We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Amazing

absolutely amazing site. Well worth the long trip to visit. spend time up inside the old buildings... read more

Reviewed 5 March 2018
548michaelc
,
Ahus, Sweden
One of the most exciting places on our planet!

It's been 10 years since our visit there & given the recent unrest one would need to check on... read more

Reviewed 10 February 2018
edith h. f
Read all 46 reviews
  
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
44
1
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
44
1
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2007

We could only spend two days here, so we didn't trek, but rather went around with the 4x4 we had hired in Bamako already. But I would have loved to spend at least a week exploring the Dogon country. The views are absolutely breathtaking and the Dogon villages fascinating. We spent a night sleeping on the rooftops of the village chief's house in Enndé, a little way up the cliff.
I recommend getting a guide. While orientation is not so hard, a good guide can give you fascinating insights and prevent you from trampeling over sacred sites, which are not always easy to spot. We were very happy with our guide, who was recommended to us by the Hotel Kambary and called Abdoullaye "Le pélé".
If you do spend a night in a village I suggest to bring a small gift - it's much nicer to have an actual gift to give after the warm reception you get, rather than just giving extra money.

5  Thank lesvaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 June 2018
Google Translation

Date of experience: July 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 March 2016
Google Translation

Date of experience: April 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 November 2015
Google Translation

Date of experience: November 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 July 2015
Google Translation

Date of experience: August 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews