We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (572)
Filter reviews
572 results
Traveller rating
275
199
68
21
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
275
199
68
21
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gil blas breakfast and dinner overlooking the square historic building old town period furnishings shuttered windows wooden floorboards historic feel junior suite charming village ferry port small balconies patio area dining room plaza mayor high ceilings
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 572 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2018

This Parador is bang in the middle of the main square of this most beautiful village, we decided to stay in Paradors on our road trip across Green Spain and this didn't disappoint. You get the heritage and historic feel of Spain, Woden floorboards with rugs, shuttered Windows, a lovely garden for coffee or drinks. The breakfast had everything you would expect, plenty of choice to suit all tastes. Our room was quiet, we slept well, air Con available. Staff very helpful and pleasant, a great firstb experience of a Parador for us.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Carlos C, Gerente at Parador de Santillana Gil Blas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

Dear Carol S,
We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to communicate your impressions about our establishment.

We are proud, and it gives us a great satisfaction to count on your opinions, which every day help us in our efforts to achieve the service you deserve.

We trust that, on future visits, everything will be to your satisfaction.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2018

This must have been the ninth or tenth time we have stayed at this Parador and again we cannot fault it. The location is superb, in the lovely old town of Santillana. Gil Blast is a lovely old Parador and we had a really nice room (#6) overlooking the square. Parking was unusually tight as this Parador shares parking with the Parador dear Santillana as the square is restricted. We opted for the Half board rate which included dinner. This was delicious. Breakfast , as usual, was sumptuous. Our boat was 2.5 hours late arriving in Santander, so we didn't have time to walk round the town as usual. If this is your first trip, we urge you to explore Santillana, it is lovely . Try to visit some of the bars and the restaurant next door to the Parador is also worth a visit.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Paradores Hotels
Thank Maureen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Carlos C, Gerente at Parador de Santillana Gil Blas, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2018

Dear Mrs. Maureen J,
We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to communicate your impressions about our establishment.

We are proud, and it gives us a great satisfaction to count on your opinions, which every day help us in our efforts to achieve the service you deserve.

We trust that, on future visits, everything will be to your satisfaction.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

Spacious room but very comfortable, and a great restaurant as well - everything you expect from a Parador. Very nicely decorated and in the heart of a pretty little town. Car parking across the square, shared with another hotel, and was just about full - managed to squeeze a motorbike in. There is public parking not far away though.

Access to the hotel is a bit confusing and involves narrow winding cobbled streets.

Dinner was great too, and not too expensive for such a good meal. The usual fantastic Parador breakfast buffet as well.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Carlos C, Gerente at Parador de Santillana Gil Blas, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2018

Dear Robin B,
We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to communicate your impressions about our establishment.

We regret that we were unable to satisfy your expectations with respect to this Parador in the way we had hoped. Please know that we have taken note of each one of your suggestions and about street Santillana, it's a medieval town and it's not possible to put signs to arrve the Parador.
We are proud, and it gives us a great satisfaction to count on your opinions, which every day help us in our efforts to achieve the service you deserve.

We trust that, on future visits, everything will be to your satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018

Staying at the Paradores, and enjoying their history, is part of the travel and sightseeing experience of going to Spain for us. This property had an unbeatable location, convenient parking, good service, good rooms and baths, and a delicious breakfast. Recommend. The beds, in general, in all of the paradores we stayed in, were very hard and uncomfortable. Our family booked 3 rooms in this parador, and one of them felt a bit dark and heavy. Better lighting would have probably dispelled that feeling, but not our favorite of all the paradors we stayed at. Still, there is nothing like the experience of going back in time, and the two other rooms were atmospheric in a good way, with great views of the town square. Overall, we enjoyed our stay very much, and would recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AdaP75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Carlos C, Gerente at Parador de Santillana Gil Blas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2018

Dear Ada P:

We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to communicate your impressions about our establishment.

We regret that we were unable to satisfy your expectations with respect to this Parador in the way we had hoped. Please know that we have taken note of each one of your suggestions in order to adopt the pertinent corrective measures in this regard.

We are proud, and it gives us a great satisfaction to count on your opinions, which every day help us in our efforts to achieve the service you deserve.

We trust that, on future visits, everything will be to your satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018 via mobile

Although a very attractive building, the negative aspects outweigh anything else. No air-conditioning although promised on the website, because other people wanted to have the heating on. Seems strange in this day and age that it is not possible to accommodate both!

Told that the square was quiet so that there was no problem sleeping with the windows open but with the amount of commercial traffic any chance of sleep after 7 AM was impossible.

Breakfast at 19 euros was expensive considering a three course lunch with wine locally is 13 euros and then there is a charge for parking.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank limpsfieldloafers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Carlos C, Gerente at Parador de Santillana Gil Blas, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Dear Limsfieldloafers:

We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to communicate your impressions about our establishment.

We regret that we were unable to satisfy your expectations with respect to this Parador in the way we had hoped. Please know that we have taken note of each one of your suggestions in order to adopt the pertinent corrective measures in this regard.
We are proud, and it gives us a great satisfaction to count on your opinions, which every day help us in our efforts to achieve the service you deserve.

We trust that, on future visits, everything will be to your satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews