic this appliance was going to be I wouldn’t have packed quite as many clothes for my kids. I have been able to wash all our thermals & socks each night and know they would be dry ready to wear the next day.

2. The Snow Dog free shuttle bus. This come on the hour every hour all day until 11pm at night. We were able to easily plan to get to the ski slopes with ease, come hone with ease and head out for dinner to Hirafu each night (eat and come home) with ease. You could take you ski gear on the bus and it stops right at the accommodation.

3 Location - being our first time skiing in Niseko I was completely overwhelmed when trying to pick accommodation and where to stay. Initially this spot felt a little bit in the middle of nowhere as I thought staying in a Hirafu was the only way to go. I couldn’t have been more wrong. Definitely Hirafu offers the nightlife and restaurants and we would go there each night for dinner but as mentioned above Snow Dog made it so easy to get to and from there. So while it’s not actually within walking distance to Hirafu or restaurants it’s perfectly located near Niseko Village (Hilton slopes) and Annupuri. We could get either the shuttle bus or the Niseko United Bus to either of these areas. These areas offered beginner slopes for our 5 year old / intermediate slopes for my older children and if we used the Niseko Gondola we could end up at any area we wanted.
We did buy bread, milk, butter etc so my kids would eat breakfast in the room before we went out for the day. Once on the slopes there was plenty of options for food if we wanted.

4. Excellent wifi. At the end of the day my kids were exhausted and all they would want to do is come home and sit in their iPad or phone for a while. The wifi is really fast.

Would definitely come back and stay here again and would definitely recommend this to families looking for excellent, clean and well sized accommodation but wanting a cheaper option than the pricey accommodation in Hirafu.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank JTGLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidS23907, Guest Relations Manager at Snow Dog Niseko, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2020

Dear JTGLS,

Thank you very much for taking the time to submit a review of our accommodation, we greatly appreciate it.

We are happy to hear you had a pleasant stay with us . As you mentioned Snow Dog Niseko is well appointed property that offers spacious and comfortable fully self contained apartments perfect for a ski holiday. As you explained, the property has easy access to the nearby Hirafu and Niseko village with its very own shuttle bus for guests.

Yet again, thank you for your review of our accommodation and we look forward to seeing you here again soon!

Kind Regards,
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews