We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Review Highlights
Plus a wonderful view of the valley

I was so glad someone happened to mention this place. I hiked here by turning onto this trail from... read more

Reviewed 26 July 2018
Flyfreemark
,
Las Vegas, Nevada
WOW

These ruins were truelly a surprise to me. Leaving Kobarid we crossed Napoleon's bridge and... read more

Reviewed 6 January 2018
barbara_uNovaGorica
,
Nova Gorica, Slovenia
Read all 9 reviews
  
Reviews (9)
Filter reviews
9 results
Traveller rating
7
1
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
1
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roman empire water reservoir remains church trail
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 9 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2018

These ruins were truelly a surprise to me. Leaving Kobarid we crossed Napoleon's bridge and followed the Soča trail. Passed another bridge and started to follow the path upwards. A nice walk. You don't need to return on the same path - we reached the Kobarid sacutary from this ruins.

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank barbara_uNovaGorica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

The location is amazing: it is surrounded by vertical high cliffs from 3 sides and was easily defendable to the 4th side. You can actually still see the waterproof lining of one water reservoir, and the outlines of 3 churches and 2 residential buildings dating back to 4th, 5th and 6th century. The written explanations are exceptionally informative, and we learned a lot about live at the borders of Roman Empire here.
Artifacts from late Stone Age all the way to Roman Empire were found at this site, many of them imports from places far away which may industry cate the the place was prosperous and wealthy enough to trade with others.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Mickacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

You get a good glimpse on how it was to live in this part of the world when the Roman Empire was on a decline and people used to civilization back then had to survive and go on with their way of living. Basically they had to leave lower valley areas and move higher in order to protect themselves from the invaders. You can see church, house remains. The water reservoir is well presented and memorable.

There are good explanations on 4 languages and

Date of experience: July 2017
2  Thank Taavi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018
Google Translation

Date of experience: August 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017
Google Translation

Date of experience: August 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews