We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
What a fantastic experience along with a great crew

Have just finished the early morning shark cage diving. It was simply first class. The crew of... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
goneroaming
,
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
via mobile
Fantastic professional operator

We had a fantastic shark diving trip with ASEC, a very professional operator with friendly and... read more

Reviewed 12 January 2019
Gary S
via mobile
Read all 282 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Simon's Town
from US$93.07
More Info
from US$71.17
More Info
from US$156.94
More Info
from US$386.88
More Info
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveller rating
234
32
5
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
234
32
5
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great whites seal island false bay shark cage diving white shark hold your breath captain and crew attract sharks common dolphins bucket list wet suits afternoon trip these guys fish head big sharks cape town other companies
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 282 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

We had scheduled a morning trip in hopes to see some natural predation out at seal island but unfortunately didn’t get to see anything. We were however lucky enough to get into the cage and see a shark up close and personal. The captain and crew did an awesome job at trying to find sharks so that everyone was able to get the experience and even spent extra time out on the water doing so.

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank braggerc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Thank you for your review. Its so appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018

The crew are so dedicated and knowledgeable. It was a learning experience as well as an adventure. I felt lucky to have had the opportunity to see even just one great white shark.The crew really does try their best to attract sharks but the sharks have been in low numbers the last couple of seasons so people need to have realistic expectations. They really do try to give everyone the best experience possible given the circumstances on each particular day. Rob, the owner (and he personally skippered all 3 trips I went on), was kind enough to offer us a discount as we only saw one shark on 2 days. He was by no means obligated to do that and I would have had no issue paying full price. It's a gamble when you're dealing with nature but I wouldn't hesitate to take that gamble again. Even just a glimpse of a great white is incredible. I can still vividly picture the eyes of the great white staring at me in the cage. Nadine at the office front desk was awesome as well.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Denise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. I am so glad you had great trips with us, despite the dip in sharks. Rob and Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018 via mobile

This place is awesome. First of all, you go out of Simon's Town, so the drive is much shorter, as well as the boat ride out to Seal Island. The crew is super nice and super knowledgable. They do their best to get everyone sightings. Water wasn't as cold as I thought when wearing the wetsuit. They put weights around your waist to help held you underwater so you can see. They also provide you with rebreather devices instead of snorkels so that you can actually stay down for a while. I get sea sick super easily, but was fine after taking my mess ahead of time. Wasn't too rough. I will suggest however, that you bring a scuff to cover your nose if you are sensitive to smells - the chumming materials and fish heads everywhere provide a really strong stench that was getting to me. Putting my scarf around my face helped big time. If this is on your bucket list, use this company for sure.

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank Melissa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2018

Thank you so much for your review. Its really appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2018

We set out from Simon's town at dawn. It was cold. The boat was a little cramped as we had 12 of us that morning. The team was extremely coping and helpful especially with my younger son who panicked after getting into the cage. The crew did a fabulous job attracting sharks and we even saw some predation. The cleanliness on the boat could have been better though. Overall, an amazing experience!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank abhishek23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018

Our entire experience from start to finish with ASEC was fantastic.
From the start, shortly after sending them a message on Facebook, a reply was received and with all the answers I needed about booking the tour. We booked months in advance and waited with eager anticipation for our trip, and communications and mailings were clear, specific, and prompt.
We opted for the the transfer from our hotel, which was 45 minutes away. Highly recommended to anyone staying outside of Simon’s Town as it can be a difficult drive, especially at 5:30am!
The crew was fabulous. They explained what they were there to do in detail, and were helpful and informative every second we were with them. The communication between them was incredible as well. They were such a great team, especially when there was a shark nearby, calling out to each other when they saw something, listening to each other’s commands as to bait or use the seal dummy, and communicating with us as to when to go down in the tank and where to look. Such great communication is so hard to find in any workplace, and this team should be commended at this difficult skill.
Speaking of skill, each person had a role and performed it well. Whether scouting for sharks or using bait or assisting us with wetsuits, each person knew what to do and how to do it quickly and efficiently. Very impressive.
The tour itself was fabulous. We saw at least 3 different sharks, and had about 7 total sightings among them. We also got to see a family of whales, a giant sting ray, and seals. We even got to see a shark attack a seal. So much action!! Not to mention all the seals on the island and a beautiful sunrise, all surrounded by mountains. The scenery itself is reason enough to go.
The team kept us warm with fleece hooded ponchos while on the boat, and full wetsuits in the water,,,head to toe. We even had weight belts to keep us down while in the cage. 4 people went at a time, for about 20 minutes each trip. Those who were so inclined made more than one trip. Regulators were given to us to breathe underwater, which was especially helpful when sharks were close by so we could see all the action.
After the tour, we were given certificates for free coffee or hot chocolate at the cafe next door. Much appreciated after the cooler morning temperatures!!
Thank you so much to everyone at ASEC who made this experience so incredible for us. We have been on another shark dive in Hawaii and it wasn’t nearly as nice or accommodating, and actually almost frightened us off of this experience. Highly recommended to anyone who wants a first-class shark experience, in the water and out!!!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Thank you for joining us here at ASEC. We REALLY appreciate the detailed review, and the crew and team are so pleased with the compliment as we really strive hard to offer a great shark experience from start to finish.

Much appreciated.
Rob and Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews